Prototype of a redox flow battery developed at the Centre for Energy and Environmental Chemistry.

Europe supports Jena's energy storage research

Prof. Dr Ulrich S. Schubert receives “ERC Advanced Grant”
Prototype of a redox flow battery developed at the Centre for Energy and Environmental Chemistry.
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)
  • Light
  • Research
  • Awards and Personnel

Published: | By: Axel Burchardt

Chemist and materials scientist Prof. Dr Ulrich S. Schubert receives an Chemist and materials scientist Prof. Dr Ulrich S. Schubert receives an "ERC Advanced Grant". Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

The energy turnaround can only succeed if the electricity, which is produced in an ecological way, is also available at any time of the day or night. For this purpose, suitable storage systems must be developed, which can store the energy in different sizes and can be discharged on demand. The Center for Energy and Environmental Chemistry (CEEC Jena) at the University of Jena, Germany has been working successfully on this "battery of the future" for years. Now the research can be advanced with European help: The new research project "FutureBAT" by Prof. Ulrich S. Schubert is funded by the European Research Council (ERC) with a so-called "Advanced Grant". In the next five years, the chemist and materials scientist will receive around 2.5 million Euros. With this funding, eight positions for researchers and two positions for technical staff can be created.

Additional motivation for future-oriented research

"The funding by an ERC Advanced Grant proves once again that we are on the right track with our research to create resource-saving and sustainable energy storage for the world of tomorrow," says Schubert. The fact that his project is now one of the selected projects being supported by the ERC, which is the most valuable award from the EU for top researchers, motivates him even more. "We will do everything to ensure that tomorrow comes soon, because our laboratory results prove that our concept works," says Schubert.

The President of the University of Jena, Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal, congratulated Ulrich S. Schubert on the approval of his research proposal: "We are very pleased about the ERC funding. The award confirms the excellent reputation that our battery research and the Team Schubert enjoy internationally."

Thuringia's Minister of Science, Wolfgang Tiefensee, described the award of the ERC Research Grant as "a scientific accolade for Professor Schubert and his entire team". "The decision is proof of the scientific excellence and high reputation that Jena has now achieved in the field of battery research," said Tiefensee. Thuringia sees itself once again confirmed in its strategic decision to set up and financially support the CEEC Jena. The ERC funding now creates additional scientific freedom to expand research and thus to further consolidate the internationally leading position of the CEEC Jena. Tiefensee emphasized: "The ongoing initiative to establish a new Helmholtz Institute for Polymers in Energy Application in Jena is receiving additional impetus from the support of the European Research Council."

Polymer-based redox flow batteries

In his research, Prof. Schubert is studying the so-called redox flow batteries (RFB). "They are the only type of battery in which power and capacity can intrinsically be varied independently of each another, which makes this type of battery perfect for scalable stationary applications," explains the Jena chemist. The Jena innovation is that the new batteries work on the basis of aqueous electrolytes with organic macromolecules (plastics). These battery systems "enable the use of inexpensive dialysis membranes together with pH-neutral saline solutions as electrolytes". The systems work, as the first laboratory samples have proven. However, they still have significant limitations in terms of capacity, service life and temperature stability.

In the new FutureBAT project, such restrictions should be reduced and ideally eliminated. In concrete terms, the Jena team wants to improve the energy density, temperature window, efficiency and service life of the battery and at the same time be able to offer it in a more sustainable and cheaper way. This is to be made possible by the development of novel organic active materials. Schubert and his team want to look for new molecules and combine them with the improvement of current polymer materials at the molecular level. As a result, new properties become possible, e.g., new photo-rechargeable batteries or RFB which contain all charged species in a single tank, Schubert looks ahead.

"We expect groundbreaking breakthroughs in the field of polymer-based redox flow batteries," says Prof. Schubert. "The funding from the ERC Advanced Grant will now help us to be one of the leading international research teams in this new research field also in the future."

ERC Advanced Grants

The ERC Advanced Grant represents the most prestigious European research funding for individuals and at the same time the most important European award for outstanding scientists. The ERC Advanced Grant is awarded to established, active researchers with an outstanding scientific track record. When assessing their performance, the ten years prior to the application are decisive.

Contact:

Chair of Organic Chemistry II
Ulrich S. Schubert, Prof. Dr
Room 111
Philosophenweg 7
07743 Jena

Prototyp einer Redox-Flow-Batterie, die im Zentrum für Energie und Umweltchemie entwickelt wurde.

Europa fördert Jenas Energiespeicherforschung

Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert erhält „ERC Advanced Grant“
Prototyp einer Redox-Flow-Batterie, die im Zentrum für Energie und Umweltchemie entwickelt wurde.
Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)
  • Light
  • Forschung
  • Preise & Personalia

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Axel Burchardt

Chemiker und Materialwissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert erhält einen „ERC Advanced Grant“. Chemiker und Materialwissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert erhält einen „ERC Advanced Grant“. Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Die Energiewende kann nur dann gelingen, wenn der Strom, der auf ökologischem Weg produziert wird, zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit zur Verfügung steht. Dafür müssen pas­sende Speicher entwickelt werden, die in unterschiedlicher Größe die gewonnene Energie aufnehmen und bei Bedarf wieder abgeben. An dieser „Batterie der Zukunft“ wird seit Jahren am Zentrum für Energie und Umweltchemie (CEEC Jena) der Universität Jena erfolg­reich gearbeitet. Nun können die Forschungen mit europäischer Hilfe vorangetrieben werden. Das neue Forschungsvorhaben „FutureBAT“ von Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert wird vom Euro­päischen Forschungsrat (European Research Council, ERC) mit einem sogenannten „Ad­vanced Grant“ gefördert. In den kommenden fünf Jahren erhält der Chemiker und Materi­al­wissenschaftler rd. 2,5 Millionen Euro, mit denen acht Stellen für Forschende sowie zwei Stellen für Technikpersonal neu geschaffen werden können.

Zusätzliche Motivation für die zukunftsrelevante Forschung

Die Förderung durch einen ERC Advanced Grant beweist einmal mehr, dass wir mit unserer Forschung auf dem richtigen Weg sind, ressourcenschonende und nachhaltige Energie­speicher für die Welt von morgen zu schaffen“, sagt Schubert. Dass sein Projekt nun zu den ausgewählten Vorhaben gehört, denen der ERC die wichtigste Förderung und zugleich höchst­­dotierte Auszeichnung der EU für Spitzenforschende gibt, motiviere ihn zusätzlich. „Wir wer­den alles tun, damit das Morgen bald kommt, denn unsere Laborergebnisse beweisen, dass unser Konzept funktioniert“, so Schubert.

Der Präsident der Universität Jena, Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal, gratulierte Ulrich S. Schubert zur Bewilligung seines Forschungs­antrags: „Wir freuen uns sehr über die ERC-Förderung. Der Preis bestätigt den hervorragenden Ruf, den unsere Batterieforschung und das Team Schubert international genießen.

Thüringens Wissenschaftsminister Wolfgang Tiefensee bezeichnete die Verleihung des ERC Research Grants als „wissenschaftlichen Ritterschlag für Professor Schubert und sein gesamtes Team“. „Die Entscheidung ist ein Beleg für die wissenschaftliche Exzellenz und hohe Reputation, die Jena im Bereich der Batterieforschung inzwischen erreicht hat“, sagte Tiefensee. Das Land sehe sich erneut in seiner strategischen Entscheidung zur Einrichtung und finanziellen Unterstützung des CEEC Jena bestätigt. Die ERC-Förderung schaffe nun zusätzliche wissenschaftliche Freiräume, um die Forschungen auszuweiten und damit die international führende Position des CEEC Jena weiter zu festigen. Tiefensee betonte: „Auch die laufende Initiative, auf der Grundlage des bisher Erreichten in Jena ein neues Helmholtz-Institut für Polymere für Energieanwendungen anzusiedeln, erhält durch die Unterstützung des Europäischen Forschungsrats zusätzlichen Rückenwind.“

Redox-Flow-Batterien auf Polymerbasis

Prof. Schubert setzt bei seinen Forschungen auf die sogenannten Redox-Flow-Batterien (RFB). „Sie sind der einzige Batterietyp, bei dem Leistung und Kapazität intrinsisch unabhän­gig voneinander variiert werden können, wodurch sich dieser Batterietyp perfekt für skalier­bare stationäre Anwendungen eignet“, erläutert der Jenaer Chemiker. Die Jenaer Innovation besteht darin, dass die neuen Batterien auf Basis wässriger Elektrolyte mit organischen Makromolekülen (Kunststoffen) arbeiten. Diese Batterie-Systeme „ermöglichen den Einsatz kostengünstiger Dialysemem­branen zusammen mit pH-neutralen Kochsalzlösungen als Elektrolyten“. Die Systeme funk­tio­nieren, das haben die Untersuchungen im Labor bewiesen. Allerdings weisen sie bisher noch deutliche Ein­schrän­kungen hinsichtlich Kapazität, Lebens­dauer und Tempera­turstabilität auf.

Entwicklung neuartiger organischer Ak­tivmaterialien

Solche Einschränkungen sollen im neuen Projekt FutureBAT reduziert und im Idealfall auf­gehoben werden. Konkret will das Jenaer Team Energiedichte, Temperaturfenster, Effizienz und Lebensdauer der Batterie verbessern und sie zugleich nachhaltiger und günstiger an­bieten können. Möglich werden soll das durch die Entwicklung neuartiger organischer Ak­tivmaterialien. Schubert und sein Team wollen dafür nach neuen Molekülen suchen und diese mit der Verbesserung aktueller Polymermaterialien auf molekularer Ebene kombi­nie­ren. Im Ergebnis werden neue Eigenschaften möglich, z. B. neue photo-wiederaufladbare Bat­terien oder RFB, die alle geladenen Spezies in einem einzigen Tank enthalten, blickt Schu­bert voraus.

Wir erwarten bahnbrechende Durchbrüche auf dem Gebiet der polymerbasierten Redox-Flow-Batterien“, sagt Prof. Schubert. „Die Förderung durch den ERC Advanced Grant wird uns nun wesentlich dabei unterstützen, auch in Zukunft zu den führenden internationalen Forschungsteams in diesem neuen Forschungsfeld zu gehören.

ERC Advanced Grants

Der ERC Advanced Grant stellt die höchstdotierte europäische Forschungsförderung für Einzelpersonen und zugleich die wichtigste europäische Auszeichnung für herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dar. Vergeben wird der ERC Advanced Grant an etablierte, aktive Forschende mit einer herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungsbilanz. Bei der Begutachtung ihrer Leistung sind die vergangenen zehn Jahre vor der Antragstellung maßgeblich. 

Kontakt:

Lehrstuhl Organische Chemie II
Ulrich S. Schubert, Prof. Dr.
Raum 111
Philosophenweg 7
07743 Jena