For his research project, “InspiReM”, Sebastiano Bernuzzi is receiving a Consolidator Grant.

Colliding neutron stars and their remnants

Prof. Sebastiano Bernuzzi of the University of Jena receives European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator Grant
For his research project, “InspiReM”, Sebastiano Bernuzzi is receiving a Consolidator Grant.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Research

Published: | By: Ute Schönfelder

They are among the most extreme and most complex events in the universe: collisions of neutron stars. When two of these highly compact and massive celestial bodies merge, space-time becomes highly distorted and matter reaches densities and temperatures that cannot be reproduced in any laboratory experiment. In the process, high-energy radiation and matter are hurled into space. The collision is so violent that it can be observed from Earth – even over millions of light years – as both gravitational waves and light.

“Such events are unique astrophysical laboratories,” says Prof. Sebastiano Bernuzzi of Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The 40-year-old researcher and his team from the Institute for Theoretical Physics are developing theoretical models with which the dynamics of such cosmic collisions can be understood and data observed can be explained. For his current research project, “InspiReM”, Sebastiano Bernuzzi is receiving funding from the European Research Council (ERC) – a Consolidator Grant totalling almost two million euros over the next five years.

“It’s the most ambitious project of my scientific career so far,” says Bernuzzi, who was awarded an ERC Starting Grant in 2017. He feels honoured that his study is now one of the projects selected to receive the ERC’s most important funding and also the EU’s highest award for top researchers. “I’m excited, and at the same time determined, to push my research to the highest possible level,” adds Bernuzzi.

Predicting gravitational and electromagnetic waves with the help of Einstein’s theory of relativity

Bernuzzi’s working group at the University of Jena is already a leader in the field of numerical simulation of neutron star mergers. To this end, the researchers use Germany’s largest supercomputers at the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (Munich) and the HRLS (Stuttgart) to make detailed predictions for gravitational waves and electromagnetic observations emanating from such events, by solving Einstein’s theory of general relativity. “By simulating what happens to space-time as stars merge, we can create detailed models for interpreting the radiation we observe,” says Bernuzzi. Just recently, Bernuzzi was part of an international team analysing data recorded by the NASA X-ray Observatory “Chandra” during the merger of two neutron stars in object GW170817.

Bernuzzi and his team want to use the InspiReM project (“Modeling binary neutron star from inspirals to remnants and their multimessenger emissions”) not only to focus on gravitational waves, but also to study the remnants of past stellar mergers and the outflows of material from them. The unique matter conditions in the outflows are such that heavy elements – gold or uranium, for example – may be created there. The ERC funding will enable Bernuzzi to strengthen his team with the best researchers from all over the world. Part of the money will also go towards further high-performance computing technology for the university computer centre, without which his complex simulations would not be possible.  

Contact:

WG Gravitational Theory
Sebastiano Bernuzzi, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Abbeanum, Room 209
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena

Für sein Projekt „InspiReM“ wird Sebastiano Bernuzzi mit einem „Consolidator Grant“ gefördert.

Kollidierende Neutronensterne und was von ihnen bleibt

Prof. Dr. Sebastiano Bernuzzi von der Universität Jena erhält ein „Consolidator Grant“ des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC)
Für sein Projekt „InspiReM“ wird Sebastiano Bernuzzi mit einem „Consolidator Grant“ gefördert.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder

Sie gehören zu den extremsten und komplexesten Ereignissen des Universums: Kollisionen von Neutronensternen. Verschmelzen zwei dieser hochkompakten und massereichen Himmelskörper, wird die Raumzeit enorm verzerrt; die Materie erreicht Dichten und Temperaturen, die in keinem Laborexperiment reproduzierbar sind. Bei der Kollision werden hochenergetische Strahlung und Materie in den Weltraum geschleudert. Sie ist so heftig, dass sie von der Erde aus – selbst über Millionen Lichtjahre hinweg – sowohl als Gravitationswellen als auch als Licht beobachtet werden kann.

„Solche Ereignisse sind einzigartige astrophysikalische Laboratorien“, sagt Prof. Dr. Sebastiano Bernuzzi von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Der 40-jährige Forscher und sein Team vom Theoretisch-Physikalischen Institut entwickeln theoretische Modelle, mit denen sich die Dynamik solcher kosmischer Kollisionen nachvollziehen und Beobachtungsdaten erst erklären lassen. Für sein aktuelles Forschungsvorhaben „InspiReM“ wird Sebastiano Bernuzzi vom Europäischen Forschungsrat (European Research Council, ERC) mit einem sogenannten „Consolidator Grant“ gefördert und erhält dafür in den kommenden fünf Jahren knapp zwei Millionen Euro.

„Es ist das ambitionierteste Projekt meiner bisherigen wissenschaftlichen Karriere“, sagt Bernuzzi, der 2017 bereits mit einem ERC „Starting Grant“ gefördert wurde. Er fühle sich geehrt, dass sein Projekt nun zu den ausgewählten Vorhaben gehöre, denen der ERC die wichtigste Förderung und zugleich höchstdotierte Auszeichnung der EU für Spitzenforschende vergibt. „Ich bin begeistert und zugleich entschlossen, meine Forschung auf dem höchstmöglichen Level voranzutreiben.“

Mit Hilfe von Einsteins Relativitätstheorie Gravitations- und elektromagnetische Wellen vorhersagen

Bernuzzis Arbeitsgruppe an der Universität Jena gehört schon jetzt zu den führenden auf dem Gebiet der numerischen Simulation von Neutronensternverschmelzungen. Die Forschenden nutzen dafür die größten Supercomputer Deutschlands, etwa am Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (München) und an der HRLS (Stuttgart), um mit Hilfe von Einsteins Allgemeiner Relativitätstheorie detaillierte Vorhersagen für Gravitationswellen und elektromagnetische Beobachtungen zu machen, die von solchen Ereignissen ausgehen. „Indem wir simulieren, was mit der Raumzeit während der Verschmelzung der Sterne passiert, können wir detaillierte Modelle für die Interpretation der Strahlung erstellen, die wir beobachten“. Erst kürzlich war Bernuzzi als Teil eines internationalen Teams an der Analyse von Daten beteiligt, die das NASA-Röntgenobservatorium „Chandra“ bei der Verschmelzung zweier Neutronensterne im Objekt GW170817 aufgenommen hat.

Mit dem Projekt InspiReM („Modeling binary neutron star from inspirals to remnants and their multimessenger emissions”) wollen sich Bernuzzi und sein Team nicht nur auf Gravitationswellen konzentrieren, sondern auch die Überreste vergangener Sternverschmelzungen und die von ihnen ausgehenden Materialausströmungen untersuchen. Die Bedingungen in diesen Ausströmungen sind einzigartig – dort entstehen schwere Elemente, wie Gold oder Uran.

Mit der ERC-Förderung kann Bernuzzi sein Team jetzt mit den besten Forschenden aus der ganzen Welt verstärken. Ein Teil der Gelder soll auch in weitere Hochleistungsrechentechnik für das Universitätsrechenzentrum fließen, ohne die seine komplexen Simulationen nicht möglich wären.

Kontakt:

AG Gravitationstheorie
Sebastiano Bernuzzi, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Abbeanum, Raum 209
Fröbelstieg 1
07743 Jena