Prof. Dr Winfried Plass (r.) and Benjamin Kintzel look at a crystal of a molecular nanomagnet.

Pioneering molecule on its way into quantum computers

Researchers from the University of Jena and University of Florence, develop cobalt compound with special quantum properties
Prof. Dr Winfried Plass (r.) and Benjamin Kintzel look at a crystal of a molecular nanomagnet.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Research

Published: 25 February 2021, 12:00 | By: Marco Körner

In quantum computers, instead of electrical circuits being switched on or off, quantum mechanical states are altered. For this, suitable chemical compounds are needed. A research team from the University of Jena and the University of Florence has now succeeded in producing such a compound. A special feature of this compound is that its quantum mechanical properties differ depending on the direction from which the compound is viewed.

“Directional” properties

“When I hold a crystal in my hand and look at it from different perspectives, it looks different on each side,” explains Benjamin Kintzel, who produced the substance at the Institute of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry at the University of Jena. “This is why it was such a success actually to be able to grow crystals of the new compound and study them. The molecules in a crystal are uniformly arranged. As a result, the quantum mechanical properties of the molecules also depend on how the entire crystal is oriented in space. Due to the differing orientation in space and the corresponding viewing angle, it is possible to study the special quantum mechanical effects precisely and from all sides.”

Electrically controllable quantum units

he effect studied by the team led by Prof. Winfried Plass from the University of Jena was the magnetic interaction between the electrons of three cobalt atoms arranged in an equilateral triangle in the novel molecule. They report on this in the renowned journal “Angewandte Chemie”.

“Put very simply, electrons are electrically charged quantum particles that move,” says Plass, describing the method used, which is also called electron spin resonance. “Their quantum mechanical states can be switched by magnetic fields. This can also be studied with electrons that are located in molecules. What is more, under certain conditions we can control this property by applying electric fields. This is a decisive advantage if it is to be used as a computing unit in a quantum computer in the future, because the technology to apply electric fields in a targeted manner is highly developed.”

Kintzel adds: “However, it is not the case that these computers would simply contain a crystal. Single molecules would suffice, arranged on a surface accordingly – and in our case also spatially oriented. From this, completely new properties could be discovered.” These perspectives can now be studied and understood in more detail using the new cobalt compound.

Information

Original publication: B. Kintzel, M. Fittipaldi, M. Böhme, A. Cini, L. Tesi, A. Buchholz, R. Sessoli, W. Plass: Spin‐Electric Coupling in a Cobalt(II)‐Based Spin Triangle Revealed by Electric Field‐Modulated ESR, Angewandte Chemie International Edition (2021). DOI: 10.1002/anie.202017116

Contact:

Winfried Plass, Prof. Dr
Professur für Anorganische Chemie II
Phone
+49 3641 9-48130
Humboldtstraße 8
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Winfried Plass (r.) und Benjamin Kintzel mit dem Kristall eines molekularen Nanomagneten.

Richtungsweisendes Molekül auf dem Weg in den Quantencomputer

Forschende der Universität Jena und Universität Florenz entwickeln Kobaltverbindung mit besonderen Quanten-Eigenschaften
Prof. Dr. Winfried Plass (r.) und Benjamin Kintzel mit dem Kristall eines molekularen Nanomagneten.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 25. Februar 2021, 12:00 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Marco Körner

In Quantencomputern werden keine elektrischen Schaltkreise ein- oder ausgeschaltet, sondern stattdessen quantenmechanische Zustände verändert. Dafür braucht es geeignete chemische Verbindungen. Einem Forschungsteam der Universität Jena und der Universität Florenz ist es nun gelungen, eine solche Verbindung herzustellen. Das Besondere daran: Ihre quantenmechanischen Eigenschaften sind unterschiedlich, je nachdem aus welcher Richtung auf die Verbindung geschaut wird.

„Richtungsweisende“ Eigenschaften

„Wenn ich einen Kristall in der Hand halte und aus verschiedenen Perspektiven betrachte, dann sieht er auf jeder Seite anders aus“, erklärt Benjamin Kintzel, der die Substanz am Institut für Anorganische und Analytische Chemie der Universität Jena hergestellt hat. „Deswegen war es auch so ein Erfolg, tatsächlich Kristalle der neuen Verbindung herzustellen und untersuchen zu können. Die Moleküle in einem Kristall sind regelmäßig angeordnet. Deshalb sind auch die quantenmechanischen Eigenschaften der Moleküle abhängig davon, wie der gesamte Kristall im Raum orientiert ist. Durch die unterschiedliche Orientierung im Raum und den entsprechenden Blickwinkel ist es möglich, die besonderen quantenmechanischen Effekte genau und von allen Seiten zu untersuchen.“

Elektrisch steuerbare Quantenbauteile

Der Effekt, den das Team um Prof. Dr. Winfried Plass von der Universität Jena untersuchte, war die magnetische Wechselwirkung zwischen den Elektronen dreier Kobalt-Atome, die in dem neuartigen Molekül zu einem gleichseitigen Dreieck angeordnet sind. Darüber berichten sie in der renommierten Fachzeitschrift „Angewandte Chemie“.

„Grob vereinfacht gesagt, sind Elektronen elektrisch geladene Quanten-Teilchen, die sich bewegen“, beschreibt Plass die verwendete Methode, die auch Elektronenspin-Resonanz genannt wird. „Ihre quantenmechanischen Zustände können durch magnetische Felder geschaltet werden. Das lässt sich auch bei Elektronen untersuchen, die sich in Molekülen befinden. Nicht nur das: Wir können diese Eigenschaft unter bestimmten Bedingungen durch das Anlegen von elektrischen Feldern steuern. Um sie künftig als Recheneinheit in einem Quantencomputer einzusetzen, ist das ein entscheidender Vorteil, denn die Technik, um elektrische Felder gezielt anzulegen, ist weit entwickelt.“

Kintzel ergänzt: „Es ist aber nicht so, dass in so einem Computer dann einfach ein Kristall stecken würde. Einzelne Moleküle würden genügen, die auf einer Oberfläche entsprechend angeordnet – und in unserem Fall auch räumlich orientiert – wären. Hieraus ließen sich noch einmal völlig neue Eigenschaften erschließen.“ Solche Perspektiven können nun anhand der neuen Kobaltverbindung genauer untersucht und verstanden werden.

Information

Original-Publikation: B. Kintzel, M. Fittipaldi, M. Böhme, A. Cini, L. Tesi, A. Buchholz, R. Sessoli, W. Plass: Spin‐Electric Coupling in a Cobalt(II)‐Based Spin Triangle Revealed by Electric Field‐Modulated ESR, Angewandte Chemie International Edition (2021). DOI: 10.1002/anie.202017116

Kontakt:

Winfried Plass, Prof. Dr.
Professur für Anorganische Chemie II
Telefon
+49 3641 9-48130
Humboldtstraße 8
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang