Die Sprecher des SFB ChemBioSys Prof. Christian Hertweck (l.) und Prof. Georg Pohnert im Studio.

Virtual microbial talk

International online conference on microbial and biomolecular interactions
Spokespersons of the CRC ChemBioSys: Christian Hertweck (l.) and Georg Pohnert in the studio.
Image: Alena Gold
  • Light
  • Life
  • Event(s)
  • International Affairs

Published: 1 September 2020, 12:00 | By: Alena Gold

An international conference with some 230 participants from all over the world was held at the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena. In normal times this would not be big news, as the University of Jena is a regular meeting place for international guests but a three-day conference during the ongoing corona pandemic is indeed a challenge. The Cluster of Excellence "Balance of the Microverse" and the two Collaborative Research Centers "ChemBioSys" and "AquaDiva" have taken up this challenge and organized the "Microverse I — Joint International Symposium on Microbial and Biomolecular Interactions" as an online conference at the University of Jena together with the consortium "InfectControl".

Host Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage, spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence and Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Biology at the University of Jena, draws a positive conclusion: "The months of intensive preparation, the excellent support of the university's multimedia center and the top-class contributions of the invited researchers made the conference a resounding success. We are pleased that we were able to exchange the latest findings on microbial communication, environmental and host microbes in this online format".

Microorganisms protect plants and produce natural products

Twenty-nine speakers presented their research findings during the three days from September 1 to 3. Prof. Dr. Leo Eberl from the University of Zurich, for example, provided insights into his work on the role of a new class of signaling molecules controlling a devastating plant pathogen. Certain classes of bacterial signaling molecules have only recently received attention, including valdiazen. Among other things, it controls how genes are expressed. Eberl and his colleagues have shown that these signaling molecules attenuate the virulence of the bacterium Pseudomonas syringae, which damages mango trees. This could be exploited as a natural product to protect such important agricultural crops.

Prof. Muriel Gugger from the Institute Pasteur in Paris talked about cyanobacteria as rich producers of natural products during the CRC ChemBioSys session on ‘Chemical mediators in complex biosystems’. These organisms are not only important oxygen producers but their genomes are also an as yet untapped source of natural substances with medical or industrial applications. Each session ended with meetings of the speakers in virtual meeting rooms where participants could discuss the research. In addition, 38 posters were presented in a virtual format.

One particular highlight were three round table discussions on the last day of the Microverse I symposium. Chairs and participants discussed opportunities for biotechnology based on new knowledge about microbial interactions and how microbiologists can learn from nature when they are searching for natural products and thus new drugs. During the third round table discussion scientists summarized the current advances and challenges when attempting to identify rare or functionally important microbes by metagenomics as well as bridging the gap between datasets from different types of omics technologies. “We had a really lively discussion with complementary opinions. This is much needed in times when the personal exchange between scientists from all over the world is limited,” says AquaDivas scientific assistant and future junior group leader in the Microverse Cluster Dr. Martin Taubert, who chaired one of the round table discussions.

Background: The Microverse I conference organizers

The Cluster of Excellence "Balance of the Microverse" investigates the complex interactions of microorganisms with other organisms and with their environment, which are of great significance for the functioning of ecosystems, our climate as well as the well-being of plants, animals and humans.

The CRC "ChemBioSys", which aims to explore fundamental regulatory processes in complex biosystems that affect our daily lives. The focus is on chemical mediators that play key roles in regulating the composition of communities and interactions of individual organisms of one or multiple species.

The CRC "AquaDiva" focuses on the important roles of water (Aqua) and biodiversity (Diva) for shaping the structure, properties and functions of the subsurface. This part of the Earth`s Critical Zone begins below the highest density of plant roots and extends down into the first aquifers.

"InfectControl" is a consortium in which science and industry have joined forces to fight infectious diseases. It aims to prevent infections in the long term, to detect them faster and to fight them consistently with innovative therapies. InfectControl also supports educational campaigns for vaccination and better awareness of the risks posed by infectious diseases.

Contact:

Axel A. Brakhage, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage, Sprecher "Balance of the Microverse"-Cluster
Phone
+49 3641 532-1001
Fax
+49 3641 532-0802
Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie
Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Die Sprecher des SFB ChemBioSys Prof. Christian Hertweck (l.) und Prof. Georg Pohnert im Studio.

Mikrobielle Kommunikation im virtuellen Raum

Internationale Online-Konferenz zu mikrobiellen und biomolekularen Interaktionen
Die Sprecher des SFB ChemBioSys Prof. Christian Hertweck (l.) und Prof. Georg Pohnert im Studio.
Foto: Alena Gold
  • Light
  • Life
  • Veranstaltung
  • Internationales

Meldung vom: 08. September 2020, 12:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Alena Gold

Eine internationale Konferenz mit rund 230 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aus aller Welt ist gerade an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena zu Ende gegangen. In Zeiten ohne Pandemie wäre das vermutlich keine große Nachricht, ist die Universität Jena doch regelmäßig Treffpunkt für internationale Gäste. Eine dreitägige Konferenz während der anhaltenden Corona-Pandemie ist dagegen schon eine Herausforderung. Dieser Aufgabe haben sich der Exzellenzcluster „Balance of the Microverse“ und die beiden Sonderforschungsbereiche „ChemBioSys“ und „AquaDiva“ gestellt und gemeinsam mit dem Konsortium „InfectControl“ das „Microverse I – Joint International Symposium on Microbial and Biomolecular Interactions“ als Online-Konferenz an der Universität Jena veranstaltet.

Gastgeber Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage, Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters und Professor für Mikrobiologie und Molekularbiologie der Universität Jena, zieht eine positive Bilanz: „Die Monate der intensiven Vorbereitung, die ausgezeichnete Unterstützung des Multimediazentrums der Universität und die hochkarätigen Beiträge der eingeladenen Forschenden haben die Konferenz zu einem Erfolg werden lassen. Wir freuen uns, dass wir die neuesten Erkenntnisse über mikrobielle Kommunikation, Umwelt- und Wirtsmikroben in diesem Online-Format austauschen konnten.“

Mikroorganismen helfen beim Pflanzenschutz und sind Naturstoffproduzenten

Insgesamt 29 Sprecher berichteten während der drei Tage vom 1. bis 3. September von ihrer Forschung. Prof. Dr. Leo Eberl von der Universität Zürich gab beispielsweise Einblicke in seine Arbeit zur Rolle einer neuen Signalmolekülklasse bei der umweltfreundlichen Bekämpfung eines verheerenden Pflanzenpathogens. Bestimmten Klassen von bakteriellen Signalmolekülen wird erst seit Kurzem Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt, darunter Valdiazen. Dieses beeinflusst unter anderem, wie Gene zum Ausdruck kommen. So auch beim Bakterium Pseudomonas syringae, das wichtige Kulturpflanzen wie Mangobäume schädigt.

In einem anderen Vortrag sprach Prof. Dr. Muriel Gugger vom Institut Pasteur in Paris über Cyanobakterien als ergiebige Hersteller von Naturprodukten. Diese uralten Lebewesen sind nicht nur die ersten Sauerstoffproduzenten, ihre Genome eignen sich auch als Quelle für Naturstoffe. Die Sessions endeten jeweils mit der Möglichkeit, die Sprecher in einem virtuellen Raum zu treffen und mit ihnen zu diskutieren. Weitere Möglichkeiten der Interaktion wurden durch 38 Posterpräsentationen in virtuellen Sitzungsräumen geboten.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt waren die drei Diskussionsrunden am letzten Tag des Microverse I-Symposiums. Diskussionsleiter und Teilnehmende debattierten die Möglichkeiten der Biotechnologie zur Beschreibung mikrobieller Interaktionen und was Mikrobiologen bei der Suche nach neuen Wirkstoffen, also möglichen Medikamenten, von der Natur lernen können. In der dritten Diskussionsrunde besprachen die Wissenschaftler aktuelle Fortschritte und Herausforderungen bei omics-Technologien, um mit Metagenomics gezielt seltene oder funktionell bedeutsame Mikroorganismen zu untersuchen und die Kluft zwischen Daten aus verschiedenen omics-Ansätzen und Experimenten zu überbrücken. "Wir hatten eine wirklich lebhafte Diskussion mit sich ergänzenden Meinungen. Diese Diskussion ist notwendig, besonders in Zeiten, in denen der übliche Austausch mit Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt begrenzt ist", sagt AquaDiva-Lehrstuhlassistent Martin Taubert, der die Diskussionsrunde leitete und bald eine eigene Nachwuchsgruppe im Microverse-Cluster aufbauen wird.

Hintergrund: Die beteiligten Forschungsverbünde

Der Exzellenzcluster Balance des Mikroversums erforscht die komplexen Wechselwirkungen von Mikroorganismen mit anderen Lebewesen und mit ihrer Umwelt, die für das Funktionieren von Ökosystemen, unser Klima und das Wohlbefinden von Pflanzen, Tieren und Menschen von großer Bedeutung sind.

Das Ziel des SFB ChemBioSys ist die Erforschung grundlegender regulatorischer Prozesse in komplexen Biosystemen, die unser tägliches Leben beeinflussen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf chemischen Mediatoren, die eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Regulierung der Zusammensetzung von Lebensgemeinschaften und Interaktionen einzelner Organismen einer oder mehrerer Arten spielen.

Der SFB AquaDiva konzentriert sich auf die wichtige Rolle von Wasser (Aqua) und Biodiversität (Diva) für die Gestaltung der Struktur, Eigenschaften und Funktionen des Untergrundes, dem Teil der Kritischen Zone der Erde, der unterhalb der höchsten Dichte von Pflanzenwurzeln beginnt und sich bis in die ersten Grundwasserleiter erstreckt.

InfectControl repräsentiert ein Konsortium, in dem sich Wissenschaft und Industrie zur Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten zusammengeschlossen haben. Sein Ziel ist es, Infektionen langfristig zu verhindern, schneller zu erkennen und mit innovativen Therapien konsequent zu bekämpfen. InfectControl unterstützt Aufklärungskampagnen für Impfungen und ein stärkeres Bewusstsein für Infektionskrankheiten.

Kontakt:

Axel A. Brakhage, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Lehrstuhlinhaber
Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage, Sprecher "Balance of the Microverse"-Cluster
Telefon
+49 3641 532-1001
Fax
+49 3641 532-0802
Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie
Beutenbergstraße 11a
07745 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang