Prof. Dr. Manja Marz leitet das neue internationale Ausbildungsnetzwerk an der Universität Jena.

Virus research and bioinformatics

International training programme wins nearly €4 million in EU funding. ‘VIROINF’ started its work on 1 September.
Prof. Dr Manja Marz heads the new international training network at the University of Jena.
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
  • Life
  • Research
  • International Affairs

Published: 31 August 2020, 11:27 | By: Ute Schönfelder

The SARS-CoV-2 pandemic impressively demonstrates how important it is to understand and be able to treat viral infections. The novel coronavirus has been keeping the world in suspense for months, because there is currently no way to treat or prevent infections. The availability of a vaccine and its effectiveness also depend on how precisely we know how viruses interact with the cells of the human organism. Over the next four years, young researchers will investigate these general processes in an ‘International Training Network’ coordinated by Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The European Union has awarded nearly four million euros to the ‘VIROINF’ programme, in which 15 doctoral candidates from eight European countries will be trained.

VIROINF investigates the interactions between viruses and their host organisms,’ explains Prof. Dr Manja Marz from Friedrich Schiller University Jena. ‘We want to gain a better understanding of the ecology and evolution of viruses and thus be able to better treat and control viral diseases,’ says the bioinformatician and head of the network. The researchers investigate not only the viruses that occur in humans, but also those that infect birds, mice, pigs, insects, and even microorganisms. What is special about ‘VIROINF’ is that virologists and bioinformaticians partner up and collaborate on individual research questions, with each topic being investigated by an interdisciplinary team. Prof. Marz’s group, for example, will investigate RNA secondary structures in influenza viruses in order to find out what influence they have on the recombination of viruses.

In addition to Friedrich Schiller University Jena, ‘VIROINF’ network members include research institutions from Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Great Britain, Austria, and Israel. Furthermore, twelve partner organizations from research and industry are involved in the scientific supervision of the young researchers. Being at the centre of the network, Jena is the place where joint workshops and meetings are organized, the various committees are coordinated and a website is maintained, which will be available at www.viroinfo.eu from October.

For further information on virus bioinformatics, please refer to www.evbc.uni-jena.de.

Contact:

Manja Marz, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-46480
JenTower, Room N0805
Leutragraben 1
07743 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Manja Marz leitet das neue internationale Ausbildungsnetzwerk an der Universität Jena.

Virenforschung und Bioinformatik

EU fördert internationales Ausbildungsprogramm mit fast vier Millionen Euro. Zum 1. September nimmt „VIROINF“ seine Arbeit auf
Prof. Dr. Manja Marz leitet das neue internationale Ausbildungsnetzwerk an der Universität Jena.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)
  • Life
  • Forschung
  • Internationales

Meldung vom: 31. August 2020, 11:27 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder

Wie wichtig es ist, Virusinfektionen zu verstehen und behandeln zu können, zeigt sich gerade eindrücklich in der SARS-CoV-2-Pandemie. Seit Monaten hält das neuartige Coronavirus die Welt in Atem, weil es derzeit keine Behandlungs- und Präventionsmöglichkeiten gibt. Wann es einen Impfstoff geben und wie wirksam dieser sein wird, hängt auch davon ab, wie genau bis dahin verstanden ist, wie Viren mit den Zellen des menschlichen Organismus interagieren. Diese allgemeinen Prozesse untersuchen in den kommenden vier Jahren Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -forscher in einem „International Training Network“, das die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena koordiniert. Das Programm „VIROINF“, in dem insgesamt 15 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus acht europäischen Ländern ausgebildet werden, fördert die Europäische Union mit fast vier Millionen Euro.

VIROINF untersucht die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Viren und ihren Wirtsorganismen“, erläutert Prof. Dr. Manja Marz von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. „Damit wollen wir die Ökologie und die Evolution der Viren besser verstehen und so Viruserkrankungen besser behandeln und kontrollieren können“, so die Bioinformatikerin, die das Netzwerk leitet. Untersucht werden nicht nur Viren, die beim Menschen vorkommen, sondern auch Vertreter, die Vögel, Mäuse, Schweine, Insekten oder sogar Mikroorganismen befallen. Das Besondere an „VIROINF“ ist, dass die Forschungsfragen jeweils als Partnerarbeiten untersucht werden, wobei Virologen und Bioinformatiker jeweils gemeinsam an einem Thema arbeiten. In der Gruppe von Prof. Marz sollen im Rahmen des Projekts beispielsweise RNA-Sekundärstrukturen in Influenzaviren untersucht werden, um herauszufinden, welchen Einfluss diese auf die Neukombination der Viren haben.

Am Netzwerk „VIROINF“ sind neben der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Forschungseinrichtungen aus Deutschland, den Niederlanden, der Schweiz, Frankreich, Belgien, Großbritannien, Österreich und Israel beteiligt. Darüber hinaus sind zwölf Partnerorganisationen aus Forschung und Industrie in die wissenschaftliche Betreuung der Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -forscher eingebunden. In Jena laufen alle Fäden zusammen: Hier werden gemeinsame Workshops und Meetings organisiert, die verschiedenen Gremien koordiniert sowie eine Webseite gepflegt, diese wird ab Oktober erreichbar sein.

Weitere Informationen zur Virus-Bioinformatik unter: www.evbc.uni-jena.de

Kontakt:

Manja Marz, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 9-46480
JenTower, Raum N0805
Leutragraben 1
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang