Dr Markus Greßler (l.) and Florian Baldeweg

Fungus produces highly effective surfactant

Research team discovers previously unknown natural products in soil fungus Mortierella alpina.
Dr Markus Greßler (l.) and Florian Baldeweg
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper/FSU
  • Life
  • Research

Creation date: 21 June 2019, 10:00 CEST | Author: Ute Schönfelder

Mortierella alpina lives in the soil and likes to keep cool. This fungus, which belongs to the zygomycetes, grows best at temperatures of 10 to 15°C and occurs mainly in alpine or arctic habitats. In biotechnology, the fungus has been used for the large-scale production of polyunsaturated fatty acids such as arachidonic acids, mainly used as a dietary supplement in baby foods. But M. alpina can do much more: a research team from the Institute of Pharmacy at Friedrich Schiller University Jena, has discovered that this fungus also produces other interesting compounds. In the specialist journal ‘Organic Letters’, the researchers, led by Dr Markus Greßler, present a group of surface-active peptides – called malpinins –which are produced in large quantities by the fungus (DOI: 10.1021/acs.orglett.9b00193).

Surfactants are substances that are used in laundry detergents and washing up liquids. Florian Baldeweg, a Pharmacy PhD student and member of Greßler’s team, discovered the compounds produced by the fungus when he tried to purify peptides from Mortierella chromatographically. “Even very tiny amounts of malpinins form a head of foam on the top of the sample vial,” says Baldeweg. Baldeweg and Greßler have elucidated the structure of these compounds. This previously unknown group of natural surfactants is called malpinins. Their surfactant effect is even stronger than that of SDS (sodium dodecyl sulphate), which is present in many common detergents.

Transporting active substances through biomembranes

However, the Jena researchers do not want to use the natural surfactants for developing new cleaning agents. “We want to test whether their properties could make the malpinins useful in pharmacology,” explains Greßler. This is because surfactants not only facilitate a mixture of oil and water. “Biological membranes, which mainly consist of fatty acids, could be made permeable to pharmaceutical drugs,” adds Greßler. This could allow pharmaceutical substances to be transported through cell membranes. Greßler and Baldeweg want to test the malpinins to determine their pharmaceutical potential, together with colleagues from the Institute of Pharmacy of Friedrich Schiller University who work with Prof. Dagmar Fischer.

Lower fungi underestimated as reservoir for natural products

The discovery of the natural products in M. alpina is also interesting because up to now, lower fungi such as the zygomycetes have received little attention as producers of secondary metabolites, unlike higher fungi such as Aspergillus species. Greßler expects that this will now change: “Studies on the genome of M. alpina have shown that the fungus can produce many more natural products, and the malpinins are just one small group of them.

Original publication:

Baldeweg, F. et al. Fungal Biosurfactants from Mortierella alpina, Organic letters (2019), DOI: 10.1021/acs.orglett.9b00193

 

Contact:

Dr Markus Greßler
Institute of Pharmacy at Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Winzerlaer Straße 2
D-07745 Jena
Phone
+49 3641 9-49855
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University in the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the Best Practice Club "Family at the University"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Dr. Markus Greßler (l.) und Florian Baldeweg

Pilz produziert hochwirksames Tensid

Forschungsteam entdeckt im Bodenpilz Mortierella alpina eine bisher unbekannte Gruppe von Naturstoffen.
Dr. Markus Greßler (l.) und Florian Baldeweg
Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper/FSU
  • Life
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 21. Juni 2019, 10:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder

Mortierella alpina lebt im Boden und mag es eher kühl. Der zu den Jochpilzen (Zygomyzeten) gehörende Pilz gedeiht am besten bei 10 bis 15°C und kommt vor allem in alpinen oder arktischen Regionen vor. In der Biotechnologie wird der Pilz bislang genutzt, um langkettige Fettsäuren wie Arachidonsäure in großem Maßstab als Nahrungsergänzung in beispielsweise Babynahrung zu produzieren. Doch Mortierella alpina kann noch mehr: Wie ein Forschungsteam aus dem Institut für Pharmazie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena jetzt herausgefunden hat, produziert der Pilz noch weitere interessante Naturstoffe. In der Fachzeitschrift „Organic Letters“ stellen die Forschenden um Dr. Markus Greßler eine Gruppe von Peptiden mit tensidischen Eigenschaften vor, die der Pilz in großen Mengen herstellt (DOI: 10.1021/acs.orglett.9b00193).

Tenside sind waschaktive Substanzen, die in Wasch- und Spülmitteln zum Einsatz kommen. Dass der Pilz solche Substanzen produziert, hat Florian Baldeweg aus Greßlers Team festgestellt, als er versuchte, die kleinen Peptide aus Mortierella chemisch aufzureinigen. „Schon kleinste Mengen bilden eine regelrechte Schaumkrone auf dem Probengefäß“, sagt der Pharmazie-Doktorand. Baldeweg und Greßler haben die Struktur dieser Substanzen aufgeklärt. Bei der bisher unbekannten Gruppe von natürlichen Tensiden handelt es sich um sogenannte Malpinine. Ihre Tensidwirkung übersteigt sogar die von SDS (Sodium Dodecyl Sulfat), das in vielen gängigen Waschmitteln enthalten ist.

Wirkstofftransport durch Biomembranen

Nutzen wollen die Jenaer Pharmazeuten die natürlichen Tenside allerdings nicht, um neue Waschmittel zu entwickeln. „Wir wollen die Malpinine testen, ob sie aufgrund ihrer Eigenschaften in der Pharmakologie nützlich sein können“, erläutert Dr. Greßler. Denn mit Tensiden lassen sich nicht nur Öl und Wasser miteinander mischen. „Es können auch biologische Membranen, die zu einem Großteil aus Fetten bestehen, für Substanzen durchlässig gemacht werden“, so Greßler weiter. Dies ermögliche es beispielsweise, Arzneistoffe gezielt durch Zellmembranen zu schleusen. Gemeinsam mit Kollegen aus dem Institut für Pharmazie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena um Prof. Dr. Dagmar Fischer wollen Greßler und Baldeweg die Malpinine hinsichtlich ihrer pharmazeutischen Einsatzmöglichkeiten testen.

Niedere Pilze als Naturstoff-Reservoir bisher unterschätzt

Interessant ist die Entdeckung der Naturstoffe in Mortierella alpina auch deshalb, weil niedere Pilze wie die Jochpilze bislang kaum als Produzenten sekundärer Naturstoffe wahrgenommen worden sind – im Gegensatz zu höheren Pilzen wie beispielsweise Aspergillus-Arten. Das dürfte sich nun ändern, erwartet Dr. Greßler. „Genetische Untersuchungen am Erbgut von Mortierella alpina haben gezeigt, dass der Pilz noch viel mehr Naturstoffe produzieren kann, die Malpinine sind lediglich eine kleine Gruppe davon.“

Original-Publikation:

Baldeweg, F. et al. Fungal Biosurfactants from Mortierella alpina, Organic letters (2019), DOI: 10.1021/acs.orglett.9b00193

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Markus Greßler
Institut für Pharmazie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Winzerlaer Straße 2
07745 Jena
Telefon
+49 3641 9-49855
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang