Senate Hall of the University of Jena

Senate Working Group on Sustainability

Tasks and members of the Sustainability Working Group.
Senate Hall of the University of Jena
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

The Senate Working Group on Sustainability was established by the Senate of Friedrich Schiller University Jena on June 2, 2020 on the initiative of the students. Based on the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations, the working group is dedicated to the topics of climate protection and sustainability at the university. The working group supports the sustainability process of the University of Jena and acts as a source of ideas for sustainability projects.

The working group includes two representatives from each of the university's status groups. This ensures that the different interests of all university members are taken into account in the best possible way when planning sustainability-related projects. Furthermore, the president of the university, Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal, the Head of Administration, Dr. Throalf Held, as well as Torsten Schubert, managing director of the Studierendenwerk Thüringen, and Katja Bär, head of the university communication department, are also represented in the committee. The working group is organised by the Green Office. Thus, there is the possibility of a direct exchange with important decision makers of the university.

Members of the working group

Executive Board

Members from the four status groups


Scientific employees

Non-scientific employees

  • Juliane Kolbinger 
  • Simone Burchardt


  • Vincent Leonhardi
  • N/A

Permanent guests