Three trophies of the Thuringian Research Award stand side by side

Science Awards

Science prizes and special research awards
Three trophies of the Thuringian Research Award stand side by side
Image: Jürgen Scheere

Science prizes, awards and memberships honour researchers for their work and are an important part of promoting science and research. A selection of awarded researchers of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena can be found on the following page.

International Awards

Alexander von Humboldt Professorship

2021: Prof. Dr Bas Dutilh

Bas Dutilh stands on a platform and looks over Jena.
Image: Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung

ERC Starting Grants

2022: Prof. Dr Martin Oschatz

2021: Prof. Dr Dietmar Gallistl

2018: Prof. Dr Kai Papenfort

2017: Prof. Dr Sebastiano Bernuzzi

2009: Prof. Dr Jens Limpert

ERC Consolidator Grants

2023: Prof. Dr Sebastiano Bernuzzi

2021: Prof. Dr Bas Dutilh 

2020: Prof. Dr Philipp Adelhelm (presently Humboldt University of Berlin)

2018: Prof. Dr Stefanie Gräfe

2016: Prof. Dr Lothar Wondraczek

2014: Prof. Dr Jens Limpert

ERC Advanced Grants

2023: Prof. Dr Ulrich Schubert

2019: Prof. Dr Jens Limpert

2015: Prof. Dr Andreas Tünnermann

ERC Synergy Grant

2020: Prof. Dr Joachim Denzler 

ERC Proof-of-Concept Grant

2021: Prof. Dr Lothar Wondraczek

Prof. Dr. Jens Limpert
Triple ERC
Prof. Dr. Jens Limpert is one of the few researchers in Germany who has succeeded in obtaining ERC funding three times: in 2009 he received a »Starting Grant«, followed by a »Consolidator Grant« in 2014, crowned with an »Advanced Grant« in 2019.

National Awards

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

2023: Prof. Dr Hartmut Rosa
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
2023: Prof. Dr Sarah O'Connor
Image: David Ausserhofer, DFG
2020: Prof. Dr Johannes Grave
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
2020: Prof. Dr Markus Reichstein
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)
2015: Prof. Dr Christian Hertweck
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)
2009: Prof. Dr Karl Lenhard Rudolph
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
2007: Prof. Dr Falko Langenhorst
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
2005: Prof. Dr Andreas Tünnermann
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

Deutscher Zukunftspreis (German Future Prize)

2013: Prof Dr Stefan Nolte (middle) together with Dr Dirk Sutter (left)and Dr Jens König (right)

Laureates of the Deutscher Zukunftspreis 2013
Laureates of the Deutscher Zukunftspreis 2013
Image: Deutscher Zukunftspreis Ansgar Pudenz

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize 

2021: Prof. Dr Kai Lawonn

2014: Prof. Dr Nico Eisenhauer (presently Leiptzig University)

2006: Prof. Dr Holger Gies

1999: Prof. Dr Anne S. Ulrich (jetzt Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) 

Prof. Dr. Kai Lawonn
Prof. Dr. Kai Lawonn
Prof. Dr Kai Lawonn received the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize of the German Research Foundation in 2021 for his outstanding achievements in the field of visualisation.

Regional Awards

Thüringer Forschungspreis (Thuringian Research Prize)

(Award winners of the past ten years, only current members of the University of Jena at the time of proposal)

2023: Prof. Dr Benjamin Dietzek-Ivansic, Dr Linda Zedler (Applied Research)

2022: Prof. Dr Sebastian Böcker, Dr Kai Dührkop, Dr Markus Fleischauer, Dr Marcus Ludwig, Martin A. Hoffmann (Basic Resarch)

2021: Prof. Dr Stefan Lorkowski, Dr Christine Dawczinski (Applied Research)

2021: Prof. Dr Klaus Dörre, Prof. Dr Hartmut Rosa (Basic Resarch)

2019: Prof. Dr Ulrich Brose (Basic Resarch)

2018: Prof. Dr Lambert Wiesing (Basic Resarch)

2017: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert, Dr. Martin Hager, Tobias Janoschka (Applied research)

2015: Prof. Dr Christian Hübner, PD Dr Ingo Kurth (Basic Resarch)

2014: Prof. Dr Thomas Heinze, Friedrich Scholz (Applied Research)

2013: Prof. Dr Matthias Dürste, Dr Alfred Hansel, Dr Matin Schmitz, Kerstin Box (Transfer Prize)

Awards of the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

  • Rowena Morse Prize

    Friedrich Schiller University annually awards the Rowena Morse Prize as a distinction for academics who are outstanding in research and teaching, who have attained their eligibility for appointment for a professorship, but who were not yet appointed to a tenured professorship at the time of their special achievements. The prize is endowed with 5,000 euros.

    Laureates of the past ten years

    2022: Dr Anja Träger – Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences

    2021: PD Dr Lukas Werther – Faculty of Arts and Humanities

    2020: PD Dr Paula Wojcik – Faculty of Arts and Humanities

    2019: PD Dr Tony Bruns – Faculty of Medicine

    2018: PD Dr Andreas Koeberle – Faculty of Biological Sciences

    2017: PD Dr Claudia Schnohr – Faculty of Physics and Astronomy 

    2016: PD Dr Dana Kralisch – Faculty of Biological Sciences

    2015: PD Dr Thomas Ernst – Faculty of Medicine

    2014: PD Dr Jessica Schmidt – Faculty of Law

    2013: PD Dr Stephan Heblich – Faculty of Economics and Business Administration

    2012: PD Dr Olaf Müller – Faculty of Arts and Humanities

  • Doctoral Prizes

    The doctoral prize of the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena is an award for researchers who have achieved outstanding results in their doctoral studies and have thereby promoted the reputation of the Alma Mater Jenensis. The prize is endowed with 750 euros.

    Laureates of the past five years

    Faculty of Theology

    2022: Dr Magdalena Steinhöfel
    2021: Dr Kerstin Krauß
    2020: Dr Felix Durner
    2019: Dr Johanna Hilpert
    2018: Dr Miriam Schade

    Faculty of Law

    2022: Dr Philipp Köhler
    2021: Dr Julian Schick
    2020: Dr Philipp Selentin
    2019: Dr Carina Klaus
    2018: Dr Eric Urzowski

    Faculty of Economics and Business Administration

    2022: Dr Daniel Rodenburger
    2021: Yoan Hermstrüwer
    2020: Dr Felix Weidinger
    2019: Dr Susanne Fricke
    2018: Dr David Dose

    Faculty of Arts and Humanities

    2022: Dr Markus Wegewitz
    2021: Dr Katharina Schwinde
    2020: Dr Peter Naumann
    2019: Dr Julia Mandry
    2018: Dr Maximillian Rebitschek

    Faculty for Social and Behavioural Sciences

    2022: Dr Philipp Baumbach
    2021: Dr Sebastian Pusch
    2020: Dr Christian Opitz
    2019: Dr Alexander Goebel
    2018: Dr Nastasja Greischel

    Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

    2022: Dr Jonas Brock
    2021: Dr Melchior Wirth
    2020: Dr David Krieg
    2019: Dr Stefanie Jäckel
    2018: Dr Marcel Schmidt

    Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

    2022: Dr Martin Hafermann
    2021: Dr Sebastian Grieninger
    2020: Dr Carolin Rothhardt
    2019: Dr Yi Zhong
    2018: Dr Max Möller

    Faculty for Chemistry and Earth Sciences

    2022: Dr Carolin Müller
    2021: Dr Robert Freund
    2020: Dr Philipp Engelmann
    2019: Dr Fabian Pettig
    2018: Dr Robert Geitner

    Faculty of Biological Sciences

    2022: Dr Marina Pekmezovic
    2021: Dr Sarah Patricia Niehs
    2020: Dr Sarah Irmscher
    2019: Dr Martin Baunach
    2018: Dr Elisabeth Watts

    Faculty of Medicne

    2022: Dr Thomas Kaas
    2021: Dr Judith Hammrich
    2020: Dr Yves Werner
    2019: Dr Uwe Haselmann
    2018: Dr Raphael Seidel