Students of the University of Jena

We stand together. Vaccinate against Corona.​

Information on vaccination opportunities for members of the University of Jena
Students of the University of Jena
Image: Universität Jena

Currently, there are several options to receive a COVID-19 vaccination, regardless of where you are registered. As a foreign student, a vaccination in Germany is only possible with German health insurance.

Vaccination options:

1. At a vaccination centre Expand entry

The central vaccination centre in Jena is located in the Volksbad. From 30 April 2022, it will then be located at Grietgasse 6 (1st floor). There are also vaccination centres in other towns

You can select other vaccination centres and book your appointment via the portal impfen-thueringen.de (German only) – for both the first and second vaccination as well as for the booster vaccination. If it is the first vaccination, you will automatically receive an appointment for the second vaccination.

You can book an appointment by phone using the following number: +49 3643 - 49 50 49 0 (Mon, Tue, Thu: 8 am to 5 pm; Wed, Fri: 8 am to 12 pm).

2. At GP practices Expand entry

You can ask your general practitioner for a vaccination appointment.

Some practices in Jena also offer vaccination without an appointment. Which practices are involved and at which times vaccinations are given without an appointment can be found here.

3. Via the German online plattform "impfrettung.de" Expand entry

Since mid-July, doctors and vaccination centres in Thuringia can report leftover vaccine on the new internet portal impfrettung.de (German only). Those willing to be vaccinated can register there and book a vaccination appointment on the same day.

4. At vaccincation campaigns Expand entry

The city of Jena as well as the state of Thuringia regularly organise special campaigns on Corona vaccination as well. Please check the pages of the City of Jena, JenaKultur and the State of Thuringia (German only) for current dates.

Vaccination offers as part of the vaccination campaign of the state of Thuringia can be found here (German only).

 

Vaccines

Which vaccine you get usually depends on where you get vaccinated and which vaccine is available there.

Regardless of the vaccine, two vaccinations are necessary for full protection. It is important that you attend the second appointment. According to the Standing Committee on Vaccination (STIKO), only the BioNTech vaccine is currently recommended for people under 30 years of age.

Even with the Johnson&Johnson vaccine, two vaccinations are necessary in order to be considered fully vaccinated within the meaning of the COVID-19 Protective Measures Exemption Ordinance (SchAusnahmV) and the Coronavirus Entry Ordinance (CoronaEinreiseV). The STIKO recommends an mRNA vaccine (Moderna or BioNTech) for this purpose, as the heterologous vaccination scheme is superior to the homologous vaccination scheme. Further information is available from the Paul Ehrlich Institute and the Robert Koch Institute (German only).

Further information on the vaccines can be obtained from the Paul Ehrlich Institute.

Booster vaccination

Over time, the vaccination protection decreases, which is why the STIKO recommends a booster vaccination for everyone over the age of 12. This is carried out with an mRNA vaccine according to the age recommendation and is administered to adults at the earliest three months after the second vaccination.

In the case of basic immunisation with the Johnson&Johnson vaccine, a second vaccination with an mRNA vaccine is already recommended after four weeks, as the vaccination protection decreases more quickly here. This is not considered a booster vaccination, as a second vaccination is necessary for full vaccination protection. The STIKO also recommends a booster vaccination in this case, again with an mRNA vaccine, at the earliest three months after the second vaccination.

Further information is available on the website of the Robert Koch Institute (partly German only).

Expertinnen und Experten der Universität Jena im Interview
We stand together. Vaccinate against Corona.
Experts from the Friedrich Schiller University answer questions about vaccinating against COVID-19.

I got vaccinated because...

Laura Kirchner studies Molecular Medicine at the University of Jena. Laura Kirchner studies Molecular Medicine at the University of Jena. Image: Privat

I got vaccinated because I want to contribute to the containment of the pandemic. This way, I can finally meet up with friends again without any worries, and pursue all my hobbies. I also hope to be able to travel without restrictions again soon.

Laura Kirchner studies Molecular Medicine at the University of Jena

Marcel J. Paul is studying teaching German, History and Latin. Marcel J. Paul is studying teaching German, History and Latin. Image: Friedrich Pittelkow

It is reassuring to know that by vaccinating, I am not only protecting myself, but also others, especially my family and those closest to me. Protect yourself and everyone you care about!

Marcel J. Paul is studying teaching German, History and Latin.

 

Gabriela Miranda is studying for a Master's degree in Latin Cultures in the Modern World. Gabriela Miranda is studying for a Master's degree in Latin Cultures in the Modern World. Image: Privat

I would be really happy if we could all meet again next semester, because I miss the warmth of the people. For that, we all need to get vaccinated to protect our own and each other's health. The vaccinations are finally here - now it's our turn!

Gabriala Miranda is studying for a Master's degree in Latin Cultures in the Modern World.

 

Kevin Liu is a Master's student in Psychology at the University of Jena. Kevin Liu is a Master's student in Psychology at the University of Jena. Image: Privat

Getting vaccinated protects my family, friends and acquaintances. It is an act of solidarity with those who cannot be vaccinated or for whom no vaccine is available. With vaccination, we can return to a life that is not completely dominated by Corona. That is why I am happy if as many people as possible get vaccinated.

Kevin Liu is a Master's student in Psychology at the University of Jena

Marie Schkonda is a bachelor's student in Earth Sciences at the University of Jena. Marie Schkonda is a bachelor's student in Earth Sciences at the University of Jena. Image: Privat

When I started my studies, I was so looking forward to this student life that everyone talks about: Meeting new people and trying new things every day, sleeping little, partying a lot. But this can only be done together if we are all vaccinated and thus protect each other.

Marie Schkonda is a bachelor's student in Earth Sciences at the University of Jena.

Rrivu Banerjee is a teaching assistant at the Institute for German as a Foreign and Second Language and Intercultural Studies. Rrivu Banerjee is a teaching assistant at the Institute for German as a Foreign and Second Language and Intercultural Studies. Image: Privat

I got vaccinated because it shows solidarity and is therefore humane. And, because it's just cool.

Rrivu Banerjee completed his Master's degree at the University of Jena in March 2021 and is now a teaching assistant at the Institute for German as a Foreign and Second Language and Intercultural Studies

You are not in Jena?

Then it's best to find out about your vaccination options locally. Every federal state in Germany now offers flexible vaccination appointments in vaccination centres or GP practices.

Further information about vaccination appointments in the federal states of Germany can be found here (German only).

Studierende der Universität Jena

Wir halten zusammen. Impfen gegen Corona.

Informationen zu Impfangeboten für Angehörige der Universität Jena
Studierende der Universität Jena
Bild: Universität Jena

In Jena gibt es aktuell mehrere Möglichkeiten, sich gegen COVID-19 impfen zu lassen. Dafür müssen Sie Ihren Wohnsitz nicht in Jena angemeldet haben.

Impf-Möglichkeiten:

1. Im Impfzentrum Eintrag erweitern

Die zentrale Impfstelle in Jena befindet sich im Volksbad. Ab dem 30. April 2022 ist sie dann in der Grietgasse 6 (1. Obergeschoss) zu finden. Auch in anderen Orten gibt es Impfzentren. 

Über das Portal impfen-thueringen.de können Sie hier Ihren Termin buchen – sowohl für die Erst- und Zweitimpfung als auch für die Auffrischungsimpfung. Handelt es sich um die Erstimpfung, bekommen Sie automatisch auch einen Termin für die zweite Impfung.

Telefonisch können Sie einen Termin buchen unter folgender Nummer: 03643 - 49 50 49 0 (Mo., Di., Do.: 8 bis 17 Uhr; Mi., Fr.: 8 bis 12 Uhr).

2. In ärztlichen Praxen Eintrag erweitern

Sie können bei Ihrem Hausarzt oder bei Ihrer Hausärztin nach einem Impftermin fragen.

Einige Praxen in Jena bieten auch ein Impfen ohne Termin an. Welche Praxen beteiligt sind und zu welchen Zeiten ohne Termin geimpft wird, finden Sie hier.

3. Über das Onlineportal "impfrettung.de" Eintrag erweitern

Seit Mitte Juli können Ärztinnen und Ärzte sowie Impfzentren in Thüringen übrig gebliebenen Impfstoff auf dem neuen Internetportal impfrettung.de melden. Impfwillige können sich dort registrieren und noch am selben Tag einen Impftermin buchen.

4. Bei Impfaktionen Eintrag erweitern

Die Stadt Jena sowie das Land Thüringen veranstalten regelmäßig Sonderaktionen zur Corona-Impfung. Bitte informieren Sie sich auf den Seiten der Stadt Jena und des Landes Thüringen über aktuelle Termine.

Impfaktionen im Rahmen der Impfkampagne des Landes Thüringen  sind hier zu finden.

Impfstoffe

Welchen Impfstoff Sie bekommen, ist meistens abhängig davon, wo Sie sich impfen lassen und welcher Impfstoff dort zur Verfügung steht.

Unabhängig vom Impfstoff sind zwei Impfungen für den vollen Impfschutz notwendig. Hier ist es wichtig, dass Sie sich auch den zweiten Termin unbedingt freihalten und wahrnehmen. Laut Empfehlung der Ständigen Impfkommission (STIKO) wird für Personen unter 30 Jahren derzeit nur der Impfstoff von BioNTech empfohlen.

Auch beim Impfstoff von Johnson&Johnson sind zwei Impfungen notwendig, um im Sinne der COVID-19-Schutzmaßnahmen-Ausnahmenverordnung (SchAusnahmV) und der Coronavirus-Einreiseverordnung (CoronaEinreiseV) als vollständig geimpft zu gelten. Die STIKO empfiehlt hierfür einen mRNA-Impfstoff (Moderna oder BioNTech), da das heterologe Impfschema dem homologen Impfschema überlegen ist. Weitere Informationen hierzu gibt es beim Paul-Ehrlich-Institut und beim Robert-Koch-Institut.

Weitere Informationen zu den Impfstoffen erhalten Sie beim Paul-Ehrlich-Institut.

Auffrischungsimpfung

Mit der Zeit nimmt der Impfschutz ab, weshalb die STIKO allen ab 12 Jahren eine Auffrischungsimpfung empfiehlt. Diese sogenannte Booster-Impfung erfolgt mit einem mRNA-Impfstoff entsprechend der Altersempfehlung und wird bei Erwachsenen frühestens drei Monate nach der Zweitimpfung durchgeführt.

Bei einer Grundimmunisierung mit dem Impfstoff von Johnson&Johnson wird bereits nach vier Wochen eine zweite Impfung mit einem mRNA-Impfstoff empfohlen, da hier der Impfschutz schneller abnimmt. Diese gilt nicht als Booster-Impfung, da eine zweite Impfung für den vollen Impfschutz notwendig ist. Die STIKO empfiehlt auch hier eine Booster-Impfung, wiederum mit einem mRNA-Impfstoff, frühestens drei Monate nach der zweiten Impfung.

Weitere Informationen gibt es auf den Webseiten des Robert-Koch-Instituts.

Expertinnen und Experten der Universität Jena im Interview
Wir halten zusammen. Impfen gegen Corona.
Expertinnen und Experten der Universität beantworten Fragen rund um das Thema Impfen gegen COVID-19.

Ich bin geimpft, weil...

Laura Kirchner studiert Molecular Medicine an der Universität Jena. Laura Kirchner studiert Molecular Medicine an der Universität Jena. Foto: Privat

Ich habe mich impfen lassen, weil ich einen Beitrag zur Eindämmung der Pandemie leisten möchte. So kann ich mich endlich wieder unbeschwert mit Freunden treffen und allen meinen Hobbies nachgehen. Außerdem hoffe ich demnächst wieder uneingeschränkt reisen zu können.

Laura Kirchner studiert Molecular Medicine an der Universität Jena.

Marcel J. Paul studiert Lehramt für Deutsch, Geschichte und Latein. Marcel J. Paul studiert Lehramt für Deutsch, Geschichte und Latein. Foto: Friedrich Pittelkow

Es beruhigt mich, zu wissen, dass ich durch die Impfung nicht nur mich selbst schütze, sondern auch andere, vor allem meine Familie und diejenigen, die mir am nächsten stehen. Schütze auch du dich und alle, die dir am Herzen liegen!

Marcel J. Paul studiert Lehramt für Deutsch, Geschichte und Latein

Gabriela Miranda studiert im Master Romanische Kulturen in der modernen Welt. Gabriela Miranda studiert im Master Romanische Kulturen in der modernen Welt. Foto: Privat

Ich würde mich riesig freuen, wenn wir uns alle nächstes Semester wiedersehen können, denn ich vermisse die Wärme der Leute. Dafür müssen wir uns alle impfen lassen, um unsere eigene und die Gesundheit der anderen zu schützen. Die Impfungen sind endlich da – jetzt sind wir dran!

Gabriela Miranda studiert im Master Romanische Kulturen in der modernen Welt mit dem Schwerpunkt Latino-Amerikastudien

Kevin Liu studiert im Master Psychologie an der Uni Jena. Kevin Liu studiert im Master Psychologie an der Uni Jena. Foto: Privat

Die Impfung schützt meine Familie, Freunde und Bekannten. Sie ist ein Akt der Solidarität mit denjenigen, die sich nicht impfen lassen können oder für die kein Impfstoff verfügbar ist. Mit der Impfung können wir zu einem Leben zurückkehren, das nicht vollständig von Corona dominiert wird. Deshalb freue ich mich, wenn sich so viele wie möglich impfen lassen

Kevin Liu studiert im Master Psychologie an der Uni Jena

Marie Schkonda studiert im Bachelor Geowissenschaften an der Uni Jena. Marie Schkonda studiert im Bachelor Geowissenschaften an der Uni Jena. Foto: Privat

Als ich mein Studium begann, hatte ich mich so auf dieses studentische Leben gefreut, von dem alle sprechen: Täglich neue Menschen und neue Dinge kennenlernen, wenig schlafen, viel feiern. Das geht jedoch nur gemeinsam, wenn wir alle geimpft sind und uns so gegenseitig schützen.

Marie Schkonda studiert im Bachelor Geowissenschaften an der Uni Jena

Rrivu Banerjee ist Lehrbeauftragter am Institut für Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache und Interkulturelle Studien. Rrivu Banerjee ist Lehrbeauftragter am Institut für Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache und Interkulturelle Studien. Foto: Privat

Ich habe mich impfen lassen, weil es Solidarität zeigt und deshalb menschlich ist. Und, weil es einfach cool ist.

Rrivu Banerjee hat im März 2021 seinen Master an der Uni Jena gemacht und ist jetzt Lehrbeauftragter am Institut für Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache und Interkulturelle Studien

Sie sind nicht in Jena?

Dann informierem Sie sich am besten vor Ort über Ihre Impf-Möglichkeiten. Jedes Bundesland in Deutschland bietet mittlerweile flexibel Impftermine in Impfzentren oder ärztlichen Praxen an.

Weitere Informationen zu Impfterminen in den Bundesländern finden Sie hier.