Katja Bär is "Research Spokesperson of the Year 2022".

Katja Bär honoured as research spokesperson of the year

Communications and Marketing of the University of Jena exemplary in the DACH region
Katja Bär is "Research Spokesperson of the Year 2022".
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)
  • Awards and Personnel

Published:

Katja Bär, Head of Communications and Marketing at Friedrich Schiller University Jena, has been named Research Spokesperson of the Year 2022 in the category "Research Institutes and Universities". The award was presented on 29 November jointly by the three leading communications associations BdKom (German Association of Communicators), DPRG (German Public Relations Association) and GPRA (Association of Leading PR and Communications Agencies). The aim of the associations is to award exemplary science communication within the DACH region and taking into account all science disciplines.

In her laudation, the President of BdKom, Regine Kreitz, highlighted the "excellent communication in a challenging environment". She compared the numerous and diverse tasks that university communications and marketing at the University of Jena pursues to a juggling act. Katja Bär always keeps "all the balls in the air" in an exemplary manner.

The importance of communication has grown

Katja Bär is pleased about the great recognition associated with the award and also sees it as an appreciation of the university's communications and marketing team: "This is a great team effort. Over the past few years, we have built up and restructured the University Communications and Marketing Department under my leadership. This was possible because communication has a high priority in the Presidential Board and throughout the University, which has grown even more. This is shown, among other things, by my involvement in the Presidential Board, which made the connection of strategy and strategic university communication possible in the first place. I therefore also understand the award as confirmation of the path we have taken."

Katja Bär has been Head of University Communications and Marketing at Friedrich Schiller University since February 2019. Previously, she headed the Communication and Fundraising Department at the University of Mannheim for eight years. She studied history, communication science and languages in Heidelberg and Mannheim as well as Classics in Cambridge. With her teams, she has won several awards for her communication and fundraising campaigns. Since 2021, she has been responsible for political statements and strategic association development on the board of the German Association of University Communications.

The nominees in three categories were determined by an expert advisory board, the finalists by public vote. The award ceremony took place digitally as part of the "Treffpunkt Wissenschaftskommunikation", which was launched by its host Reiner Korbmann in 2008.

Contact:

Katja Barbara Bär
Communications and Marketing
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena

Katja Bär ist "Forschungssprecherin des Jahres 2022".

Katja Bär als Forschungssprecherin des Jahres ausgezeichnet

Hochschulkommunikation der Uni Jena beispielhaft in der DACH-Region
Katja Bär ist "Forschungssprecherin des Jahres 2022".
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)
  • Preise & Personalia

Meldung vom:

Katja Bär, Leiterin der Hochschulkommunikation der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, ist zur Forschungssprecherin des Jahres 2022 in der Kategorie „Forschungsinstitute und Hochschulen“ gewählt worden. Die Auszeichnung wurde Dienstagabend (29.11.) gemeinsam von den drei führenden Kommunikationsverbänden BdKom (Bundesverband der Kommunikatoren), DPRG (Deutsche Public Relations Gesellschaft) und GPRA (Gesellschaft der führenden PR- und Kommunikationsagenturen) vergeben. Ziel der Verbände ist es, innerhalb der DACH-Region und unter Berücksichtigung aller Wissenschaftsdisziplinen, beispielhafte Wissenschaftskommunikation auszuzeichnen.

Die Präsidentin des BdKom, Regine Kreitz, hob in ihrer Laudatio die „exzellente Kommunikation in einem herausfordernden Umfeld“ hervor. Die zahlreichen und unterschiedlichen Aufgaben, die die Hochschulkommunikation der Uni Jena verfolge, verglich sie mit einer Jonglage.  Katja Bär halte dabei vorbildlich „stets alle Bälle in der Luft“.  

Stellenwert der Kommunikation ist gewachsen

Katja Bär freut sich über die große Anerkennung, die mit der Auszeichnung verbunden ist, und versteht diese auch als Würdigung des Teams der Hochschulkommunikation der Universität: „Dahinter steht eine große Teamleistung. Wir haben die Abteilung Hochschulkommunikation in den vergangenen Jahren unter meiner Leitung aufgebaut und neu aufgestellt. Möglich war dies, weil Kommunikation im Präsidium und in der ganzen Universität einen hohen Stellenwert hat, der noch gewachsen ist. Dies zeigt sich unter anderem durch meine Einbindung in das Präsidium, wodurch die Verbindung von Strategie und strategischer Hochschulkommunikation erst möglich wurde. Ich verstehe die Auszeichnung daher auch als Bestätigung des von uns eingeschlagenen Wegs.“

Katja Bär ist seit Februar 2019 Leiterin der Abteilung Hochschulkommunikation der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Zuvor leitete sie acht Jahre lang die Abteilung Kommunikation und Fundraising der Universität Mannheim. Sie studierte Geschichte, Kommunikationswissen­schaft und Sprachen in Heidelberg und Mannheim sowie Classics in Cambridge. Mit ihren Teams wurde sie mehrfach für ihre Kommunikations- und Fundraisingkampagnen ausgezeichnet. Seit 2021 ist sie im Vorstand des Bundesverbandes Hochschulkom­munikation für politische Stellungnahmen und die strategische Verbandsentwicklung zuständig.

Die Nominierten in drei Kategorien wurden durch einen Fachbeirat bestimmt, die Finalistinnen per Publikumsabstimmung ermittelt. Die Preisverleihung erfolgte digital im Rahmen des „Treffpunkts Wissenschaftskommunikation“, deren Gastgeber Reiner Korbmann den Preis 2008 ins Leben gerufen hat.

Kontakt:

Katja Barbara Bär
Pressesprecherin der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Abteilung Hochschulkommunikation
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena