Calopteryx virgo breeds in rivers and streams and has been increasing since 1980 in Germany.

Dragonflies: Species Losses and Gains in Germany

Some dragonfly and damselfly species suffer from habitat loss and degradation, while many species benefit from improved water quality and warmer climate
Calopteryx virgo breeds in rivers and streams and has been increasing since 1980 in Germany.
Image: Andre Günther
  • Life
  • Research

Published: 14 June 2021, 11:16 | By: Kati Kietzmann

Over the past 35 years, there have been large shifts in the distributions of many dragonfly and damselfly species in Germany. Many species of standing water habitats have declined, probably due to loss of habitat. On the other hand, running-water species, living in rivers and creeks, and warm-adapted species have benefited from improved water quality and warmer temperatures. This was found by a team of researchers led by the German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv), the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena and the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ). The study, published in "Diversity and Distributions", highlights the importance of citizen science and natural history societies for long-term data collection and nature conservation efforts for improving biodiversity.

Germany is a hotspot for dragonflies and damselflies (Odonata) species in Europe, owing to the range of habitats and climates that it provides. While many recent and mostly small-scale studies suggest long-term declines of insect populations in different parts of Europe, studies of freshwater insects – including dragonflies and damselflies – suggest that some species have increased in occurrence. German Researchers have now provided a nationwide analysis of the occurrence and distribution of dragonflies and damselflies in Germany between 1980 and 2016. For this, they analysed over 1 million occurrence records on 77 species from different regional databases, most of which were collected by citizen scientists and collated by the natural history society of German speaking odonatologists (GdO).

Habitat loss threatens species of standing waterbodies

The researchers found both losses and gains, but are concerned about the decline of species using standing water habitats. Decreases were observed in 29 % of species, mainly in cold-adapted species that prefer standing water habitats such as bogs and fens. Many of these species are already threatened with extinction. These species rely on small or shallow waterbodies, which have been vulnerable to droughts and lower groundwater levels. “These species are suffering a lot from habitat loss and degradation. Here, we are still facing serious conservation challenges,” said first author Dr. Diana Bowler.

Overall, the analysis suggests that cold-adapted habitat specialists of standing water habitats are likely to be most vulnerable to further environmental change, including climate change.

Warm-adapted and running-water species on the rise

By contrast, the study results show increases in the occurrence of 45 % of all species, in general warm-adapted species. “Formerly rare species such as Crocothemis erythraea and Erythromma viridulum have become much more common across Germany,” said Diana Bowler. “These species prefer warmer temperatures and so their increase in Germany is most probably an outcome of long-term climate change.”

Among the winners were also running-water species, which signals the conservation success that can be achieved by better environmental management. “The increase of these species reflects a recovery from the impacts of past water pollution and the almost complete destruction of natural floodplains”, said Klaus-Jürgen Conze, chair GdO. In Germany, projects to improve freshwater quality and river restoration were initiated in the 1990s and the EU Water Framework Directive was adopted in 2000.

Great value of citizen science efforts

A large share of the data was collected by citizen scientists and natural history societies, such as the GdO. “Our study highlights the great value of these monitoring efforts for assessing changes in species’ occurrences. We found some signs of accelerating declines in the last decade, which highlights the need to support the efforts of these societies in the future”, said senior author Prof. Dr Aletta Bonn.

This study was inter alia financed by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; FZT-118), as part of “sMon - Biodiversity Trends in Germany”. sMon is an iDiv synthesis project with the aim of bringing together exemplary data sets on a variety of taxa and habitats in order to explore the possibilities for, and limitations of the analysis of changes in biodiversity. Based on this, prospects for future monitoring programmes in Germany are to be determined. sMon brings together government representatives from all federal states, scientists and members of various professional associations.

Information

Original publication:

Diana E. Bowler, David Eichenberg, Klaus-Jürgen Conze, Frank Suhling, Kathrin Baumann, Theodor Benken, André Bönsel, Torsten Bittner, Arne Drews, André Günther, Nick J.B. Isaac, Falk Petzold, Marcel Seyring, Torsten Spengler, Bernd Trockur, Christoph Willigalla, Helge Bruelheide, Florian Jansen, Aletta Bonn (2021): Winners and loser over 35 years of dragonfly and damselfly distributional change in Germany. Biodiversity and Distribution, https://doi.org/10.1111/ddi.13274

Contact

Diana Bowler
Mobile phone
+49 341 9733199
Deutsches Zentrum für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv) Halle-Jena-Leipzig, Room 2.148
Puschstraße 4
04103 Leipzig
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Die Blauflügel-Prachtlibelle hält sich vor allem an Flüssen und Bächen auf.

Libellen: Gewinner und Verlierer in Deutschland

Einige Libellenarten leiden unter dem Verlust ihres Lebensraumes, während andere Arten von verbesserter Wasserqualität und wärmerem Klima profitieren
Die Blauflügel-Prachtlibelle hält sich vor allem an Flüssen und Bächen auf.
Foto: Andre Günther
  • Life
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: 14. Juni 2021, 11:16 Uhr | Verfasser/in: Kati Kietzmann

In den vergangenen 35 Jahren hat sich bei der Verteilung der Libellenarten in Deutschland viel getan. So wurden Rückgänge vor allem bei Arten an stehenden Gewässern verzeichnet. Zuwächse gab es hingegen bei Libellen, die an Fließgewässern leben und wärmere Temperaturen bevorzugen. Zu diesen Ergebnissen kommt eine Studie unter Leitung des Deutschen Zentrums für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv), der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und des Helmholtz-Zentrums für Umweltforschung (UFZ). Die Studie, die im Fachmagazin "Diversity and Distributions" veröffentlich wurde, unterstreicht die Bedeutung von Bürgerwissenschaften und Naturkundegesellschaften für die Datenerhebung sowie von Naturschutzmaßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Biodiversität.

Deutschland ist das Land mit den meisten Libellenarten in Europa, was vor allem an der Vielfalt von Lebensräumen und Klimata hierzulande liegt. Während viele aktuelle und vor allem lokal angelegte Studien auf einen langfristigen Rückgang der Insektenpopulationen in verschiedenen Teilen Europas hinweisen, zeigen Untersuchungen der Frischwasserinsekten – einschließlich der Libellen – bei einigen Arten einen gegensätzlichen Trend. Ein Forschungsteam hat nun eine landesweite Untersuchung des Vorkommens und der Verbreitung von Libellen in Deutschland vorgestellt, die sich auf den Zeitraum von 1980 bis 2016 bezieht. Dafür analysierte das Team über eine Million Dateneinträge zum Vorkommen von 77 Arten aus verschiedenen regionalen Datenbanken. Die meisten Daten wurden von ehrenamtlichen Bürgerforschenden gesammelt und von der Gesellschaft deutschsprachiger Odonatologen (GdO) zusammengeführt.

Verlust von Lebensraum gefährdet Arten an stehenden Gewässern

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler stellten sowohl Zu- als auch Abnahmen fest. Besorgt zeigen sie sich über den Rückgang bei Arten, die an stehenden Gewässern leben. Abnahmen wurden bei 29 % aller Libellenarten festgestellt. Besonders betroffen sind dabei die Arten, die kühlere Temperaturen und stehende Gewässer wie Sümpfe und Moore bevorzugen. Viele dieser Arten sind bereits gefährdet. Sie sind auf kleine oder flache Gewässer angewiesen, die durch Trockenheit und niedrige Grundwasserspiegel immer seltener werden. „Diese Arten leiden sehr unter dem Rückgang ihres Lebensraumes. Hier sehen wir noch immer große Herausforderungen für den Schutz und Erhalt dieser Habitate“, sagt Erstautorin Dr. Diana Bowler.

Die Studie legt nahe, dass vor allem Libellenarten, die an kühlere Temperaturen und stehende Gewässer angepasst sind, durch weitere Umweltveränderungen einschließlich den Klimawandeln besonders gefährdet sind.

Wärmeliebende und Fließgewässer-Arten auf dem Vormarsch

Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen Zuwächse beim Vorkommen von 45 % aller Libellenarten, größtenteils handelt es sich dabei um wärmeliebende Arten. „Bislang seltene Arten wie die Feuerlibelle und das Kleine Granatauge sind mittlerweile in Deutschland viel häufiger geworden“, meint Diana Bowler. „Diese Arten bevorzugen wärmere Temperaturen, ihre Zuwächse in Deutschland liegen also höchstwahrscheinlich am langfristigen Klimawandel.

Unter den Gewinnern sind auch Arten an Fließgewässern, was auf erste Erfolge entsprechender Schutzmaßnahmen hindeutet, die durch besseres Umweltmanagement erzielt wurden. „Die Zuwächse bei diesen Arten zeigen eine Erholung von den Auswirkungen früherer Wasserverschmutzung und der fast vollständigen Zerstörung natürlicher Flussauen“, sagt Klaus-Jürgen Conze, Vorsitzender der GdO. In Deutschland wurden erste Projekte zur Verbesserung der Frischwasserqualität und zum Schutz von Fließgewässern bereits in den 1990ern ins Leben gerufen. Die EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie wurde im Jahr 2000 verabschiedet.

Wertvoller Beitrag durch Ehrenamtliche

Ein Großteil der Daten wurde von ehrenamtlichen Bürgerwissenschaftlern und -wissenschaftlerinnen sowie Naturkundegesellschaften wie der GdO zusammengetragen. „Unsere Studie unterstreicht den großen Beitrag, den dieses Engagement und die Fachexpertise dabei leisten, das Vorkommen von Arten zu untersuchen. Unsere Ergebnisse deuten auf einen stärkeren Rückgang in den letzten zehn Jahren hin, was deutlich macht, wie wichtig die Unterstützung durch Fachgesellschaften und Bürgerwissenschaften auch in der Zukunft sein wird“, sagt Letztautorin Prof. Dr. Aletta Bonn.

Diese Studie wurde u. a. durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; FZT 118) im Rahmen des Projektes “sMon - Biodiversitätstrends in Deutschland” gefördert. sMon ist ein iDiv-Syntheseprojekt mit dem Ziel, exemplarische Datensätze zu verschiedenen Taxa und Habitaten zusammenzuführen und die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen für die Analyse von Biodiversitätsveränderungen auszuloten. Darauf aufbauend sollen Perspektiven für zukünftige Monitoring-Programme in Deutschland abgeleitet werden. sMon bringt Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Landesämter aller Bundesländer, Mitglieder verschiedener Fachgesellschaften sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zusammen.

Information

Original-Publikation:

Diana E. Bowler, David Eichenberg, Klaus-Jürgen Conze, Frank Suhling, Kathrin Baumann, Theodor Benken, André Bönsel, Torsten Bittner, Arne Drews, André Günther, Nick J.B. Isaac, Falk Petzold, Marcel Seyring, Torsten Spengler, Bernd Trockur, Christoph Willigalla, Helge Bruelheide, Florian Jansen, Aletta Bonn (2021): Winners and loser over 35 years of dragonfly and damselfly distributional change in Germany. Biodiversity and Distribution, https://doi.org/10.1111/ddi.13274

Kontakt

Diana Bowler
Handy
+49 341 9733199
Deutsches Zentrum für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv) Halle-Jena-Leipzig, Raum 2.148
Puschstraße 4
04103 Leipzig
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang