Mischkultur aus Pilzpathogen Pseudomonas tolaasii und Helferbakterium Mycetocola tolaasinivorans.

Tiny bodyguards

Helper bacteria stop and disarm pathogens
Mixed culture of fungal pathogen Pseudomonas tolaasii and helper bacterium Mycetocola ...
Image: Leibniz-HKI
  • Life
  • Research

Published: 1 September 2020, 15:07 | By: Michael Ramm

The bacterium Pseudomonas tolaasii triggers brown spot disease in cultivated mushrooms and thus causes considerable harvest losses. The active compound Tolaasin, which is produced by the pathogen, damages the cell membrane of the fungus and the cells die. But with some support the fungus can resist: Bacteria of the genus Mycetocola inactivate both the toxic Tolaasin as well as another active compound that makes the pathogen mobile and enables its spread. A team of researchers from Jena took a closer look at the molecular mechanism of the microbial triangle. The protective principle discovered in the process could serve as a model for applications in agriculture or medicine.

Infections can lead to drastic crop losses

Mushrooms are an important food source and their worldwide production is a market worth billions. However, the temperature and humidity typical of fungal cultivation also offer optimal conditions for numerous pathogens and therefore infections can lead to drastic crop losses. A well-known pathogen is Pseudomonas tolaasii. The bacterium produces a group of ring-shaped lipopeptides called Tolaasins. These toxins can form pores in the membrane of fungal and also plant cells, which damage the cell and cause it to die. In addition, the bacteria are able to swarm out on surfaces such as the mushroom hat and thus spread rapidly. The mobility of the pathogen is supported by surface-active pseudodesmines, a family of molecules belonging to the lipodepsipeptides.

However, helper bacteria of the genus Mycetocola associated with the fungi ensure that the mushrooms are not defenceless against attacks by Pseudomonas tolaasii. So far, however, it has not been known how this works. "We have discovered a new molecular mechanism that is effective against the harmful activity of the toxin Tolaasin," says Prof. Dr Christian Hertweck, Deputy Director of the Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology - Hans Knöll Institute and professor at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena.

Unprecedented observation

The team identified enzymes of the helper bacteria Mycetocola tolaasinivorans and M. lacteus which cleave the ring structure of the Tolaasins and thus render them ineffective. In addition, the helper bacteria impede the further colonisation of the mushrooms with the pathogen by also inactivating the pseudodesmines responsible for the spread of the pathogen. "The observation that helper bacteria stop pathogens that attack their host and render them harmless is unprecedented. The protective partners thus block both the ability of Tolaasin to cause the pathological changes in the mushroom and impair the mobility of the pathogen itself," said Hertweck.

With these scientific findings, Hertweck and his team contribute significantly to understand the chemical basis of microbial interactions, such as those being investigated in the DFG Collaborative Research Centre ChemBioSys and the Jena Cluster of Excellence "Balance of the Microverse". "In this way, we are promoting gentle pest control in food production. Instead of antibiotics, the helper bacteria or their enzymes could be used specifically to protect the mushroom cultures from brown spot disease. Another vision for the future would be the design of helper bacteria for use in medicine," said Hertweck.

A broad range of modern chemical and bioinformatic analytical methods, including metabolic profiling and imaging mass spectrometry, was used for the investigations. The results of the study were published in the journal "Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences".

Information

Original publication:
Hermenau R, Kugel S, Komor AJ, Hertweck C (2020) Helper bacteria halt and disarm mushroom pathogens by linearizing structurally diverse cyclopeptides. Proc Natl Acad Sci; doi.org/10.1073/pnas.2006109117

Contact:

Christian Hertweck, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 532-1101
Fax
+49 3641 532-0804
Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie
Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Mischkultur aus Pilzpathogen Pseudomonas tolaasii und Helferbakterium Mycetocola tolaasinivorans.

Winzige Bodyguards

Helferbakterien stoppen und entwaffnen Krankheitserreger
Mischkultur aus Pilzpathogen Pseudomonas tolaasii und Helferbakterium Mycetocola tolaasinivorans.
Foto: Leibniz-HKI
  • Life
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 01. September 2020, 15:07 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Michael Ramm

Das Bakterium Pseudomonas tolaasii löst die Braunfleckenkrankheit beim Zuchtchampignon aus und sorgt damit für erhebliche Ernteverluste. Der vom Erreger gebildete Wirkstoff Tolaasin schädigt die Zellmembran der Pilze, so dass die Zellen absterben. Doch der Pilz hat Unterstützer, die ihn widerstandsfähig machen: Bakterien der Gattung Mycetocola inaktivieren sowohl das toxische Tolaasin als auch einen weiteren Wirkstoff, der der Beweglichkeit und Verbreitung des Erregers dient. Ein Forscherteam aus Jena nahm den molekularen Mechanismus der mikrobiellen Dreiecksbeziehung näher unter die Lupe. Das dabei entdeckte Schutzprinzip könnte Vorbild für Anwendungen in der Landwirtschaft oder Medizin sein.

Infektionen führen zu drastischen Ernteausfällen

Pilze sind eine wichtige Nahrungsquelle und ihre weltweite Produktion ein Milliardenmarkt. Die für die Pilzzucht typische Temperatur und Feuchtigkeit bieten jedoch auch zahlreichen Krankheitserregern optimale Bedingungen, so dass es durch Infektionen zu drastischen Ernteausfällen kommen kann. Ein bekannter Erreger ist Pseudomonas tolaasii. Das Bakterium bildet eine Gruppe ringförmiger Lipopeptide, Tolaasine genannt. Diese Toxine können in der Membran von Pilz- und auch Pflanzenzellen Poren bilden, die die Zelle schädigen und absterben lassen. Außerdem sind die Bakterien in der Lage, auf Oberflächen wie dem Hut des Champignons auszuschwärmen und sich damit rasch zu verbreiten. Unterstützt wird die Beweglichkeit des Erregers durch oberflächenaktive Pseudodesmine, eine zu den Lipodepsipeptiden gehörende Molekülfamilie.

Mit den Pilzen assoziierte Helferbakterien der Gattung Mycetocola sorgen jedoch dafür, dass die Champignons dem Angriff von Pseudomonas tolaasii nicht schutzlos ausgeliefert sind. Bislang war unbekannt, wie das funktioniert. „Wir sind einem neuen molekularen Mechanismus auf die Spur gekommen, der gegen die schädliche Aktivität des Toxins Tolaasin wirkt“, sagt Prof. Dr. Christian Hertweck, stellvertretender Direktor des Leibniz-Instituts für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie – Hans-Knöll-Institut und Professor an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena.

Beispiellose Beobachtung

Das Team identifizierte Enzyme der Helferbakterien Mycetocola tolaasinivorans und M. lacteus, die die Ringstruktur der Tolaasine spalten und sie damit unwirksam machen. Zudem behindern die Helferbakterien die weitere Besiedelung der Pilze mit dem Erreger, indem sie auch die für die Ausbreitung verantwortlichen Pseudodesmine inaktivieren. „Die Beobachtung, dass Helferbakterien Krankheitserreger, die ihren Wirt angreifen, anhalten und unschädlich machen, ist bisher beispiellos. Damit blockieren die schützenden Partner sowohl die Fähigkeit von Tolaasin, die krankhaften Veränderungen beim Pilz hervorzurufen, als auch die Beweglichkeit des Erregers selbst“, so Hertweck.

Mit diesen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen leisten Hertweck und sein Team einen bedeutenden Beitrag für das Verständnis der chemischen Grundlage von mikrobiellen Interaktionen, wie sie im DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich ChemBioSys und dem Jenaer Exzellenzcluster "Balance of the Microverse" untersucht werden. „Damit bringen wir die schonende Schädlingsbekämpfung in der Nahrungsmittelproduktion voran. Anstelle von Antibiotika könnten die Helferbakterien oder deren Enzyme gezielt dafür eingesetzt werden, die Pilzkulturen vor der Braunfleckenkrankheit zu schützen. Eine Zukunftsvision wäre aber auch das Design von Helferbakterien für den Einsatz in der Medizin“, sagt Hertweck.

Für die Untersuchungen wurde eine ganze Palette moderner chemischer und bioinformatischer Analysenmethoden angewendet, darunter metabolisches Profiling und bildgebende Massenspektrometrie. Die Ergebnisse der Studie wurden im Fachjournal "Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences" veröffentlicht.

Information

Original-Publikation:
Hermenau R, Kugel S, Komor AJ, Hertweck C (2020) Helper bacteria halt and disarm mushroom pathogens by linearizing structurally diverse cyclopeptides. Proc Natl Acad Sci; doi.org/10.1073/pnas.2006109117

Kontakt:

Christian Hertweck, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 532-1101
Fax
+49 3641 532-0804
Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie
Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang