The hornbeam is transported to the small inner courtyard of the main university building with the help of a crane.

Hornbeam becomes an eye-catcher

Tree planting to redesign the small inner courtyard in Jena's main university building
The hornbeam is transported to the small inner courtyard of the main university building with the help of a crane.
Image: Stephan Laudien/Universität Jena

Published: | By: Janine Kalisch

The crane carries the hornbeam over the roof of the main university building.
The crane carries the hornbeam over the roof of the main university building.
Image: Thomas Franke-Opitz/Universität Jena

It's not every day that you see a tree hovering above the roof of the main building of the University of Jena. A seven and a half metre high hornbeam was transported by crane from Schloßgasse to the small inner courtyard of the main university building to take up its new position. The action was made possible by donations collected by the Friends and Sponsors of the University of Jena after the former Chancellor Dr Klaus Bartholmé asked for donations for the redesign of the small inner courtyard instead of gifts on the occasion of his retirement.

Quiet breaks and standing receptions

As early as 1908, when the main university building was built according to plans by architect Theodor Fischer, the idea was to use the small inner courtyard between the north and south wings as an island of tranquillity in addition to the large inner courtyard with its connection to the refectory. The commitment of the Friends and Sponsors of the University to the redesign of the small inner courtyard has now led to the realisation of the project. The contract was awarded to the landscape architecture firm impuls°Landschaftsarchitektur Facius PartGmbB, while the gardening and landscaping work was carried out by Bennert GmbH.

The strict symmetry of the approximately 200 m² courtyard, which is characterised by the rectangular open space and the oval border, is to be broken up by three wooden benches and the solitary tree. The angular shape of the wooden benches, which were made by carpenters and locksmiths from the university's master craftsmen's department of construction technology, symbolise the first letters of the key words from the university's mission statement: Light, Life, Liberty. With the current planting of the hornbeam, which is considered to be particularly robust and drought-tolerant, the façade of the main university building will remain visible, while the tree crown will provide sufficient shade for quiet breaks and standing receptions in summer.

The redesign of the small inner courtyard is mainly funded by donations from the Society of Friends and Sponsors of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. In addition to Dr Klaus Bartholmé, the former Head of the President's Office Dr Renate Adam and Emeritus Professor Dr Rainer Silbereisen, numerous members of the Friends and Supporters and employees of the University were involved in the redesign.

Bird's eye view of the small inner courtyard of the main university building
Bird's eye view of the small inner courtyard of the main university building
Image: Thomas Franke-Opitz/Universität Jena

Contact:

Katja Barbara Bär
Chief Communications Officer (CCO)
Communications and Marketing
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena

Die Hainbuche wird mithilfe eines Kranes in den kleinen Innenhof des Unihauptgebäudes transportiert.

Hainbuche wird zum Blickfang

Baumpflanzung zur Neugestaltung des kleinen Innenhofes im Jenaer Universitätshauptgebäude
Die Hainbuche wird mithilfe eines Kranes in den kleinen Innenhof des Unihauptgebäudes transportiert.
Foto: Stephan Laudien/Universität Jena

Meldung vom: | Verfasser/in: Janine Kalisch

Der Kran trägt die Hainbuche über das Dach des Unihauptgebäudes.
Foto: Thomas Franke-Opitz/Universität Jena

Einen Baum, der über dem Dach des Hauptgebäudes der Universität Jena schwebt, sieht man nicht alle Tage. Mit einem Kran wurde eine siebeneinhalb Meter hohe Hainbuche von der Schloßgasse in den kleinen Innenhof des Universitätshauptgebäudes transportiert, um dort ihren neuen Standort zu beziehen. Möglich wurde die Aktion durch Spenden, die die Freunde und Förderer der Universität Jena gesammelt hatten, nachdem der ehemalige Kanzler Dr. Klaus Bartholmé anlässlich seiner Verabschiedung in den Ruhestand statt Geschenken um Spenden für die Umgestaltung des kleinen Innenhofes gebeten hatte.

Ruhige Pausen und Stehempfänge

Bereits 1908, als das Hauptgebäude der Universität nach Plänen des Architekten Theodor Fischer erbaut wurde, gab es die Idee, neben dem großen Innenhof mit seiner Anbindung zur Mensa auch den kleinen Innenhof zwischen Nord- und Südflügel als Ruheinsel zu nutzen. Das Engagement der Freunde und Förderer der Universität für die Neugestaltung des kleinen Innenhofes führte nun zur Realisierung des Projektes. Den Zuschlag erhielt das Landschaftsarchitekturbüro impuls°Landschaftsarchitektur Facius PartGmbB, die Garten- und Landschaftsbauarbeiten wurden von der Bennert GmbH ausgeführt.

Die strenge Symmetrie des etwa 200 m² großen Innenhofs, die durch die rechteckige Freifläche und die ovale Randeinfassung geprägt ist, soll durch drei Sitzbänke aus Holz und den Solitärbaum aufgelockert werden. Die Winkelform der Holzbänke, die von den Tischlern und Schlossern des Meisterbereichs Bautechnik der Universität gefertigt wurden, symbolisieren die Anfangsbuchstaben der Schlagworte aus dem Leitbild der Uni: Light, Life, Liberty. Mit der heutigen Pflanzung der Hainbuche, die als besonders robust und trockenheitsverträglich gilt, bleibt die Fassade des Unihauptgebäudes weiterhin sichtbar, während die Baumkrone im Sommer ausreichend Schatten für ruhige Pausen und Stehempfänge bieten soll.

Die Neugestaltung des kleinen Innenhofs wird überwiegend aus Spenden der Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena getragen. Neben Dr. Klaus Bartholmé, der ehemaligen Leiterin des Präsidialamtes Dr. Renate Adam, und dem Emeritus Prof. Dr. Rainer Silbereisen hatten sich zahlreiche Mitglieder der Freunde und Förderer sowie Beschäftigte der Universität für die Neugestaltung engagiert.

Vogelperspektive auf den kleinen Innenhof des Unihauptgebäudes
Foto: Thomas Franke-Opitz/Universität Jena

Kontakt:

Katja Barbara Bär
Chief Communications Officer (CCO)
Abteilung Hochschulkommunikation
Universitätshauptgebäude
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena