Rafael Biermann is a partner in the competence network "Cooperation and Conflict in Eastern Europe".

Bundling conflict research on Eastern Europe

The University of Jena is part of the competence network "Cooperation and Conflict in Eastern Europe"
Rafael Biermann is a partner in the competence network "Cooperation and Conflict in Eastern Europe".
Image: privat
  • Research

Published: | By: Axel Burchardt

In a nationwide research network funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) with around three million euros, six institutions across Germany - including the University of Jena - will bundle and further develop research on conflicts in Eastern Europe over the next four years. The region has repeatedly been the scene of violent conflicts that continue to this day. The Russian war of aggression against Ukraine is the most recent and glaring example that challenges the research questions and conditions of the network.

Eastern Europe has been a focus of peace and conflict research for many years. Nowhere else have been so many wars of secession and newly founded states since the end of the Cold War, some of which remain unresolved to this day. At the same time, the focus on continuing conflicts should not obscure the view of developments in cooperation. For example, although the secession conflict over Transnistria in Moldova has not yet been settled, pragmatic solutions to everyday problems have been found in recent years and open channels of communication have been established between Chişinău and Tiraspol.

Analysing conflicts and cooperation

The research network "Cooperation and Conflict in Eastern Europe" (KonKoop), which started its work in April, examines the conflict constellations, but also dynamics of cooperation in Eastern Europe, South Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus against this background. The network is coordinated by the Centre for East European and International Studies (ZOiS). In addition to the Chair of International Relations at the University of Jena, the Leibniz Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (IOS) in Regensburg, the Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography (IfL) in Leipzig, the University for Sustainable Development in Eberswalde (HNEE) and the Leibniz Centre for Contemporary History Research (ZZF) in Potsdam are involved.

"In Germany we have excellent research and a lot of practical knowledge on different conflicts in Eastern Europe, but as yet this is scattered across different locations and thus not sufficiently recognised at international level. The purpose of the research network is to integrate all of this expertise," explains the scientific director of ZOiS, Gwendolyn Sasse. "Russia’s war on Ukraine challenges us to connect and communicate research on Eastern Europe, conflict and migration in an even more concerted way," she continues.

How conflicts arise in Eastern Europe

In five thematic fields, research teams want to find out how conflicts come about in Eastern Europe, which actors are involved and which factors contribute to escalation and de-escalation, but also which conditions guarantee security or enable cooperation.

  • Under what circumstances do political reconfigurations like the dissolution of the Soviet Union or Yugoslavia trigger violent conflicts?
  • What role do ethnic or religious attributions play?
  • How do economic interests contribute to the development of conflicts or their resolution?
  • What are the effects of environmental change and the scarcity of resources?
  • What factors influence the scope for peace negotiations and the implementation of peace accords?
  • How can security in Europe be reconceptualised and institutionalised in future?

Questions like these need to be examined comparatively for different places as well as for different points in time or stages of conflict, and they require the expertise of different disciplines. To this end, the network partners bring together their regional and thematic expertise. A multi-local junior research group will be formed and will work together with experienced researchers from the network and international partners.

Relations between patrons and clients in secession conflicts

The Chair of International Relations at the University of Jena is conducting research in the network primarily on the relationships between patrons and clients in secession conflicts. This new research approach, on which chair holder Prof. Dr Rafael Biermann already held an international conference in Jena in September 2021, deals with the worldwide processes of secession of territories from existing states. Research at the University of Jena focuses on the interaction between secessionist groups (clients) and their external state and non-state supporters (patrons). Russia, with its military, political and economic support of the secessionist entities in Ukraine (Donbass), Georgia (Abkhazia and South Ossetia) and Moldova (Transnistria), is the most prominent case that drastically demonstrates the importance of such relationships for conflict resolution. The patronage of the USA, the EU and NATO for the mother states Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova creates a rivalry between Russia and Western sponsors whose actuality is obvious. As a doctoral student at the Jena Chair, Geza Tasner, funded by the collaborative project, will intensively study such patron-client relationships in Eastern Europe and beyond in a comparative way, organise another international workshop in Jena as well as public events. 

The Jena researchers will contribute the results of their research to a data laboratory of the network, which will bundle the results of the research and make them available to the professional community. In a visualisation laboratory, the network also wants to make the results visible and comprehensible for academia, mediation actors, the media and the public.

Contact (in Jena):

Lehrstuhl Internationale Beziehungen
Rafael Biermann, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Room 435
Carl-Zeiß-Straße 3
07743 Jena

Prof. Rafael Biermann ist Partner im Kompetenznetz „Kooperation und Konflikt im östlichen Europa“.

Konfliktforschung zum östlichen Europa bündeln

Die Universität Jena ist Teil des Kompetenznetzes „Kooperation und Konflikt im östlichen Europa“
Prof. Rafael Biermann ist Partner im Kompetenznetz „Kooperation und Konflikt im östlichen Europa“.
Foto: privat
  • Forschung

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Axel Burchardt

In einem vom Bundesforschungsministerium (BMBF) mit rund drei Millionen Euro geförderten Kompetenznetz werden bundesweit sechs Einrichtungen – darunter die Universität Jena – die Forschung zu Konflikten im östlichen Europa in den kommenden vier Jahren bündeln und weiterentwickeln. In der Region kommt es immer wieder zu gewaltsamen und bis heute andauernden Auseinandersetzungen. Der russische Angriffskrieg gegen die Ukraine ist das jüngste und eklatanteste Beispiel, das die Forschungsfragen und -bedingungen des Netzwerks herausfordert.

Das östliche Europa beschäftigt die Friedens- und Konfliktforschung seit vielen Jahren. Nirgendwo sonst gab es seit dem Ende des Kalten Krieges so viele, teils bis heute ungelöste Sezessionskonflikte und neue Staatsgründungen. Dabei darf der Blick auf anhaltende Konflikte den Blick auf Kooperationsentwicklungen nicht verstellen. So konnte der Sezessionskonflikt um Transnistrien in Moldawien zwar nicht beigelegt werden, aber in den vergangenen Jahren wurden pragmatische Lösungen für Alltagsprobleme gefunden und offene Kommunikationswege zwischen Chişinău und Tiraspol geschaffen.

Konflikte und Kooperationen analysieren

Das Kompetenznetz „Kooperation und Konflikt im östlichen Europa“ (KonKoop), das in diesem Monat seine Arbeit aufgenommen hat, untersucht vor diesem Hintergrund die Konflikt­konstellationen, aber auch Dynamiken von Kooperation in Osteuropa, Südosteuropa, Zentralasien und dem Kaukasus. Das Netzwerk wird vom Zentrum für Osteuropa- und internationale Studien (ZOiS) koordiniert. Neben dem Lehrstuhl für Inter­na­tionale Beziehun­gen der Universität Jena sind das Leibniz-Institut für Ost- und Südosteuro­pa­forschung (IOS) in Regensburg, das Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde (IfL) in Leipzig, die Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung in Eberswalde (HNEE) sowie das Leibniz-Zentrum für Zeithisto­rische Forschung (ZZF) in Potsdam beteiligt.

Es gibt in Deutschland hervorragende Forschung und viel Praxiswissen zu unterschiedlichen Konflikten im östlichen Europa, aber sie liegen bisher nur verstreut vor und werden deshalb auch international zu wenig wahrgenommen. Diese Expertise soll das Kompetenznetz bün­deln“, erklärt die wissenschaftliche Direktorin des ZOiS, Gwendolyn Sasse. „Russlands Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine stellt uns vor die Herausforderung, Osteuropa-, Konflikt-, und Fluchtforschung noch gezielter zu verknüpfen und zu kommunizieren“, führt sie weiter aus.

Wie Konflikte im östlichen Europa entstehen

In fünf Themenfeldern wollen Forschungsteams herausfinden, wie Konflikte im östlichen Europa entstehen, welche Akteure beteiligt sind und welche Faktoren sie vorantreiben oder deeskalieren, aber auch welche Bedingungen Sicherheit garantieren oder Kooperation ermöglichen.

  • Wann kommt es bei einer politischen Neuordnung, wie dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion oder Jugoslawiens, zu gewaltsamen Konflikten?
  • Welche Bedeutung haben ethnische oder religiöse Identitäten und Zuschreibungen?
  • Welche Rolle spielen wirtschaftliche Interessen bei der Entstehung, aber auch bei der Lösung von Konflikten?
  • Wie wirken sich Umweltwandel und Ressourcenknappheit aus?
  • Was bedingt den Spielraum für Friedensverhandlungen und die Umsetzung von Friedensabkommen?
  • Wie kann eine Sicherheitsordnung in Europa in Zukunft gestaltet und institutionalisiert werden?

Fragen wie diese müssen sowohl für unterschiedliche Orte als auch für unterschiedliche Zeitpunkte oder Konfliktstadien vergleichend untersucht werden, und sie erfordern die Expertise unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen. Zu diesem Zweck führen die Netzwerkpartner ihre regionale und inhaltliche Kompetenz zusammen. Eine multidisziplinäre und standort­über­greifende Nachwuchsgruppe wird gebildet und gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Forschenden des Netzwerks und internationalen Partner zusammenarbeiten.

Beziehungen zwischen Patronen und Klienten in Sezessionskonflikten

Der Lehrstuhl für Internationale Beziehungen der Universität Jena erforscht im Netzwerk vor allem die Beziehungen zwischen Patronen und Klienten in Sezessionskonflikten. Dieser neue Forschungszugang, zu dem Lehrstuhlinhaber Prof. Dr. Rafael Biermann bereits im September 2021 eine internationale Tagung in Jena abhielt, befasst sich mit den weltweiten Prozessen der Abspaltung von Territorien von bestehenden Staaten. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungen an der Universität Jena stehen die Interaktion zwischen sezessionistischen Gruppen (Klienten) und ihren externen staatlichen und nicht-staatlichen Unterstützern (Patrone). Russland ist mit seiner militärischen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Unterstützung der Sezessions­gebilde in der Ukraine (Donbass), Georgien (Abchasien und Südossetien) und Moldawien (Transnistrien) der prominenteste Fall, der die Bedeutung solcher Beziehungen für die Konfliktlösung drastisch vor Augen führt. Durch die Patronage von USA, EU und NATO für die Mutterstaaten Ukraine, Georgien und Moldawien kommt es dabei zu einer Rivalität zwischen Russland und westlichen Sponsoren, deren Aktualität offensichtlich ist. Geza Tasner wird sich als Doktorand am Jenaer Lehrstuhl, gefördert vom Verbundprojekt, intensiv mit solchen Patron-Klienten-Beziehungen im östlichen Europa und darüber hinaus vergleichend befassen, einen weiteren internationalen Workshop in Jena wie auch öffentliche Veranstaltungen organisieren.  

Die Jenaer Wissenschaftler bringen die Ergebnisse ihrer Forschung in ein Datenlabor des Netzwerkes ein, das die Ergebnisse der Forschungen bündelt und der Fachgemeinschaft verfügbar macht. In einem Visualisierungslabor will das Netzwerk zudem die Ergebnisse für Wissenschaft, Vermittlungsakteure, Medien und die Öffentlichkeit sichtbar und nachvoll­ziehbar machen.

Kontakt (in Jena):

Professur Internationale Beziehungen
Rafael Biermann, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Inhaber Lehrstuhl
Raum 435
Carl-Zeiß-Straße 3
07743 Jena