The Chair of the Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies Dr Gunda Huskobla

Working for the next generation of researchers in Europe

Dr Gunda Huskobla re-elected as Chair of the Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies
The Chair of the Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies Dr Gunda Huskobla
Image: Louisa Reichstetter

Published: 29 April 2021, 16:16

Dr Gunda Huskobla from Friedrich Schiller University Jena has been elected Chair of the Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies for the second time. This allows the administrative director of the Jena Graduate Academy to continue to be involved in shaping the situation of young researchers at the international level for the next two years.

"We have a committed and competent advocate for the interests of young researchers in Gunda Huskobla", says Vice President for Young Researchers and Equal Opportunities, Professor Dr Uwe Cantner. "Her commitment underlines our university's aim to improve the conditions of early-stage researchers beyond our own university and on the international level."

Responses to Covid-19 at European universities

The Coimbra Group is an association of the oldest and most prestigious universities in Europe. It consists of 41 universities from 23 countries. Since 1992, Friedrich Schiller University Jena has been a member of this group, which is considered one of the most important representatives of higher education policy at European level. 

In the Working Group Doctoral Studies, experts in doctoral education from all over Europe discuss developments in science policy. The working group advises the European Commission on policy decisions concerning the development of young researchers and the structure of funding programmes. Chaired by Dr Gunda Huskobla, the working group is currently developing a study on interdisciplinarity in doctoral research, organising the Three Minute Thesis competition and preparing a follow-up report on the longer-term impact of the Corona pandemic on universities, as well as a publication on the supervision relationship in the doctoral phase. Last year, the Coimbra Group published a first report on the responses to Covid-19 at European universities, which received much attention at the European level and to which Gunda Huskobla contributed significantly.

Working at the Graduate Academy since 10 years

The Graduate Academy of University of Jena has been working on many of these topics since its foundation in 2006. One of its most important goals is to improve the situation of young researchers. Dr Gunda Huskobla has been working at the Graduate Academy since 2011 and has been its managing director since 2016.

In Germany, the University of Jena is especially involved in the „German University Association of Advanced Graduate Training“ (UniWiND/GUAT). In this association, 75 universities have joined forces to optimise the conditions of doctoral candidates and postdocs. For the past eight years, Jena professor Erika Kothe has headed GUAT.

Information

For more information on the Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies: https://www.coimbra-group.eu/working-group/doctoral-studies/

Kontakt

Gunda Huskobla, Dr
Gunda Huskobla
Phone
+49 3641 9-401310
Fax
+49 3641 9-401302
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Die Vorsitzende der Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies Dr. Gunda Huskobla

Engagiert für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs Europas

Dr. Gunda Huskobla als Vorsitzende der Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies wiedergewählt
Die Vorsitzende der Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies Dr. Gunda Huskobla
Foto: Louisa Reichstetter
  • Preise & Personalia

Meldung vom: 29. April 2021, 16:01 Uhr

Dr. Gunda Huskobla von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena wurde zum zweiten Mal zur Vorsitzenden der Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies gewählt. Somit gestaltet die Geschäftsführerin der Jenaer Graduierten-Akademie auch in den kommenden zwei Jahren die Situation des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses auf internationaler Ebene mit. 

„Mit Gunda Huskobla haben wir eine engagierte und kompetente Streiterin für die Interessen junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler“, sagt der Vizepräsident für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und Gleichstellung Prof. Dr. Uwe Cantner. „Ihr Engagement untermauert den Anspruch unserer Universität, über die eigene Hochschule hinaus im Rahmen internationaler Netzwerke die Bedingungen junger Menschen zu verbessern, die am Anfang einer möglichst langen Forschungslaufbahn stehen.“

Umgang mit Covid-19 an europäischen Hochschulen

Die Coimbra-Group ist ein Zusammenschluss der ältesten und renommiertesten Universitäten Europas. Sie besteht aus 41 Universitäten aus 23 Ländern. Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena ist seit 1992 Mitglied dieser Gruppe, die als eine der wichtigsten hochschulpolitischen Vertretungen auf europäischer Ebene gilt.  

In der Working Group diskutieren Expertinnen und Experten der Doktorandenausbildung aus ganz Europa über Entwicklungen in der Wissenschaftspolitik. Die Arbeitsgruppe berät die Europäische Kommission bei politischen Entscheidungen, die die Entwicklung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und die Ausgestaltung von Förderprogrammen betreffen. Unter Leitung von Dr. Gunda Huskobla entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe aktuell eine Studie zur Interdisziplinarität bei Promotionen, organisiert den Three-Minute-Thesis-Wettbewerb und erarbeitet einen Folgebericht über die längerfristigen Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie auf Universitäten sowie eine Publikation zum Betreuungsverhältnis in der Promotion. Im vergangenen Jahr veröffentlichte die Coimbra Group einen ersten und auf europäischer Ebene  vielbeachteten Bericht über den Umgang mit Covid-19 an europäischen Universitäten, an dem Gunda Huskobla maßgeblich mitwirkte.

Seit zehn Jahren Teil der Graduierten-Akademie

Die Graduierten-Akademie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena beschäftigt sich bereits seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2006 mit vielen dieser Themen. Eines ihrer wichtigsten Ziele ist dabei die Verbesserung der Situation des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Dr. Gunda Huskobla arbeitet seit 2011 an der Graduierten-Akademie und ist seit 2016 deren Geschäftsführerin.

In Deutschland engagiert sich die Universität Jena besonders im „Universitätsverband zur Qualifizierung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in Deutschland“ (UniWiND). In diesem Verband haben sich 75 Hochschulen zusammengeschlossen, um die Bedingungen von Promovierenden und Postdocs zu optimieren. Seit acht Jahren leitet die Jenaer Professorin Erika Kothe UniWiND.

Information

Weitere Informationen zur Coimbra Working Group Doctoral Studies sind zu finden unter: https://www.coimbra-group.eu/working-group/doctoral-studies/

Kontakt

Gunda Huskobla, Dr.
Gunda Huskobla
Telefon
+49 3641 9-401310
Fax
+49 3641 9-401302
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang