Cultures of the green alga C. reinhardtii: wild type (l.), mutant lacking a specific cryptochrome.

Fitness needs the right timing

Research team studies molecular components of the endogenous clock in the green lineage
Cultures of the green alga C. reinhardtii: wild type (l.), mutant lacking a specific cryptochrome.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Life
  • Research

Published: | By: Ute Schönfelder

Life on Earth runs in 24-hour cycles. From tiny bacteria to human beings, organisms adapt to alterations of day and night. External factors, such as changes in light and temperature, are needed to entrain the clock. Many metabolic processes are controlled by the endogenous clock. Scientists at the University of Jena have now studied the molecular rhythms of the endogenous clock in the “green lineage”. In a current publication in the journal “Plant Physiology”, the team led by Prof. Maria Mittag of the Matthias Schleiden Institute provides an overview of their genetic basis.

The “green lineage” encompasses green algae, mosses, ferns, gymnosperms and flowering plants. These organisms produce a significant part of the oxygen on Earth and are therefore essential to all other living creatures. Photosynthesis by these green organisms – the conversion of CO2 and water into glucose and oxygen – depends on light, so that good timing of these processes is crucial. Plants prepare for the daylight period even before sunrise and can thus use the light phase most efficiently to achieve optimum yields of photosynthesis and other metabolic pathways. As a result, they grow better and survive competitors. “The fitness of photosynthetic organisms depends on the integrity of their endogenous clocks,” says Maria Mittag. The professor of general botany and her team have therefore investigated how the endogenous clock has developed during the evolution of organisms in the green lineage. To this end, the researchers studied the clock genes of various model organisms from the green lineage, starting with single-celled organisms such as the green alga Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, through the liverwort Marchantia polymorpha, to higher plants, such as thale cress, Arabidopsis thaliana.

Cryptochromes are “conserved” in evolution

The researchers found that there are some genes involved in circadian rhythms that occur in all studied organisms of the green lineage, while other clock genes differ significantly. Among the genes of the endogenous clock that have been “conserved” throughout evolution are cryptochromes. These are receptor molecules with which land plants sense blue light. “Cryptochromes are important for the entrainment and regulation of the circadian clock; they play this role not only in land plants and algae, but also in fungi, insects and mammals,” says Dr Jan Petersen, member of the research team and first author of the current review paper. So far, Maria Mittag’s team has studied cryptochromes in the model organism Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Its genome even encodes four different cryptochromes. While two of these cryptochromes are involved in the circadian clock, the function of the other two was still unknown.

To analyse the role of one of these cryptochromes with unknown function in detail, the Jena research team compared wild type algal cells with mutants in which the gene for this receptor molecule was knocked out. “We were able to determine that the mutant algae grow significantly more slowly than wild type algal cells,” says doctoral student Anxhela Rredhi.

The newly studied cryptochrome influences cell structures responsible for photosynthesis

However, we were surprised that the mutant algae were greener than the wild type algae,” says Anxhela Rredhi. More colour in the form of green pigments should actually result in better photosynthesis and thus increased growth, as these molecules capture the light for photosynthesis. Finally, the researchers found an explanation. Using electron microscopy, they could see that the cell membranes in which photosynthesis takes place are more densely packed without the cryptochrome than in wild type cells. “On the one hand, this makes the algae appear darker green,” explains Dr Petersen. “On the other hand, it causes the cells to shade each other more, so there is simply less light reaching the inner membranes, which has a negative effect on algal growth.”

It is currently unclear how exactly the recently studied cryptochrome influences these cell structures. The research team will now investigate whether it also plays a role in the circadian clock.

Dr. Jan Petersen (m.) and the doctoral students Julie Szyttenholm (l.) and Anxhela Rredhi (r.) are among the authors of the publication on the evolution of the internal clock in the green lineage, which has now been published in the journal "Plant Physiology". They present some of the model organisms of their study: the thale cress Arabidopsis thaliana, the fountain liverwort Marchantia polymorpha and the flagellated green alga Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Dr. Jan Petersen (m.) and the doctoral students Julie Szyttenholm (l.) and Anxhela Rredhi (r.) are among the authors of the publication on the evolution of the internal clock in the green lineage, which has now been published in the journal "Plant Physiology". They present some of the model organisms of their study: the thale cress Arabidopsis thaliana, the fountain liverwort Marchantia polymorpha and the flagellated green alga Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
Information

Original publication: Jan Petersen et al. Evolution of circadian clocks along the green lineage, Plant Physiology (2022), DOI: 10.1093/plphys/kiac141, https://academic.oup.com/plphys/advance-article/doi/10.1093/plphys/kiac141/6553044  

Earlier publication: Anxhela Rredhi et al. DASH cryptochrome 1, a UV-A receptor, balances the photosynthetic machinery of Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, New Phytologist (2021) 232:610–624, DOI: 10.1111/nph.17603, https://nph.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1111/nph.17603

Contact:

Room 108
Am Planetarium 1
07743 Jena

Kulturen der Grünalge C. reinhardtii: Wildtyp (l.) und Mutante ohne ein bestimmtes Cryptochrom (r.)

Fitness ist auch eine Frage des Timings

Forschungsteam untersucht die molekularen Taktgeber für die innere Uhr der „grünen Lebenslinie“
Kulturen der Grünalge C. reinhardtii: Wildtyp (l.) und Mutante ohne ein bestimmtes Cryptochrom (r.)
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Life
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Ute Schönfelder

Alles Leben auf der Erde verläuft im 24-Stunden-Takt: Von den kleinsten Bakterien bis zu den Menschen passen sich Organismen an den Wechsel von Tag und Nacht an. Dabei helfen ihnen die Wahrnehmung äußerer Faktoren, wie Licht und Temperatur, und deren Wechsel im Tag-Nacht-Verlauf. Zusätzlich werden Stoffwechselprozesse von einer inneren Uhr gesteuert. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universität Jena haben jetzt die molekularen Taktgeber der inneren Uhr in der „grünen Lebenslinie“ untersucht. In einer aktuellen Publikation im Fachmagazin „Plant Physiology“ gibt das Team um Prof. Dr. Maria Mittag vom Matthias-Schleiden-Institut einen Überblick über deren genetische Grundlagen.

Die „grüne Lebenslinie“ umfasst Grünalgen, Moose, Farne, Nacktsamer und Blütenpflanzen. Diese Organismen produzieren einen wesentlichen Anteil des Sauerstoffs auf der Erde und sind somit für alle anderen Lebewesen von grundlegender Bedeutung. Die Fotosynthese dieser grünen Organismen – die Umwandlung von CO2 und Wasser in Glukose und Sauerstoff – ist von Licht abhängig und damit ist ein gutes Timing dieser Prozesse entscheidend. Denn: Pflanzen, die sich auf die Tageslichtperiode bereits vor Sonnenaufgang vorbereiten und diese effektiv ausnutzen, können die Fotosynthese und andere Stoffwechselwege optimal betreiben. Sie wachsen dadurch besser und haben einen Überlebensvorteil gegenüber anderen. „Die Fitness der Fotosynthese betreibenden Organismen hängt also auch davon ab, wie gut ihre innere Uhr funktioniert“, sagt Maria Mittag. Die Professorin für Allgemeine Botanik und ihr Team sind daher der Frage nachgegangen, wie sich die innere Uhr im Laufe der Evolution der grünen Organismen entwickelt hat. Dafür haben die Forschenden die Gene von unterschiedlichen Modellorganismen aus der grünen Abstammungslinie untersucht: angefangen von Einzellern, wie der Grünalge Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, über das Brunnenlebermoos Marchantia polymorpha bis zu höheren Pflanzen, wie der Acker-Schmalwand Arabidopsis thaliana.

Cryptochrome sind in der Evolution „konserviert“

Dabei konnten sie feststellen, dass es einige Gene für den inneren Tagesrhythmus gibt, die in allen untersuchten Organismen der grünen Lebenslinie vorkommen, während sich andere Gene deutlich unterscheiden. Zu den über die Evolution hinweg „konservierten“ Genen der inneren Uhr gehören die sogenannten Cryptochrome. Das sind Rezeptormoleküle, mit denen Landpflanzen blaues Licht wahrnehmen können. „Cryptochrome sind für die Synchronisation bzw. die Steuerung der inneren Uhr von zentraler Bedeutung und sie haben diese Rolle nicht nur in Landpflanzen und Algen, sondern auch in Pilzen, Insekten und Säugetieren“, berichtet Dr. Jan Petersen aus dem Forschungsteam und Erstautor der aktuellen Übersichtsarbeit. Bisher wurden im Team von Maria Mittag die Cryptochrome am Modellorganismus Chlamydomonas reinhardtii untersucht, dessen Genom sogar vier verschiedene Cryptochrome kodiert. Während zwei dieser Cryptochrome an der inneren Uhr beteiligt sind, war die Funktion der beiden anderen noch unbekannt.

Um die Rolle eines der Cryptochrome mit unbekannter Funktion genauer zu analysieren, hat das Jenaer Forschungsteam Algenzellen und speziell gezüchtete Mutanten verglichen, bei denen das Gen für dieses Rezeptormolekül ausgeschaltet wurde. „Wir konnten feststellen, dass die mutierten Algen deutlich langsamer wachsen und sich insgesamt nicht so gut vermehren wie die normalen Algenzellen“, berichtet Doktorandin Anxhela Rredhi.

Das neu untersuchte Cryptochrom beeinflusst Zellstrukturen, die für die Fotosynthese verantwortlich sind

Was uns aber überraschte, war, dass die mutierten Algen deutlich mehr grünen Farbstoff aufweisen als die normalen Algen“, sagt Anxhela Rredhi. Mehr Farbstoff in Form der Pigmente hätte eigentlich eine bessere Fotosynthese und somit besseres Wachstum zur Folge haben sollen, da diese Moleküle das Licht für die Fotosynthese einfangen. Doch die Forschenden fanden eine Erklärung. In elektronenmikroskopischen Aufnahmen der Algen konnten sie sehen, dass die Zellmembranen, in denen die Fotosynthese abläuft, ohne das Cryptochrom viel dichter gepackt sind, als in normalen Zellen. „Dadurch erscheint die Alge zum einen in dunklerem Grün“, erklärt Dr. Petersen. „Zum anderen führt dies dazu, dass sich die Zellen gegenseitig mehr beschatten und somit einfach weniger Licht in den inneren Membranen ankommt, was sich negativ auf ihr Wachstum auswirkt.“

Wie genau das neu untersuchte Cryptochrom die Form und damit die Funktion der Zellstrukturen beeinflusst, ist derzeit noch unklar. Ob es auch eine Rolle bei der inneren Uhr spielt, wird aktuell untersucht.

Dr. Jan Petersen (m.) und die Doktorandinnen Julie Szyttenholm (l.) und Anxhela Rredhi (r.) gehören zu den Autoren der Publikation zur Evolution der inneren Uhr im Pflanzenreich, die jetzt im Journal "Plant Physiology" veröffentlicht wurde. Sie zeigen einige Modellorganismen ihrer Untersuchung: die Acker-Schmalwand Arabidopsis thaliana, das Brunnenlebermoos Marchantia polymorpha und die begeißelte Grünalge Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Dr. Jan Petersen (m.) und die Doktorandinnen Julie Szyttenholm (l.) und Anxhela Rredhi (r.) gehören zu den Autoren der Publikation zur Evolution der inneren Uhr im Pflanzenreich, die jetzt im Journal "Plant Physiology" veröffentlicht wurde. Sie zeigen einige Modellorganismen ihrer Untersuchung: die Acker-Schmalwand Arabidopsis thaliana, das Brunnenlebermoos Marchantia polymorpha und die begeißelte Grünalge Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
Information

Original-Publikation: Jan Petersen et al. Evolution of circadian clocks along the green lineage, Plant Physiology (2022), DOI: 10.1093/plphys/kiac141, https://academic.oup.com/plphys/advance-article/doi/10.1093/plphys/kiac141/6553044  

Frühere Veröffentlichung: Anxhela Rredhi et al. DASH cryptochrome 1, a UV-A receptor, balances the photosynthetic machinery of Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, New Phytologist (2021) 232:610–624, DOI: 10.1111/nph.17603, https://nph.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1111/nph.17603

Kontakt:

Raum 108
Am Planetarium 1
07743 Jena