Der Pharmazeut und Doktorand Paul Jordan präpariert Bakterienkulturen (Staphylococcus aureus).

Bacterial toxin with healing effect

Research team uncovers that a toxic substance found in Staphylococcus aureus stimulates tissue regeneration
The pharmacist and doctoral student Paul Jordan prepares bacterial cultures (Staphylococcus aureus).
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Life
  • Research

Published: 13 October 2020, 17:00 | By: Ute Schönfelder

Normally they are among the many harmless organisms found in and on the human body: one in four people have millions of Staphylococcus aureus bacteria on their skin and on the mucous membranes of the upper respiratory tract, without being aware of it. In some cases, however, the harmless bacteria can turn into pathogens, which can lead to skin inflammation and lung infections, or – in the worst cases – sepsis. “This happens especially when the bacteria multiply too fast, for example when a person's immune system is weakened by an infection or injury,” says Prof. Oliver Werz of Friedrich Schiller University Jena in Germany.

The Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry and his team have studied the molecular defence mechanisms of the human immune system in the fight against such Staphylococcus aureus infections and made a surprising discovery. As the research team reports in the current issue of the specialist journal “Cell Reports”, the toxic cocktail with which Staphylococcus aureus damages cells and tissues also has positive effects: specific immune cells are stimulated by the bacterial toxin to produce specialised messenger substances that help to reduce inflammation and to promote tissue healing. Prof. Werz expects this hitherto unknown mechanism to be significant for future treatments of skin inflammation and chronic wounds.

Immune cells produce anti-inflammatory messenger substances

In their latest study, the researchers from the University of Jena, Jena University Hospital and the Leibniz Institute on Aging – Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI), together with colleagues from Harvard Medical School and the University of Naples, have studied in particular the bacterial toxin “α-Hemolysin” and examined its effect on M2 macrophages. M2 macrophages are immune cells which, in the later stages of an inflammatory reaction, ensure that bacteria that have been killed, and damaged cell components, are removed, and that the tissue regenerates. “They are therefore a kind of cellular waste disposal,” says Paul Jordan, doctoral candidate in Werz’s team and lead author of the publication, describing the function of these cells.

The researchers showed that α-hemolysin binds to specific receptor proteins on the surface of M2 macrophages and thus triggers the production of anti-inflammatory messenger substances in the cells, which then cause the inflammation to resolve. In the study, the scientists were also able to show that these transmitters promote tissue regeneration in an animal model. The anti-inflammatory messenger substances include resolvins, maresins and protectins that are formed from omega-3 fatty acids.

The study was conducted as part of the Collaborative Research Centres SFB1127 ChemBioSys and SFB1278 Polytarget at the University of Jena and was funded by the German Research Foundation.

Paul Jordan (l.) und Prof. Oliver Werz begutachten eine Probe aus menschlichen Immunzellen. Paul Jordan (l.) and Prof. Oliver Werz examine a sample from human immune cells. Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
Information

Original publication:

Jordan PM et al. Staphylococcus aureus-derived α-hemolysin evokes generation of specialized pro-resolving mediators promoting inflammation resolution, Cell Reports 33 (2020), https://www.cell.com/cell-reports/fulltext/S2211-1247(20)31236-5

Contact:

Oliver Werz, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-49801
Fax
+49 3641 9-49802
Room D 202-B
Philosophenweg 14
07743 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Der Pharmazeut und Doktorand Paul Jordan präpariert Bakterienkulturen (Staphylococcus aureus).

Bakteriengift mit heilsamer Wirkung

Forschungsteam entdeckt, dass eine giftige Substanz aus Staphylococcus aureus die Geweberegeneration stimuliert​
Der Pharmazeut und Doktorand Paul Jordan präpariert Bakterienkulturen (Staphylococcus aureus).
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Life
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 13. Oktober 2020, 17:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder

Normalerweise gehören sie zu den harmlosen Mitbewohnern des menschlichen Körpers: Bakterien der Art Staphylococcus aureus kommen bei jedem Vierten millionenfach auf der Haut und den Schleimhäuten der oberen Atemwege vor, ohne dass die Personen davon etwas merken. In bestimmten Fällen jedoch können aus den harmlosen Mitbewohnern pathogene Keime werden, die zu Hautentzündungen und Infektionen der Lunge oder – im schlimmsten Falle – zu einer Sepsis führen können. „Das passiert insbesondere dann, wenn sich die Bakterien zu stark vermehren, etwa, wenn die Immunabwehr eines Menschen durch eine Infektion oder eine Verletzung geschwächt ist“, sagt Prof. Dr. Oliver Werz von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena.

Der Professor für Pharmazeutische Chemie und sein Team haben die molekularen Abwehrmechanismen des menschlichen Immunsystems im Kampf gegen solche Staphylococcus aureus-Infektionen untersucht und dabei eine überraschende Entdeckung gemacht. Wie das Forschungsteam in der aktuellen Ausgabe des Fachmagazins „Cell Reports“ schreibt, hat der Giftcocktail, mit dem Staphylococcus aureus befallene Zellen und Gewebe schädigt, auch positive Effekte: Bestimmte Immunzellen werden von dem Bakteriengift dazu angeregt, spezielle Botenstoffe zu produzieren, die Entzündungen abklingen lassen und deren Heilung fördern. Dieser bislang unbekannte Mechanismus könnte für künftige Therapien von Hautentzündungen und chronischen Wunden bedeutsam sein, erwartet Prof. Werz.

Immunzellen produzieren entzündungsauflösende Botenstoffe

In ihrer aktuellen Studie haben die Jenaer Forschenden von Universität, Universitätsklinikum und Leibniz-Institut für Alternsforschung – Fritz-Lipmann-Institut (FLI) gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Harvard Medical School und der Universität Neapel insbesondere das Bakteriengift „α-Hemolysin“ unter die Lupe genommen und dessen Wirkung auf sogenannte M2-Makrophagen untersucht. M2-Makrophagen sind Immunzellen, die im späteren Verlauf einer Entzündungsreaktion dafür sorgen, dass abgetötete Bakterien und geschädigte Zellbestandteile abtransportiert werden und sich das Gewebe regeneriert. „Sie sind also so eine Art zelluläre Müllabfuhr“, beschreibt Paul Jordan, Doktorand in Werz‘ Team und Erstautor der Publikation die Funktion dieser Zellen.

Wie sich zeigte, bindet α-Hemolysin an bestimmte Rezeptorproteine auf der Oberfläche von M2-Makrophagen und löst damit in den Zellen die Produktion entzündungsauflösender Botenstoffe aus, die dann im weiteren Verlauf die Entzündung abklingen lassen. In der vorgestellten Untersuchung konnten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler außerdem zeigen, dass diese Botenstoffe in einem Tiermodell die Geweberegeneration fördern. Zu den entzündungsauflösenden Botenstoffen gehören u. a. sogenannte Resolvine, Maresine und Protektine, die aus Omega-3-Fettsäuren gebildet werden.

Die Studie wurde im Rahmen der Sonderforschungsbereiche SFB 1127 ChemBioSys und SFB 1278 Polytarget der Universität Jena durchgeführt und von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert.

Paul Jordan (l.) und Prof. Oliver Werz begutachten eine Probe aus menschlichen Immunzellen. Paul Jordan (l.) und Prof. Oliver Werz begutachten eine Probe aus menschlichen Immunzellen. Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
Information

Original-Publikation:

Jordan PM et al. Staphylococcus aureus-derived α-hemolysin evokes generation of specialized pro-resolving mediators promoting inflammation resolution, Cell Reports 33 (2020), https://www.cell.com/cell-reports/fulltext/S2211-1247(20)31236-5

Kontakt:

Oliver Werz, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 9-49801
Fax
+49 3641 9-49802
Raum D 202-B
Philosophenweg 14
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang