Der Jenaer Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Dietmar Gallistl erhält einen ERC Starting Grant.

Towards new algorithms and discretization

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Gallistl awarded an ERC Starting Grant
The Jena mathematician Prof. Dr Dietmar Gallistl receives an ERC Starting Grant.
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
  • Research
  • Awards and Personnel

Published: 3 September 2020, 12:00 | By: Sebastian Hollstein

Doing pioneer work in science and answering questions of the future—these are tasks of young researchers that the European Research Council (ERC) supports with ERC Starting Grants. This type of grant provides up to 1.5 million euros for a dedicated research group. For a period of five years, grant winners can pursue an innova­tive project idea. Prof. Dr Dietmar Gallistl from Friedrich Schiller University Jena (Ger­many) is one of the researchers selected for funding this year. Within the framework of his project—‘Discretization and adaptive approximation of fully nonlinear equations’ (DAFNE)—, the mathematician intends to explore new numerical methods for a class of differential equations in order to expand their potential for possible applications.

Time, freedom and flexibility

I am delighted to receive the grant, because over the next five years it will give me the time, freedom and flexibility to implement such a research project—together with a young and creative team,” says Dietmar Gallistl from the University of Jena. He wants to use the third-party funding of 1.45 million euros to finance two postdoc positions and two doctor­ral candidates. “On the one hand, the ERC Starting Grant confirms once again that Fried­rich Schiller University has gained an excellent young researcher. On the other hand, such funding always rewards project ideas that could become promising research foci at our University in the next years", says Prof. Dr Georg Pohnert, Vice-President for Research at the University of Jena, acknowledging the success of his colleague who has been conduc­ting research in Jena since last winter semester.

Dividing the continuum into intervals

In the years to come, Dietmar Gallistl—who primarily conducts basic research in the field of numerical analysis—will explore how the ‘finite element method’ can be applied to the class of fully nonlinear equations. “In numerical analysis, we find ways to not only des­cribe equations and analyse their nature, but to actually solve them approximately—and as efficiently as possible,” explains the 33-year-old scientist. “For this purpose, we generally use algorithms, nowadays usually applied by means of modern computing technology.” But even such computers reach their limits in terms of computing power, making it neces­sary to subdivide continuous mathematical problems—i. e. those involving an infinite num­ber of numbers—into manageable smaller parts and thus approximate the solution of an equation as closely as possible. This is achieved by a process called discretization. One method used for that purpose is the finite element method, where a body, for example, is subdivided into many small parts. “It is frequently applied in engineering, for example when calculating the deformation of elastic solids in civil engineering,” explains the mathematician of the University of Jena.

Low effort, high approximate value

The discretization method may possibly be transferred to other classes of equations—e. g. fully nonlinear equations. These are more likely to be used in subject areas where problems are not modelled physically or mechanically—e. g. in financial mathematics or geometry. So far, little research has been done on adaptive methods such as the finite element method for this class of equations—and this is exactly what Dietmar Gallistl wants to change: “My goal is to find out how to use finite elements for certain fully non­linear equations through certain regularizations, initially in two dimensions; the computa­tional effort should be as low as possible and the approximation to the solution as exact as possible.” Possibly, this basic research could lay the foundation for new algorithms in the application areas of fully nonlinear equations.

Contact:

Dietmar Gallistl, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-46141
Fax
+49 3641 9-46102
Room 3502
Ernst-Abbe-Platz 1-2
07743 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Der Jenaer Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Dietmar Gallistl erhält einen ERC Starting Grant.

Mit Diskretisierung zu neuen Algorithmen

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Gallistl erhält Starting Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrates
Der Jenaer Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Dietmar Gallistl erhält einen ERC Starting Grant.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)
  • Forschung
  • Preise & Personalia

Meldung vom: 03. September 2020, 12:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Sebastian Hollstein

Pionierarbeit in der Wissenschaft leisten und Antworten auf Zukunfts­fragen finden – bei dieser Aufgabe unterstützt der Europäische Forschungsrat (European Research Council – ERC) jährlich junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit dem ERC Starting Grant. Dieser stellt bis zu 1,5 Millionen Euro für die Arbeit einer eigenen Forschungsgruppe zur Verfügung. Fünf Jahre lang können die Aus­gezeichneten so einer innovativen Projektidee folgen. Eine solche Förderung erhält in diesem Jahr Prof. Dr. Diet­mar Gallistl von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Der Mathe­mati­ker möchte im Rahmen seines Projektes „Discretization and adaptive approximation of fully nonlinear equations“ (DAFNE) neue numerische Verfahren für eine Klasse von Diffe­rentialgleichun­gen ergründen, um so ihr Potenzial für mögliche Anwendungen zu erwei­tern.

Zeit, Freiraum und Flexibilität

Ich freue mich sehr über die Förderung, da sie mir in den kommenden fünf Jahren Zeit, Freiraum und Flexibilität bietet, ein derartiges Forschungsvorhaben umzusetzen – und das gemeinsam mit einem jungen, kreativen Team“, sagt Dietmar Gallistl von der Universität Jena, der mit den Drittmitteln in Höhe von 1,45 Millionen Euro Stellen für zwei Postdocs und zwei Doktoranden finanzieren will. „Zum einen bestätigt uns der ERC Starting Grant einmal mehr, dass wir mit Prof. Gallistl einen exzellenten jungen Wissenschaftler für die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität gewonnen haben. Zum anderen zeichnet eine solche Förde­rung immer auch die Projektideen aus, die sich in den kom­menden Jahren zu vielverspre­chenden Forschungsschwerpunkten an unserer Universität entwickeln können“, würdigt Prof. Dr. Georg Pohnert, Vizepräsident für Forschung der Universität Jena, den Erfolg des Kollegen, der seit dem vergangenen Wintersemester in Jena forscht.

Kontinuum in Intervalle einteilen

Dietmar Gallistl, der vor allem Grundlagenforschung im Bereich der numerischen Mathe­ma­tik betreibt, ergründet in den kommenden Jahren, wie sich die sogenannte Finite-Ele­men­te-Methode auf die Klasse der voll nichtlinearen Gleichungen anwenden lässt. „In der Numerik finden wir Wege, um Gleichungen nicht nur zu beschreiben und ihre Beschaf­fen­heit zu analysieren, sondern um sie tatsächlich auch näherungsweise zu lösen – und das möglichst effizient“, erklärt der 33-Jährige. „In der Regel nutzen wir dafür Algorithmen, die heutzutage meist mittels moderner Rechentechnik angewendet werden.“ Doch auch sol­che Computer stoßen bei der Rechenleistung an Grenzen, weswegen es notwendig ist, kon­tinuierliche – also eine unendlich große Zahlenmenge umfassende – mathematische Problemstellungen in handhabbare Teilgebiete einzuteilen und sich somit der Lösung einer Gleichung so genau wie möglich anzunähern. Dieses Vorgehen nennt man Diskreti­sierung. Ein Verfahren dafür ist die sogenannte Finite-Elemente-Methode, durch die bei­spielsweise ein Körper in viele kleine Elemente aufgeteilt wird. „Sie kommt etwa häufig in den Ingenieurwissenschaften zum Einsatz, beispielsweise im Bauwesen bei der Berech­nung der Verformung elastischer Festkörper“, informiert der Mathematiker.

Geringer Aufwand, hoher Näherungswert

Die Diskretisierungsmethode lässt sich möglicherweise auch auf andere Gleichungsklas­sen übertragen – etwa auf die sogenannten voll nichtlinearen Gleichungen. Diese finden eher da Anwendung, wo Probleme nicht physikalisch oder mechanisch modelliert werden, beispielsweise in der Finanzmathematik oder der Geometrie. Bislang sind solche adapti­ven Verfahren wie die Finite-Elemente-Methode bei dieser Klasse von Gleichungen wenig erforscht. Genau das will Dietmar Gallistl nun ändern: „Mein Ziel ist es herauszufinden, wie man durch gewisse Regularisierungen zunächst im zweidimensionalen Fall ermöglicht, fi­nite Elemente für gewisse voll nichtlineare Gleichungen zu verwenden – dabei soll der Rechenaufwand möglichst gering und die Näherung an die Lösung möglichst genau sein.“ Eventuell lässt sich mit dieser Grundlagenforschung die Basis für neue Algorithmen in den Anwendungsgebieten der voll nichtlinearen Gleichungen legen.

Kontakt:

Dietmar Gallistl, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 9-46141
Fax
+49 3641 9-46102
Raum 3502
Ernst-Abbe-Platz 1-2
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang