Approximately 78 million people in South and North Korea as well as around the whole world speak the Korean language.
Image: Dae Jeung Kim – pixabay

Five mountain ranges and four major rivers spread over South Korea. It borders the ocean on three sides: the Sea of Japan in the East, the Korean Straits in the South, and the Yellow Sea in the West. Korea is the official language in two countries; both North and South Korea share a single language.

Until the end of the 14th century, Korean used the Chinese alphabet. Since the 15th century, Korean has had its own alphabet, called Hangeul. It consists of 24 characters that are systematically combined. The direction in which one writes is not prescribed. Thus, you can write Korean horizontally or vertically. Although Korean possesses many loan words from Chinese and English, it is similar to Japanese in structure.

You can find our current courses and all related information in the online administration system Friedolin de.

Head of the non-European Languages Section

Dr. Joachim Boldt
Room 524
Ernst-Abbe-Platz 8
07743 Jena
+49 3641 9-401801
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page