Schillerbüste vor Himmel

Projects

Main areas of action
Schiller figure in front of sky
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

Main areas of action:

The members of the society share one mission: We want to improve the framework conditions for research and teaching at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena and increase the innovative potential of our alma mater. To this end, we offer material and non-material support and are personally involved in various projects.

Scope of support Show content
  • national and international conferences
  • seminars outside the University and field trips
  • printing allowances
  • prizes for outstanding final, doctoral and postdoctoral theses
  • scholarships and emergency funds
  • student projects
  • University collections
  • cultivating and maintaining relations with the city and economy
  • commemorative plaques
Promotion of research and teaching Show content

Since 1992, the University of Jena has been a member of the COIMBRA GROUP, an association of old traditional European universities dedicated to promoting academic cooperation in all fields. Within the framework of the Coimbra Group Hospitality Scheme, the Friends and Patrons have awarded scholarships to foreign scientists for a research stay at the University of Jena.

The support of national and international conferences in Jena, the regular awarding of prizes for outstanding final, doctoral and postdoctoral theses, and the allocation of printing allowances for scientific publications are further priorities of support.

Promotion of relations between university, economy and citizens Show content

Every year on the last Friday in June, the Schillertag (Schiller Day) takes place. A ceremony at this dies academicus, which commemorates the inaugural lecture of the university's namesake in 1789, also honours the doctoral candidates and promotes the close connection between them and the alma mater. The highlight of this day is the University Summer Festival, which the University has been celebrating for years together with its friends and patrons.
www.sommerfest.uni-jena.de de

Promotion of the community of students and lecturers Show content

Supporting student projects that could not be carried out at all or could only be carried out to a limited extent without the help of society is particularly important. The Society supports student initiatives in the areas of art, culture, and sports and provides grants for seminars outside the University and field trips on current scientific topics. The Society also supports the academic cultivation of music—including the annual court opera in the courtyard of the main university building—as well as student projects, such as film projects in media studies.

Keeping traditions alive Show content

The society promotes projects and exhibitions on the University’s history, finances commemorative plaques for renowned members of the University at their domains in Jena, and helps to preserve the cultural and art treasures and the collections of the Alma Mater Jenensis.

Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Schillerbüste vor Himmel

Projekte

Schwerpunkte der Förderung
Schillerbüste vor Himmel
Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper/FSU

Schwerpunkte der Förderung

Die Mitglieder der Gesellschaft vereint eine Mission: wir wollen die Rahmenbedingungen für Forschung und Lehre an der Friedrich­-Schiller-Universität Jena verbessern und das Innovationspotenzial unserer Alma Mater erhöhen. Dazu bieten wir materielle und ideelle Unterstützung an und engagieren uns persönlich in unterschiedlichen Projekten.

Förderspektrum Inhalt einblenden
  • Nationale und internationale Tagungen
  • Auswärtsseminare und Exkursionen
  • Druckkostenzuschüsse
  • Preise für herausragende Examensarbeiten, Promotionen und Habilitationen
  • Stipendien und Notfonds
  • Studentische Projekte
  • Universitätssammlungen
  • Beziehungspflege zur Stadt und der Wirtschaft
  • Gedenktafeln
Förderung von Forschung und Lehre Inhalt einblenden

Seit 1992 gehört die Universität Jena der COIMBRA GROUP an, einer Vereinigung alter traditionsreicher europäischer Universitäten, die sich der Förderung der akademischen Zusammenarbeit auf allen Gebieten widmet. Im Rahmen des Coimbra Group Hospitality Scheme haben die Freunde und Förderer Stipendien an ausländische Wissenschaftler für einen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Jenaer Universität vergeben.

Die Unterstützung von nationalen und internationalen Tagungen in Jena, die regelmäßige Verleihung von Preisen für herausragende Examensarbeiten, Promotionen und Habilitationen und die Vergabe von Druckkostenzuschüssen für wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen sind weitere Förderschwerpunkte.

Förderung von Beziehungen zwischen Universität, Wirtschaft und Bürgern Inhalt einblenden

Jährlich findet am letzten Freitag im Juni der Schillertag statt. Mit einem Festakt an diesem »dies academicus«, welcher an die Antrittsvorlesung des Namenspatrons der Universität im Jahre 1789 erinnert, werden auch die Promovenden geehrt und die enge Verbindung zwischen ihnen und der Alma Mater gefördert. Höhepunkt des Tages ist das Universitätssommerfest, welches seit Jahren die Universität gemeinsam mit ihren Freunden und Förderern feiert.
www.sommerfest.uni-jena.de

Förderung der Gemeinschaft von Studierenden und Lehrenden Inhalt einblenden

Besonders wichtig ist die Unterstützung von studentischen Projekten, die ohne die Hilfe der Gesellschaft nicht oder nur eingeschränkt durchgeführt werden könnten. So fördert die Gesellschaft studentische Initiativen in den Bereichen Kunst, Kultur und Sport und gibt Zuschüsse für Auswärtsseminare und Exkursionen zu aktuell wissenschaftlichen Themen. Ebenso unterstützt der Förderverein die akademische Musikpflege – u. a. die alljährlich im Innenhof des Universitätshauptgebäudes stattfindende Hofoper – sowie studentische Vorhaben, wie z. B. Filmprojekte der Medienwissenschaft.

Pflege der Tradition Inhalt einblenden

Die Gesellschaft fördert Arbeiten und Ausstellungen zur Universitätsgeschichte, finanziert Gedenktafeln für berühmte Mitglieder der Universität an ihren Wirkungsstätten in Jena, hilft bei der Erhaltung der Kultur- und Kunstschätze und der Sammlungen der Alma Mater Jenensis.

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang