Gathering and spreading light is one of the central moral concepts of the university.

Committed to an open and democratic society

University of Jena adopted new mission statement
Gathering and spreading light is one of the central moral concepts of the university.
Image: Jürgen Scheere (University of Jena)
  • Studies and Teaching

Published: 23 February 2021, 10:34 | By: Laura Weißert

In a meeting on Tuesday, 16 February, the University Senate adopted the new mission statement for Friedrich Schiller University Jena. This was preceded by a nine-month multi-stage discussion and participation process involving all groups at the university.

“The new mission statement is unmistakable,” says Prof Walter Rosenthal, President of Friedrich Schiller University Jena. "It raises our profile and serves as an orientation for research, teaching and studying as well as for working together at the university and in exchange with others."

Tailored to the University of Jena

“It was particularly important to us that the mission statement is closely linked to the University of Jena, tailor-made for it, so to speak,” explains educationalist and theologian Prof Ralf Koerrenz. Together with 12 other members of a Senate task force, he drafted the mission statement, which met with broad approval from the university’s staff and students.

The mission statement ties in with the three keywords Light, Life and Liberty, which also describe the interdisciplinary research profile of Friedrich Schiller University. “We realised that this distinction between Light, Life and Liberty can not only be understood as a classification of research areas, but can also be thought of in another, value-oriented, dimension,” adds Koerrenz.

Thus, each of the three keywords was translated into a central moral concept: gathering and spreading light (Light), preserving and nurturing life (Life) and protecting and shaping liberty (Liberty). The task force then used these abstract goals to develop practical guidelines that would provide a framework for the university’s conduct. 

Engaging in social debates

However, the university’s mission statement goes beyond research, teaching and interaction within the university. In a university-wide online survey that accompanied the mission statement process, 93% of the 720 respondents agreed that it was the university’s task to contribute to protecting human rights and human dignity in society.

Shaped by its eventful history and the appropriation of the university during the National Socialist and GDR periods, it is important to the members and affiliates of the University of Jena to engage in social debates.

“The discussion surrounding the draft mission statement has once again made it clear that as a university, we are obliged to speak out if the basic democratic values of our society are under attack,” says Rosenthal. This has already been done in the past, for example, when the Rektor’s office at the university took the initiative to establish a “Centre of Expertise on Right-Wing Extremism” (KomRex) in 2011 after the series of murders by the right-wing terrorist NSU group became publicly known. Funded by the Thuringian state government, KomRex continues to implement scientific results from research on right-wing extremism, democratisation, and social integration, together with partners from civil society and politics.

Recently, the university went public with its stance against racism. In September 2019, the Jena Declaration was adopted at the 112th Annual Meeting of the German Zoological Society, denouncing the term “race” as a racist construct. "With his division of humans into races, Jena professor Ernst Haeckel paved the way for the misanthropic racial typification under National Socialism. The development of the subjects of racial science and racial hygiene was advanced at the University of Jena in the 1930s. The university is therefore inextricably linked to the history of racism and has a special obligation to educate about racism and take action against it," Rosenthal explains. The rejection of racist discrimination was therefore explicitly included in the mission statement, which was wholeheartedly approved by the university’s Senators.

You can find the new mission statement here:  https://www.uni-jena.de/en/Leitbild

There is more on the development process and background to the text in the Uniblog.

Contact:

Katja Barbara Bär
Phone
+49 3641 9-401400 / 9-401401
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Licht gewinnen und verbreiten, gehört zu den zentralen Wertvorstellungen der Universität.

Der offenen und demokratischen Gesellschaft verpflichtet

Universität verabschiedet neues Leitbild
Licht gewinnen und verbreiten, gehört zu den zentralen Wertvorstellungen der Universität.
Foto: Jürgen Scheere (Universität Jena)
  • Studium & Lehre

Meldung vom: 23. Februar 2021, 10:34 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Laura Weißert

In seiner Sitzung am Dienstag, 16. Februar, hat der Senat das neue Leitbild für die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena verabschiedet. Vorausgegangen war ein mehrstufiger neunmonatiger Diskussions- und Beteiligungsprozess, der alle Gruppen der Universität einbezog.

Das neue Leitbild ist unverwechselbar“, sagt Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal, Präsident der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. „Es schärft unser Profil und dient uns als Orientierung beim Forschen, Lehren und Studieren ebenso wie beim Zusammenarbeiten an der Universität und im Austausch mit anderen.“

Maßgeschneidert für die Universität Jena

„Dass das Leitbild konkret auf die Universität Jena bezogen und quasi für sie maßgeschneidert ist, war uns besonders wichtig“, erläutert der Pädagoge und Theologe Professor Dr. Dr. Ralf Koerrenz. Gemeinsam mit zwölf weiteren Mitgliedern einer Senatsarbeitsgruppe hat er das Leitbild in einem Entwurf verschriftlicht, der bei den Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie den Studierenden der Universität auf breite Zustimmung gestoßen ist.

Das Leitbild knüpft an die drei Schlagworte Light, Life und Liberty an, die auch das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprofil der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität beschreiben. „Wir haben gemerkt, dass man diese Unterscheidung nach Light, Life und Liberty nicht nur als Gliederung von Forschungsbereichen verstehen kann, sondern sie auch in einer anderen Dimension, werteorientiert, denken kann“, erläutert Koerrenz.

So wurde jedes der drei Schlagworte in eine zentrale Wertvorstellung übersetzt: Licht gewinnen und verbreiten (Light), Leben wahren und fördern (Life) sowie Freiheit schützen und gestalten (Liberty). Aus diesen abstrakten Zielen leitete die Arbeitsgruppe dann konkrete Orientierungen ab, die dem Handeln der Universität einen Rahmen geben sollen.

In gesellschaftliche Debatten einmischen

Das Leitbild der Universität geht jedoch über Forschung, Lehre und das Miteinander in der Universität hinaus. In einer universitätsweiten Online-Umfrage, die den Leitbildprozess begleitete, stimmten 93 % der 720 Befragten zu, dass es Aufgabe der Universität sei, zur gesamtgesellschaftlichen Wahrung von Menschenrechten und Menschenwürde beizutragen.

Geprägt durch ihre wechselhafte Geschichte und die Vereinnahmung der Universität im Nationalsozialismus und während der DDR-Zeit, ist es den Mitgliedern und Angehörigen der Universität Jena wichtig, sich in gesellschaftliche Debatten einzumischen.

„Die Diskussion des Leitbildentwurfs hat noch einmal verdeutlicht: Als Universität sind wir verpflichtet, uns zu Wort zu melden, wenn die demokratischen Grundwerte unserer Gesellschaft angegriffen werden“, betont Rosenthal. Dies habe man auch in der Vergangenheit bereits getan, beispielsweise als das Rektorat der Universität 2011 nach Bekanntwerden der Mordserie des rechtsterroristischen NSU die Initiative zur Bildung eines „Kompetenzzentrums Rechtsextremismus“ (KomRex) ergriff. Gefördert durch die Thüringer Landesregierung bringt das KomRex bis heute wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse zur Rechtsextremismusforschung, Demokratiebildung und gesellschaftlichen Integration gemeinsam mit Partnerinnen und Partnern aus der Zivilgesellschaft und Politik in Anwendung.

In jüngster Zeit ist die Universität mit ihrer Positionierung gegen Rassismus an die Öffentlichkeit getreten: Im September 2019 wurde im Rahmen der 112. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Zoologischen Gesellschaft die Jenaer Erklärung verabschiedet, die den Begriff „Rasse“ als rassistisches Konstrukt aufdeckt. „Der Jenaer Professor Ernst Haeckel hat mit seiner Einteilung der Menschen in Rassen den Weg bereitet für die menschenfeindliche Rassetypisierung im Nationalsozialismus. Die Entwicklung der Fächer Rassenkunde und Rassenhygiene wurde in den 1930er-Jahren an der Universität Jena vorangetrieben. Die Universität ist daher mit der Geschichte des Rassismus untrennbar verbunden und besonders verpflichtet, über Rassismus aufzuklären und dagegen vorzugehen“, erklärt Rosenthal. Die Zurückweisung rassistischer Diskriminierung wurde daher im Leitbild mit großer Zustimmung der Senatorinnen und Senatoren der Universität explizit aufgenommen.

Das neue Leitbild finden Sie hier:  www.uni-jena.de/Leitbild

Mehr zum Entstehungsprozess und Hintergründe zum Text im Uniblog.

Kontakt:

Katja Barbara Bär
Pressesprecherin der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Telefon
+49 3641 9-401400
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang