Students are welcome at the University of Jena.

Students judge: University of Jena is one of Germany's top universities 

Friedrich Schiller University Jena performs excellently in the Studycheck Ranking 2023
Students are welcome at the University of Jena.
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)
  • Studies and Teaching

Published: | By: Axel Burchardt

The Friedrich Schiller University is one of the best universities in Germany according to students. This was determined by the student portal Studycheck, which awarded the University of Jena the title "TOP University". In the ranking, the Friedrich Schiller University Jena is among the top 10 of the 57 universities assessed (German only) and is recommended by 95 percent of students. Around 80,000 student evaluations were evaluated for the ranking.

"We take student feedback on their studies very seriously and continuously incorporate it into the development of studies and teaching," says Prof. Dr Kim Siebenhüner, Vice-President for Learning and Teaching at the University of Jena. "The verdict in this ranking matches our experience and shows that the Friedrich Schiller University is an excellent place to study."

Competent and committed teaching staff 

The following evaluations from the student portal show how the Friedrich Schiller University achieved such a good result:

"The content is very interesting and coordinated. The lecturers are very competent and, in most cases, very friendly and helpful. The opportunities for study-related stays abroad are also diverse and, with the appropriate support, relatively easy to realise," writes Anna, for example, who is studying German as a Foreign and Second Language.

"I'm originally from near Frankfurt and had never actually been to Jena before my studies. But I've been living in Jena for a good year now and I'm thrilled. Jena is a small student town with party-loving people and a really relaxed university. The first two semesters of the business studies programme are tough, but once you get used to it, you'll be fine," says Henri, assessing the Business Administration programme at the University of Jena.

Mathematics student André says: "When you attend the lectures, you notice that the lecturers have a lot of knowledge. Despite this, they try to make the content really easy for us to understand. Even if the material is difficult, you still have motivation and, above all, interest to keep at it."

All students' opinions about the University of Jena can be found here (Geman only).

Contact:

Kim Siebenhüner, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Vizepräsidentin für Studium und Lehre
Portrait von Prof. Dr. Kim Siebenhüner
Universitätshauptgebäude, Room 117-119
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena

Studierende sind an der Universität Jena herzlich willkommen.

Studierende urteilen: Universität Jena gehört zu den deutschen TOP-Universitäten

Friedrich-Schiller-Universität schneidet im Studycheck-Ranking 2023 exzellent ab
Studierende sind an der Universität Jena herzlich willkommen.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)
  • Studium & Lehre

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Axel Burchardt

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität gehört nach dem Urteil der Studierenden zu den besten Hochschulen in Deutschland. Das hat das Studierendenportal Studycheck ermittelt und der Universität Jena den Titel "TOP-Universität" für 2023 verliehen. Im Ranking gehört die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena zu den TOP 10 der 57 bewerteten UniversitätenExterner Link und wird von 95 Prozent der Studierenden weiterempfohlen. Für das Ranking sind rund 80.000 Bewer­tungen von Studierenden ausgewertet worden. 

"Die Rückmeldung der Studierenden über ihr Studium nehmen wir sehr ernst und lassen sie kontinuierlich in die Entwicklung von Studium und Lehre einfließen", sagt Prof. Dr. Kim Siebenhüner, Vizepräsidentin für Studium und Lehre der Universität Jena. "Das Urteil in diesem Ranking deckt sich mit unseren Erfahrungen und zeigt, dass die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität ein exzellenter Studienort ist".

Kompetente und engagierte Lehrende 

Wie dieses gute Abschneiden der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität zustande kommt, zeigen beispielhaft die folgenden Bewertungen aus dem Studierendenportal:

"Die Inhalte sind sehr interessant und aufeinander abgestimmt. Die Dozent:innen sind sehr kompetent und, in den allermeisten Fällen, sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Auch die Möglichkeiten für studienbe­zogene Auslandsaufenthalte sind vielfältig und, durch die entsprechende Unterstützung, relativ einfach zu realisieren", schreibt beispielsweise Anna, die Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache studiert.

"Ich komme ursprünglich aus der Nähe von Frankfurt und war tatsächlich vor meinem Studium noch nie in Jena. Aber seit jetzt gut einem Jahr wohne ich in Jena und bin begeistert, Jena ist eine kleine Studentenstadt mit Party-lustigen Leuten und einer echt entspannten Uni. Die ersten zwei Semester des BWL-Studiums sind schon hart, aber wenn man sich eingearbeitet hat, dann wird das schon", bewertet Henri das Betriebswirtschaftsstudium der Universität Jena.

Mathematik-Student André urteilt: "Man merkt bei Teilnahme an den Vorlesungen, dass die Dozenten über ein großes Wissen verfügen. Trotz dessen versuchen sie, uns die Inhalte wirklich leicht zu vermitteln und nahezubringen. Auch wenn der Stoff schwer ist, hat man dennoch Motivation und vor allem Interesse dranzubleiben."

Alle Meinungen der Studierenden über die Universität Jena sind hier Externer Linkzu finden.

Kontakt:

Kim Siebenhüner, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Portrait von Prof. Dr. Kim Siebenhüner