Doctoral candidate Josephine Ulrich from the research team of the University of Jena.

Shifts in flowering phases of plants due to reduced insect density

Research group of Jena University and iDiv uses novel research method to study effect of insect decline on plant biodiversity
Doctoral candidate Josephine Ulrich from the research team of the University of Jena.
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
  • Research

Published: 26 October 2020, 11:00 | By: Ute Schönfelder, Vivien Busse

 It still sounds unlikely today, but declines in insect numbers could well make it a frequent occurrence in the future: fields full of flowers, but not a bee in sight.

A research group of the University of Jena and the German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research Halle-Jena-Leipzig (iDiv) has discovered that insects have a decisive influence on the biodiversity and flowering phases of plants. If there is a lack of insects where the plants are growing, their flowering behaviour changes. This can result in the lifecycles of the insects and the flowering periods of the plants no longer coinciding. If the insects seek nectar at the wrong time, some plants will no longer be pollinated.

Innovative research method in iDiv Ecotron

Ecosystems are changing around the world, in particular due to global warming and altered land use. Insect species are dying out and the insect biomass is decreasing. Researchers have therefore studied how the biodiversity of plants is changing in the context of climate change. For this purpose, various climate scenarios have been simulated, using different temperatures and precipitation.

In a new study reported in the specialist journal “Frontiers in Plant Science”, the Working Group Biodiversity of Plants of the University of Jena, led by Prof. Christine Römermann, presents a different research approach. In cooperation with scientists from iDiv, led by Prof. Nico Eisenhauer, the researchers are focusing on the influence of invertebrates, such as insects, on the biodiversity and flowering behaviour of plants. “We know that the insect biomass is decreasing,” says Josephine Ulrich, a doctoral candidate from Römermann’s team, referring to a study from 2017 which detected that insects had declined by 75 per cent over the previous 30 years.

The Jena research group has now studied in detail for the first time the extent to which decreasing insect density influences plant development. Whereas previous studies had only carried out field experiments, the research team used the “Ecotron”, an iDiv research facility where identical climatic situations can be simulated in artificial ecosystems and observed with cameras.

In their experiment, the researchers studied how plant composition and plant development change.

Mismatch between plant and animal worlds

Ulrich and her colleagues discovered that the reduced insect biomass brings about a change in plant species. It is especially the dominant plant species, such as red clover, which become more prevalent. The development of the flowering period also changes as insect density declines. Some of the plants studied flowered earlier and others later.

These changes can lead to mismatches between plant and animal species, which lead to adverse consequences for the ecosystem,” says Ulrich, the lead author of the study. Examples are the food supply of insects and pollination success. This deterioration in the ecosystem function could entail further losses of insect and plant species. An additional consequence could be that plants become increasingly infested with pests. Due to the falling numbers of insects that feed on aphids, for example, these pests could spread unchecked.

Ecotron units in the research center iDiv. Ecotron units in the research center iDiv. Image: iDiv
Information

Original publication:
Ulrich, J. et al (2020): Invertebrate Decline Leads to Shifts in Plant Species Abundance and Phenology, Frontiers in Plant Science, https://doi.org/10.3389/fpls.2020.542125

Contact:

Josephine Ulrich
PhD student
Phone
+49 3641 9-49267
Fax
+49 3641 9-49252
Otto-Renner-Villa, Room 104
Philosophenweg 16
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Doktorandin Josephine Ulrich aus dem Forschungsteam der Universität Jena.

Veränderte Blühphasen von Pflanzen durch geringere Insektendichte

Forschungsgruppe untersucht Einfluss des Insektenrückgangs auf Biodiversität der Pflanzen
Doktorandin Josephine Ulrich aus dem Forschungsteam der Universität Jena.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 26. Oktober 2020, 11:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder, Vivien Busse

Die Blumen auf der Wiese blühen in voller Pracht – aber weit und breit ist keine einzige Biene zu sehen. Was heute noch unwahrscheinlich klingt, könnte in Zukunft durchaus häufig vorkommen.

Denn, so hat eine Forschungsgruppe der Universität Jena und des Deutschen Zentrums für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung Halle-Jena-Leipzig (iDiv) herausgefunden, Insekten haben einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Biodiversität und Blühphasen von Pflanzen. Fehlen Insekten im Umfeld der Pflanzen, verändert sich deren Blühverhalten. Dies kann dazu führen, dass die Lebenszyklen der Insekten und die Blütezeit der Pflanzen nicht mehr übereinstimmen. Gehen die Insekten aber zur falschen Zeit auf Nektarsuche, werden manche Pflanzen nicht mehr bestäubt.

Neuartige Forschungsmethode im iDiv-Ecotron

Ökosysteme verändern sich weltweit, insbesondere bedingt durch die globale Erwärmung und veränderte Landnutzung. Insektenarten sterben aus und die Insektenbiomasse nimmt ab. Bisher untersuchte die Forschung deshalb, wie sich die Biodiversität von Pflanzen im Rahmen des Klimawandels verändert. Dazu wurden mittels unterschiedlicher Temperatur und Niederschlag verschiedene klimatische Szenarien simuliert.

In einer aktuellen Studie im Fachmagazin „Frontiers in Plant Science“ stellt die Arbeitsgruppe Biodiversität der Pflanzen der Universität Jena um Prof. Dr. Christine Römermann jetzt einen anderen Forschungsansatz vor: In Kooperation mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des iDiv um Prof. Dr. Nico Eisenhauer fokussieren sich die Forschenden auf den Einfluss von Wirbellosen, z. B. von Insekten, auf die Biodiversität und das Blühverhalten der Pflanzen. „Wir wissen, dass die Zahl der Insekten sinkt“, erläutert Josephine Ulrich, Doktorandin aus Römermanns Team und verweist auf eine Studie aus dem Jahr 2017, die einen Insektenschwund um 75 Prozent in den vergangenen 30 Jahren feststellt.

Die Jenaer Forschungsgruppe hat nun erstmals detailliert untersucht, inwiefern die sinkende Insektendichte die Entwicklung von Pflanzen beeinflusst. Während bisher nur Freiland-Versuche dazu durchgeführt wurden, nutzte das Forscherteam das „Ecotron“, eine Forschungseinrichtung des iDiv. In künstlichen Ökosystemen können identische klimatische Situationen simuliert und per Kamera beobachtet werden.

Im Experiment testeten die Forscherinnen und Forscher, wie sich die Pflanzenzusammensetzung und die pflanzliche Entwicklung verändern, wenn der vorhergesagte Rückgang der Insektenzahl um drei Viertel erfolgt.

Zeitliche Diskrepanz zwischen Pflanzen- und Tierwelt

Ulrich und ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen fanden dabei heraus, dass durch den geringeren Insektenbestand eine Artenverschiebung unter den Pflanzen stattfindet. Dabei erhöht sich vor allem die Häufigkeit der dominierenden Pflanzenarten, z. B. des Wiesenklees. Auch die Entwicklung der Blüte veränderte sich mit abnehmender Insektendichte. Manche der untersuchten Pflanzen blühten früher, andere später.

Durch diese Veränderungen kann es zu einer zeitlichen Diskrepanz zwischen Pflanzen- und Tierarten kommen. Daraus resultieren negative Folgen für das Ökosystem“, so Ulrich, die Erstautorin der aktuellen Studie. Beispiele dafür sind die Nahrungsmittelversorgung der Insekten und der Bestäubungserfolg. Diese Verschlechterung der Ökosystemfunktion könnte einen weiteren Artenverlust von Insekten und Pflanzen nach sich ziehen. Eine andere Folge könnte ein zunehmender Schädlingsbefall der Pflanzen sein. Durch die sinkende Zahl der Insekten, die sich u. a. von Läusen ernähren, könnten sich diese ungehindert ausbreiten.

Ecotron-Einheiten im Forschungszentrum des iDiv. Ecotron-Einheiten im Forschungszentrum des iDiv. Foto: iDiv
Information

Original-Publikation:
Ulrich, J. et al (2020): Invertebrate Decline Leads to Shifts in Plant Species Abundance and Phenology, Frontiers in Plant Science, https://doi.org/10.3389/fpls.2020.542125

Kontakt:

Josephine Ulrich
Doktorandin
Telefon
+49 3641 9-49267
Fax
+49 3641 9-49252
Otto-Renner-Villa, Raum 104
Philosophenweg 16
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang