Dr Helmar Görls studies single crystals of novel compounds using a X-ray diffractometer.

Teamwork in a molecule

Chemists at University of Jena harness synergy effect of gallium
Dr Helmar Görls studies single crystals of novel compounds using a X-ray diffractometer.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Research

Published: 20 January 2021, 12:00 | By: Marco Körner

Chemists at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena have demonstrated the value of “teamwork” by successfully harnessing the interaction between two gallium atoms in a novel compound to split the particularly strong bond between fluorine and carbon. The gallium compound is also cheaper and more environmentally friendly than conventional alternatives.

Sustainable and inexpensive

“Such reactions are usually carried out using transition metals, such as nickel or iridium,” explains Prof. Robert Kretschmer, Junior Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Jena, whose work has been published in the prestigious Journal of the American Chemical Society. “However, transition metals are expensive and harmful to the environment, both when they are mined and when they are used. Therefore, we are trying to find better alternatives.” That two metals can do more than one is already known in the case of transition metals. “However, there has been hardly any research on the more sustainable main-group metals of the periodic table,” Kretschmer adds.

Hand in hand

“Our compound contains two chemically identical gallium atoms,” says Kretschmer. “In tests with a series of fluorine-containing hydrocarbon compounds, we saw that these two atoms together are capable of removing a fluorine atom. Using X-ray structure analysis, we were able to prove that one gallium atom binds the fluorine and the other binds the other part of the hydrocarbon compound.” This is the first step needed for catalysis.

“Now that this step has been achieved, we can consider how to develop this concept further,” explains Kretschmer. “It would of course be desirable if, at the end, the reaction could be continued to achieve a complete catalytic cycle.” However, this will probably involve a different metal. Kretschmer notes: “Gallium as an element was a first step here. Our goal is ultimately to harness the metal that occurs most frequently on earth: aluminium.”

 

Information

Original publication

Oleksandr Kysliak, Helmar Görls and Robert Kretschmer, „Cooperative Bond Activation by a Bimetallic Main-Group Complex“, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2021, (143:1), 142–148.

DOI: 10.1021/jacs.0c12166

Contact:

Junior Professorship of Anorganic Chemistry of Catalysis
Robert Kretschmer, Juniorprof. Dr
Room 128
Humboldtstraße 8
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Dr. Helmar Görls untersucht mit einem Röntendiffraktometer Einkristalle von neuartigen Verbindungen.

Teamarbeit im Molekül

Chemiker der Universität Jena erschließen Synergieeffekt von Gallium
Dr. Helmar Görls untersucht mit einem Röntendiffraktometer Einkristalle von neuartigen Verbindungen.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 20. Januar 2021, 12:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Marco Körner

Gemeinsam lässt sich mehr erreichen als alleine. Diese alltägliche Erkenntnis haben Chemiker der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena nun erfolgreich auf eine Verbindung angewandt, die zwei Gallium-Atome enthält. Diese wirken so zusammen, dass sie die besonders starke Bindung zwischen Fluor und Kohlenstoff in anderen Substanzen spalten können. Die neuartige Galliumverbindung ist dabei günstiger und weniger umweltschädlich als die herkömmlichen Alternativen.

Nachhaltig und günstig

„Solche Reaktionen werden normalerweise mit sogenannten Übergangsmetallen durchgeführt, wie Nickel oder Iridium“, erklärt Prof. Dr. Robert Kretschmer, Juniorprofessor für Anorganische Chemie der Universität Jena, dessen Arbeit im renommierten Journal of the American Chemical Society publiziert wurde. „Übergangsmetalle sind aber teuer und umweltschädlich – auch in ihrer Gewinnung. Wir versuchen also, bessere Alternativen zu finden.“ Dass zwei Metalle mehr können als eines, ist für die Übergangsmetalle bereits bekannt. „Bei den nachhaltigeren Metallen der Hauptgruppen des Periodensystems ist das aber bisher kaum erforscht“, ergänzt Kretschmer.

Hand in Hand

„Unsere Verbindung enthält zwei chemisch identische Gallium-Atome“, so Kretschmer weiter. „Bei Tests mit einer Reihe von fluorhaltigen Kohlenwasserstoff-Verbindungen haben wir gesehen, dass diese beiden Atome gemeinsam in der Lage sind, ein Fluoratom zu entfernen. Mithilfe einer Röntgenstruktur-Analyse konnten wir belegen, dass ein Galliumatom das Fluor bindet und das andere den Rest der Kohlenwasserstoff-Verbindung.“ Das ist der erste Schritt, den es zu einer Katalyse braucht.

„Jetzt, wo dieser Schritt geschafft ist, können wir sehen, wie wir dieses Konzept weiterentwickeln“, erklärt der Chemiker. „Wünschenswert wäre es natürlich, wenn am Ende die Reaktion zu einem vollständigen Katalysezyklus weitergeführt werden kann.“ Allerdings wird dies wohl mit einem anderen Metall geschehen. Denn Kretschmer ergänzt: „Gallium als Element war hier ein erster Schritt. Unser Ziel ist es, schlussendlich das Metall nutzbar zu machen, das am häufigsten auf der Erde vorkommt: Aluminium.“

Information

Original-Publikation

Oleksandr Kysliak, Helmar Görls und Robert Kretschmer, „Cooperative Bond Activation by a Bimetallic Main-Group Complex“, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2021, (143:1), 142–148.

DOI: 10.1021/jacs.0c12166

Kontakt:

Juniorprofessur für Anorganische Chemie der Katalyse
Robert Kretschmer, Juniorprof. Dr.
Raum 128
Humboldtstraße 8
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang