## **ELECTION NOTICE\* 2024**



# for the election of the **DOCTORAL COUNCIL of**



#### **GENERAL**

In summer semester 2024 the Doctoral Council of Friedrich Schiller University Jena (Doktorandenrat der FSU - DR.FSU) will be elected.

In principle, representatives in the Doctoral Council will be elected for one year.

There are 21 members on the FSU Doctoral Council, which will be elected directly by doctoral candidates at FSU (Doktorandenschaft). All doctoral candidates form one voting

Eligibility and the right to vote require that you are a member of the FSU Doktorandenschaft acc. to §1 Geschäftsordnung DR.FSU.

I kindly ask all those eligible to vote to actively participate in the elections and to make themselves available as candidates. Nominations of female candidates are especially welcome.

#### **RIGHT TO VOTE, LIST OF VOTERS**

Anyone included in the list of voters will be eligible to vote. The list of voters is based on the electronic administration system of doctorates at FSU. Lists of voters will be available between 8 May and 15 May, 2 pm during the office hours of the Electoral Office (Wahlamt), Fürstengraben 1 (university main building), room 1.39.

Objections to lists of voters may be filed by 15 May 2024, 2 pm with the Electoral Office using official forms available from the Electoral Office. The Electoral Board will decide on the objection and issue a notification. The deadline for lodging an appeal will commence upon public announcement of the electoral official's decision.

#### SUBMISSION OF NOMINATIONS

Nominations must be submitted to the Electoral Office no later than 15 May 2024, 2 pm using the official forms (available at www.uni-jena.de/wahlamt, in the Electoral Office, at the Doctoral Council and in the Graduate Academy). Only individual nominations will be permitted. Nominations may be submitted by anyone entitled to vote. In principle, any person entitled to vote is eligible to stand as a candidate.

Nominations will be reviewed for accuracy, approved, and publicly announced by the Electoral Office.

#### **ELECTORAL PROCEDURE**

The members of the Doctoral Council are elected by a majority vote. Eligible voters have as many votes as there are candidates but no more than seats available (max. 21). Cumulative voting is not permitted.

Candidates, who gained most votes, are elected. At least one candidate per faculty is elected if there is a candidate in a faculty. Beyond that residual seats go to candidates according to their number of votes. Applicants without a seat are listed as alternates in order of their number of votes regardless of their faculty.

#### **CASTING OF VOTES**

The elections will be online elections. Voters need to prove their identification on the elections server via a user-specific secure link on the University Computer Centre's service portal. To log-in to the portal, a University's user account with individual username and password is required. Those entitled to vote who do not request a postal voting receive electronic voting documents with user information about the online elections. The elections to the Doctoral Council are taking place together with the elections to other decision-making bodies of the University. If you are eligible to vote in more than one election, several online ballots will be available for you on the election server.

Online voting is possible from 6 June 2024, 2 pm until 17 June 2024, 2 pm. Online voting is also possible at the Student Service Centre (university main building) during the regular office hours.

The counting of votes is public and will take place on 17 June 2024, starting at 2 pm at the Electoral Office, Fürstengraben 1 (university main building).

### **ELECTORAL ADMINISTRATION**

The Administrative Director of the Graduate Academy is the Electoral Official of these elections. The election board of FSU works as election board.

Elections will be held on the basis of the DR.FSU Geschäftsordnung, the Statues of the Graduate Academy, and the Election Regulations of FSU Jena.

For further details please contact the FSU Electoral Office which acts on behalf of the Electoral Official (E-mail: wahlamt@unijena.de, phone 9-40 20 20), Fürstengraben 1 (university main building), 07743 Jena, room 1.39.

> Jena, 3 April 2024 THE ELECTORAL OFFICIAL

> > Dr. Gunda Huskobla

<sup>\*</sup> This English version of the election notice is for your information only. Only the German version is the legally binding document.