University President Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal.

Solidarity with the Ukrainian universities and their members

Friedrich Schiller University reacts with concern to the Russian attack on Ukraine
University President Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • International Affairs

Published: | By: Katja B. Bär

The President of Friedrich Schiller University Jena reacts with concern to the Russian attack on Ukraine: "This day represents a turning point. Our thoughts are with the people in Ukraine and especially with the members of the Ukrainian universities. We also express our solidarity to our staff and students from Ukraine and their families," said University President Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal.

"The invasion of Ukraine breaks with the values that form the foundation of enlightenment and science," Rosenthal said. Last year, the University of Jena adopted a new mission statement that invokes these values and sees the university as having a responsibility to intervene in public debates when its elementary principles are under attack.

Currently, the University of Jena maintains seven active institutional cooperations in research and teaching with Ukraine in a broad range of subjects. In addition, there are numerous exchange relationships through the EU's Erasmus+ programme. In the winter semester 2021/22, 97 students from Ukraine are enrolled at the university. There are currently no students from Jena in Ukraine.

In consultation with the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the German Rectors' Conference, of which Prof. Rosenthal is Vice-President for Research, the university will monitor the development of the war and examine how academic cooperation with Ukraine - but also with Russia - can be shaped. The University wants to maintain scientific relations and exchange relations with its partners in Ukraine, where possible, in order to provide assistance.

Panel discussion on the situation in Ukraine

In a discussion with experts from different fields, the Imre Kertész Kolleg Jena asks on 28. February from 6 pm about the causes and consequences of the recent developments, informs about the background and discusses possible scenarios for the future.

On the panel of the public event:

  • Dr. Viktoriya Sereda
  • Katja Glybovskaya
  • Dr. Immo Rebitschek
  • Prof. Dr Rafael Biermann
  • Prof. Dr Joachim von Puttkamer

The event will take place in presence in lecture hall 3 at Carl-Zeiß-Str. 3 in german language. The 2G regulation applies.

A livestream of the event can be accessed on 28.02.2022 from 18.00 at the following website: https://www.imre-kertesz-kolleg.uni-jena.de/.

Universitätspräsident Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal.

Solidarität mit den ukrainischen Hochschulen und ihren Mitgliedern

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität reagiert mit Besorgnis auf den russischen Angriff auf die Ukraine
Universitätspräsident Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Internationales

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Katja B. Bär

Der Präsident der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena reagiert mit Besorgnis auf den russischen Angriff auf die Ukraine: „Dieser Tag stellt eine Zäsur dar. Unsere Gedanken sind bei den Menschen in der Ukraine und besonders bei den Mitgliedern der ukrainischen Hochschulen. Auch unseren aus der Ukraine stammenden Mitarbeitenden und Studierenden und ihren Familien sprechen wir unsere Solidarität aus“, sagte Universitätspräsident Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal.

Die Invasion in die Ukraine bricht mit den Werten, die das Fundament der Aufklärung und der Wissenschaft bilden“, sagte Rosenthal. Die Universität Jena hat sich im vergangenen Jahr ein neues Leitbild gegeben, das sich auf diese Werte beruft und die Universität in der Verantwortung zur Einmischung in öffentliche Debatten sieht, wenn ihre elementaren Grundsätze angegriffen werden.

Derzeit pflegt die Universität Jena sieben rege institutionelle Kooperationen in Forschung und Lehre mit der Ukraine in einem breiten Fächerspektrum. Dazu bestehen zahlreiche Austauschbeziehungen über das EU-Programm Erasmus+. Im Wintersemester 2021/22 sind 97 Studierende aus der Ukraine an der Universität eingeschrieben. Aktuell befinden sich keine Studierenden aus Jena in der Ukraine.

In Abstimmung mit dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) und der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz, deren Präsidium Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal als Vizepräsident für Forschung angehört, werde man die Entwicklung des Krieges beobachten und prüfen, wie die Wissenschaftskooperationen mit der Ukraine – aber auch mit Russland – gestaltet werden können. Die Universität wolle die wissenschaftlichen Beziehungen und die Austauschbeziehungen mit den Partnern in der Ukraine weiter aufrechterhalten, wo dies möglich ist, um so auch Beistand zu leisten.

Podiumsdiskussion zur Lage in der Ukraine

Im Gespräch mit Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen fragt das Imre Kertész Kolleg Jena am 28. Februar ab 18 Uhr nach den Ursachen und Folgen der jüngsten Entwicklungen, informiert über die Hintergründe und diskutiert mögliche Szenarien für die Zukunft.

Auf dem Podium der öffentlichen Veranstaltung:

  • Dr. Viktoriya Sereda
  • Katja Glybowskaja
  • Dr. Immo Rebitschek
  • Prof. Dr. Rafael Biermann
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim von Puttkamer

Die Veranstaltung findet in Präsenz im Hörsaal 3 in der Carl-Zeiß-Str. 3 statt. Es gilt die 2G Regelung.

Ein Livestream der Veranstaltung kann am 28.02.2022 ab 18.00 Uhr unter folgender Webseite abgerufen werden: https://www.imre-kertesz-kolleg.uni-jena.de/