Kai Papenfort ist Professor für Allgemeine Mikrobiologie der Universität Jena.

Scientists discover new concept of bacterial gene regulation

Research team of the Cluster of Excellence "Balance of the Microverse" identifies new regulatory sRNA molecules
Kai Papenfort is Professor of General Microbiology at the University of Jena.
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
  • Light
  • Research

Published: 6 August 2020, 10:38 | By: Alena Gold

Bacteria are always with us: These tiny organisms are found within and on our body as is the case with all animals and plants. As part of a healthy microbiome they ensure our wellbeing. But if the microbial community gets dysbalanced, infections can follow. Even in soil and water they are a crucial component of the respective environments and their functioning.

Still, we are just beginning to understand these essential unicellular organisms. The Jena microbiologist Prof. Kai Papenfort and his team were able to shed more light on this subject with their latest publication in the journal eLife. They discovered a new mechanism of autoregulation during gene expression that relies on small regulatory ribonucleic acids (sRNAs) and the major endoribonuclease RNase E.

"This autoregulation controls gene expression - that means, the proteins are synthesized based on genetic information. Bacteria use this process to adapt to their environment for example," explains Papenfort, Chair of General Microbiology at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The sRNAs play a decisive role in gene regulation. Through their interaction with the messenger RNA they influence the structure or metabolism of the bacterium, among other things.

"Based on the collected data, we were able to show that sRNAs from a specific section of the messenger RNA serve as autoregulatory elements. That allows negative feedback control at the post-transcriptional level," says Papenfort. Negative feedback regulation is very common in biology. It often has a stabilising effect. For example, in humans both the regulation of body temperature and blood pressure are due to negative feedback regulation. Normally, the feedback controls are triggered by the corresponding proteins during transcription. "It is notable, that the autoregulatory small RNAs we have discovered are independent of auxiliary transcription factors. Therefore, they provide a more rapid response," continues Papenfort.

With the findings from this study, Papenfort's team contributes to the research of the Cluster of Excellence “Balance of the Microverse” at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. Its goal is to generate a holistic understanding of microorganisms, their interaction and communication with each other and with their environment.

Notice

Original publication:

Hoyos M et al. Gene autoregulation by 3’ UTR-derived bacterial small RNAs. eLife 2020;9:e58836 doi: 10.7554/eLife.58836

Contact:

Kai Papenfort, Univ.-Prof. Dr
CMB
Hans-Knöll-Straße 2
07745 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Kai Papenfort ist Professor für Allgemeine Mikrobiologie der Universität Jena.

Neues Konzept der bakteriellen Genregulation entdeckt

Forschungsteam des Exzellenzclusters „Balance of the Microverse“ spürt neue regulatorische sRNA-Moleküle auf
Kai Papenfort ist Professor für Allgemeine Mikrobiologie der Universität Jena.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)
  • Light
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 06. August 2020, 10:38 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Alena Gold

Bakterien sind unsere stetigen Begleiter: Die winzigen Lebewesen sind in und auf dem menschlichen Körper zu finden, ebenso wie auf dem von Tieren und Pflanzen. Als Teil eines gesunden Mikrobioms sichern sie unser Wohlbefinden. Gerät die mikrobielle Gemeinschaft aus dem Gleichgewicht, können Infektionen die Folge sein. Auch im Boden und im Wasser sorgen Mikroorganismen für das Funktionieren von Ökosystemen.

Doch wir wissen noch längst nicht alles über diese essenziellen kleinen Lebewesen. Der Jenaer Mikrobiologe Prof. Dr. Kai Papenfort und sein Team konnten mit seiner jüngsten Veröffentlichung im Fachjournal eLife ein wenig mehr Licht ins Dunkel bringen. Sie entdeckten einen neuen Mechanismus bei der Selbstregulation von Genen. Dieser findet während der Genexpression statt, jenem Prozess, bei dem Proteine anhand genetischer Informationen in den Körperzellen hergestellt werden. Der neu entdeckte Regulationsmechanismus beruht auf kleinen regulatorischen Ribonukleinsäuren (sRNAs) und der wichtigsten Endoribonuklease RNase E.

Durch Genregulation wird die Genexpression gesteuert. Bakterien nutzen diesen Prozess etwa, um sich an die Umgebung anzupassen“, erklärt Kai Papenfort, der Professor für Allgemeine Mikrobiologie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena ist. Bei der Genregulation spielen die sRNAs eine entscheidende Rolle, denn sie beeinflussen durch ihre Interaktion mit der Boten-RNA unter anderem die Struktur oder den Stoffwechsel des Bakteriums.

Anhand der gesammelten Daten konnten wir zeigen, dass sRNAs aus einem spezifischen Abschnitt der Boten-RNA als selbstregulierende Elemente funktionieren. Dadurch kann eine negative Rückkopplung nach der Transkription stattfinden“, sagt Papenfort. Die negative Rückkopplung ist in der Natur weit verbreitet. Sie hat häufig eine stabilisierende Wirkung, auch beim Menschen: Sowohl die Regulierung der Körpertemperatur als auch des Blutdrucks sind auf die negative Rückkopplung zurückzuführen. Normalerweise werden die Rückkopplungsprozesse während der Transkription von Proteinen ausgelöst. „Das Besondere an den von uns entdeckten, selbstregulierenden kleinen RNAs ist, dass sie unabhängig von zusätzlichen Transkriptionsfaktoren arbeiten. Daher ermöglichen sie eine schnellere Reaktion“, so Papenfort weiter.

Mit den Erkenntnissen aus dieser Studie leisten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler um Papenfort einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erforschung des Mikroversums im Exzellenzcluster „Balance of the Microverse“ der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Dessen Ziel ist es, ein ganzheitliches Verständnis für Mikroorganismen, ihrer Interaktion und Kommunikation untereinander sowie mit ihrer Umwelt zu schaffen.

Hinweis

Original-Publikation:

Hoyos M et al. Gene autoregulation by 3’ UTR-derived bacterial small RNAs. eLife 2020;9:e58836 doi: 10.7554/eLife.58836

Kontakt:

Kai Papenfort, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
CMB
Hans-Knöll-Straße 2
07745 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang