Geld

Long-term study fees

Studies in XL
Money

On 3 April 2003, the Thuringian State Parliament decided to introduce long-term study fees changing the Thuringian Higher Education Act (ThürHG). According to it, the Thuringian institutions of higher education are expected to check obligations to pay and, if necessary, request payment of the fee during enrolment or re-registration. Long-term study fees are due if students exceed a specific number of university semesters. This does not depend on the subjects being studied, but merely on the period during which studying takes place at German institutions of higher education. If the standard time of study for an initial professional qualification is exceeded by 4 semesters, the student then has to pay €500 for every additional semester. The same rule applies to consecutive study programmes consisting of a bachelor’s and master’s degree. However, exceptions may be requested. Information, templates, and forms for your current situation can be found below.

Charging fees is in accordance with the section 4 of the ThürHGEG.

Information

The income generated from the long-term fees belong to the University in their entirety in order to carry out its tasks. This means that the University does not transfer the income to any external institutions, but allocates the funds for study-related expenses.

What standard duration of study is decisive? Show content

The standard duration of study is determined according to the relevant examination regulations or regulations for registration of the current study programme.

  • The total standard duration of study is the determining factor on consecutive study programmes leading to a bachelor’s degree, Baccalaureate degree, master’s degree or Magister degree.
  • If a student enrols for two or more study programmes at the same time (parallel studies) then the study programme with the longest standard duration of study is taken into account.
What applies for a second undergraduate study programme? Show content

In the case of a further undergraduate study programme after a completed degree, the standard duration of study for the first undergraduate study programme and the second must be combined if:

  • completing both study programmes is necessary to comply with professional regulations to acquire the intended vocational qualification.
  • a final grade of the first undergraduate study programme that is far above the average of the graduation year is proven.

If a student enrols for two or more study programmes simultaneously, the fee must only be paid for one of them, namely for the one with the longer standard duration of study.

When is a final grade “far above average”? Show content

The final grade must be among the top 20% of all final grades of the relevant graduation year.
A graduation year comprises all students of the relevant study programme who graduated between 1 October and 30 September of the following year (i.e. academic year/year of study).

What standard duration of study applies in examination regulations with a separate examination semester? Show content

Provided that examination regulations stipulate a standard duration of study without examination periods, you should apply another term for standard duration of study which is stricter than the one defined in the ThürHG. The decisive factor is therefore not what examination regulations set out as the standard duration of study, but what corresponds to the legal definition instead, i.e. the standard duration of study frequently includes examination periods.

What is taken into account regarding the fee-free study period? Show content

When defining the fee-free study period, all study periods at German institutions of higher education within the scope and application of the German Basic Law (Grundgesetz, GG) are taken into consideration. However, there some exceptions: neither a change of study programme until the completion of the second semester is taken into account nor a leave of absence.

Which institutions of higher education are not covered by the scope and application of the Basic Law? Show content

There are: study periods at public administration colleges, foreign institutions of higher education, and institutions of higher education in the former German Democratic Republic. In the case of private/non-public institutions of higher education and professional academies, demanding issues of definition must be clarified first.

Are study periods abroad taken into account? Show content
  • Generally, study periods spent abroad before the beginning of one’s studies in Germany are not taken into account.
  • Students who complete one or more semesters at foreign institutions of higher education as part of their studies at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena must apply for a leave of absence. Otherwise, those semesters are added up to the other semesters as full semesters when calculating the fee-free period of study.
When the fee must not be paid? Show content

Students must not pay the fee for the periods in which they are on leave of absence, and for the semesters in which they receive the benefits in accordance with the Federal Act on Support for Education and Training (Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz, BAföG).

Are there any reasons that may lead to deadlines being extended? Show content

The obligation to pay may be postponed, upon formal request, for the times:

  • of taking care and bringing up children, however, up to a max. of reaching a double standard length of study programme,
  • of taking care for close relatives if you provide valid reasons, however, up to a max. of reaching a double standard length of study programme, and
  • active involvement in university committees to a max. of two semesters if these are not added to the standard length of study programme in line with the examination regulations.
Which children are taken into account? Show content

You may request a leave of absence for childcare for your own children, foster children, and stepchildren or grandchildren living in your household. The regulations are based on the BAföG.

Which parent is entitled to an extension of the fee-free study period? Show content

Generally, the extension is available to both parents provided that they live with the child in the same household.

Which university committees are taken into account, what is an “active participation” and may I prove it? Show content

These are the university bodies defined in the Thuringian Higher Education Act, e.g. Senate, faculty councils, and the student representative bodies (student council, student representatives). If you are member of a committee for least one year, one semester may be recognized; if your membership lasts at least two years, you are granted two semesters. Your proof should be provided in a suitable manner, for example as a certificate issued by the committee management.

May the fee be waived or reduced? Show content

In cases of undue hardship, the fee can be partially or fully waived. These are the examples of undue hardship:

  • consequences of an impairment, of a chronic illness or severe illness that affect the duration of a study period
  • consequences of being a victim of a crime
  • a serious financial crisis during the final period of your studies, i.e. the final examination
How can I prove that an impairment/illness/result of a crime justifies an extension of the times of study? Show content

To start with, the disability etc. must be primarily causal. This means that other reasons (e.g. changing courses, re-sitting examinations) must not have led to the extension of studies. Delaying studies must therefore exist for a prolonged period. Medical reports must confirm the exact duration of the disability. Furthermore, they should present the reasons and the degree to which the ability to study was affected or not possible clearly. What is important is that a doctor—or a therapist if necessary, identify a specific restriction in the capacity to study. Sweeping statements mean it is not possible to determine a personal extension of the course from a disability etc.

Should the fees also be paid for an examination semester? Show content

As the fee-free period is calculated based on the standard duration of study in which all examination periods are contained, an examination semester, which takes place after the fee-free period has elapsed, is generally subject to payment of fees.

What does “during the final part of studies, i.e. the final examination” mean? Show content

A sweeping statement is not possible due to the varied, different examination procedures in Diplom, Magister, and state examination study programmes. In individual cases, the specific examination process should be checked based on the relevant examination regulations to see which part of the examination can be defined as the “final” one. If this part is in a semester for which an application was submitted to waive the fee, it can be considered as suitably close. In the case of bachelor’s programmes and master's programmes, the time aspect of the financial hardship rule is only applicable for the semester in which the final thesis is both written and submitted.

When may a “financial hardship” be assumed? Show content

For single students living in their own household (independent of parents) and are liable for contributions in the public health and long-term care insurance system, the highest support cap as per BAföG can be seen as the upper limit. If resources are available that do not exceed this limit, then financial hardship—provided that no other assets are available—can be assumed. For single students who still live with their parents and/or are not liable for contributions in the public health and long-term care insurance system, the correspondingly reduced rates as per BAföG are applied. In the case of needs-based communities (students with children and/or spouses), no fixed income limits have been applied up to the present. Financial hardship should be determined in accordance with specific circumstances in individual cases.

Student Service Center
University Main Building, Room 0.65
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena
Phone
+49 3641 9-411118
Fax
+49 3641 9-411112
Opening hours:
Tuesday and Thursday 10:00 - 13:00 Uhr
at the information counter
Postal address:
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
07737 Jena
Share this page
The Friedrich Schiller University on the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Geld

Langzeitstudiengebühren

Studium XL

Der Thüringer Landtag hat durch eine Änderung des Hochschulgesetzes am 3. April 2003 beschlossen, Langzeitstudiengebühren einzuführen. Die Thüringer Hochschulen sind in Ausführung des Gesetzes angehalten, die Gebührenpflicht zu überprüfen und ggf. die Zahlung der Gebühr bei der Immatrikulation oder der Rückmeldung zu verlangen. Langzeitstudiengebühren werden fällig, sobald Studierende eine bestimmte Zahl von Hochschulsemestern überschritten haben. Dabei kommt es nicht auf die Fachrichtung an, sondern maßgeblich auf die Zeit, die insgesamt an deutschen Hochschulen studiert wurde. Bei Überschreiten der Regelstudienzeit um 4 Semester eines ersten berufsqualifizierenden Studiengangs, müssen 500,00  für jedes Semester zusätzlich geleistet werden. Dieselbe Regelung gilt bei konsekutiven, also aus Bachelor und Master bestehenden Studienangeboten. Es können aber aber auch Ausnahmen beantragt werden. Informationen, Vordrucke und Formulare für Ihre jeweilige Ausgangslage finden Sie unten auf der Seite.

Die Gebührenerhebung erfolgt gemäß § 4 Thüringer Hochschulgebühren- und -entgeltgesetz in Verbindung mit der Allgemeinen Gebührenordnung der FSU Jena.

Information

Die Einnahmen aus den Gebühren stehen der Universität in der Gesamtheit zur Erfüllung Ihrer Aufgaben zur Verfügung, d. h. es erfolgen keine Abführungen an Stellen außerhalb der Hochschule. Die Verwendung des Geldes ist zweckgebunden. Es werden damit studienbezogene Ausgaben getätigt.

Welche Regelstudienzeit (RSZ) ist maßgebend? Inhalt einblenden

Die RSZ eines grundständigen Studiums bestimmt sich nach der jeweiligen Prüfungs- oder Approbationsordnung des aktuellen Studienganges.

  • Bei aufbauenden Studiengängen, die zu einem Bachelor-, Bakkalaureus-, Master- oder Magistergrad führen, ist die Gesamtregelstudienzeit maßgebend.
  • Bei gleichzeitiger Immatrikulation in zwei oder mehreren Studiengängen (sog. Doppel- oder Parallelstudium) wird der Studiengang mit der längsten RSZ zugrunde gelegt.

Bei gleichzeitiger Immatrikulation in zwei oder mehreren Studiengängen ist die Gebühr nur für einen Studiengang zu entrichten, und zwar für den mit der längeren Regelstudienzeit.

Was gilt für ein Zweitstudium? Inhalt einblenden

Bei einem weiteren grundständigen Studium nach einem abgeschlossenen Hochschulstudium (sog. Zweitstudium) werden die Regelstudienzeiten des Erststudiums und des zweiten Studiums zusammengezählt, sofern

  • für die Erlangung des angestrebten Berufsabschlusses das Studium zweier Studiengänge berufsrechtlich erforderlich ist oder
  • ein weit über dem Durchschnitt des Prüfungsjahrganges liegender Abschluss des Erststudiums nachgewiesen wird.

Bei gleichzeitiger Immatrikulation in zwei oder mehreren Studiengängen ist die Gebühr nur für einen Studiengang zu entrichten, und zwar für den mit der längeren Regelstudienzeit.

Wann liegt ein 'weit überdurchschnittlicher' Abschluss vor? Inhalt einblenden

Der Abschluss muss zu den besten 20 % des Prüfungsjahrganges gehören.
Ein Prüfungsjahrgang ist durch den Zeitraum vom 1. Oktober bis zum 30. September des Folgejahres festgelegt (sog. akademisches Jahr).

Welche RSZ gilt bei Prüfungsordnungen mit gesondertem Prüfungssemester? Inhalt einblenden

Soweit Prüfungsordnungen eine RSZ ohne Prüfungszeiten vorsehen, verwenden sie einen anderen - engeren - Regelstudienzeitbegriff als das Gesetz. Maßgebend ist somit nicht, was eine Prüfungsordnung als Regelstudienzeit bezeichnet, sondern was der gesetzlichen Definition entspricht, d.h. die RSZ schließt Prüfungszeiten regelmäßig ein.

Was wird auf die gebührenfreie Studienzeit angerechnet? Inhalt einblenden

Es werden alle Studienzeiten an deutschen Hochschulen im Geltungsbereich des Grundgesetzes angerechnet (Hochschulsemester). Nicht berücksichtigt wird ein einmaliger Wechsel des Studienganges bis zum Abschluss des zweiten Semesters. Ferner werden Urlaubssemester nicht angerechnet.

Welche Hochschulen fallen nicht unter den Geltungsbereich des Grundgesetzes? Inhalt einblenden

Studienzeiten an Verwaltungsfachhochschulen, ausländischen Hochschulen und Hochschulen der ehemaligen DDR werden nicht angerechnet. Bei privaten bzw. nicht staatlichen Hochschulen und Berufsakademien sind teils schwierige Abgrenzungsfragen zu klären.

Werden Studienzeiten im Ausland angerechnet? Inhalt einblenden
  • Studienzeiten im Ausland, die  vor einer Studienaufnahme in Deutschland zurückgelegt wurden, werden grundsätzlich nicht angerechnet.
  • Studierende, die während iIres Studiums an der FSU an ausländischen Hochschulen ein oder mehrere Semester absolvieren, müssen sich jedoch an der FSU beurlauben lassen (ohne Beurlaubung werden solche Semester in der Regel auf die gebührenfreie Studienzeit in vollem Umfang angerechnet!!). 
Wann ist die Gebühr nicht zu zahlen? Inhalt einblenden

Die Gebührenpflicht besteht nicht für Zeiten einer Beurlaubung und für Semester, in denen Leistungen nach dem Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz (BAföG) bezogen werden.

Gibt es Gründe, die zu einer Verlängerung der Fristen führen? Inhalt einblenden

Auf Antrag wird die Gebührenpflicht hinausgeschoben um Zeiten

  • der tatsächlichen Betreuung von Kindern bis zur Vollendung des 14. Lebensjahres, maximal jedoch bis zum Erreichen der doppelten Regelstudienzeit
  • der Pflege eines nahen Angehörigen soweit dessen Pflegebedürftigkeit nachgewiesen wird, höchstens jedoch bis zum Erreichen der doppelten Regelstudienzeit und
  • der aktiven Mitarbeit in Hochschulgremien, soweit diese nach der Prüfungsordnung nicht auf die Regelstudienzeit angerechnet werden, max. um zwei Semester.
Welche Kinder werden berücksichtigt? Inhalt einblenden

Das  Gebührenrecht knüpft dazu an das Bundeselterngeld- und Elternzeitgesetz an. Kinderbetreuungszeiten können danach berücksichtigt werden für eigene Kinder, Pflegekinder, in den Haushalt aufgenommene Kinder des Ehegatten (Stiefkinder) und in den Haushalt aufgenommene Enkel.

Welchem Elternteil steht die Verlängerung der gebührenfreien Studienzeit zu? Inhalt einblenden

Die Verlängerung steht grundsätzlich beiden Elternteilen zu. Voraussetzung ist jedoch, dass sie mit dem Kind in häuslicher Gemeinschaft leben.

Welche Hochschulgremien werden berücksichtigt, was ist 'aktive Mitarbeit' und wie ist sie nachzuweisen? Inhalt einblenden

Es werden die im Hochschulgesetz benannten Kollegialorgane (z. B. Senat, Fakultätsrat) und die Gremien der studentischen Selbstverwaltung (Studentenrat, Fachschaftsrat) berücksichtigt. Bei einer Mitgliedschaft in einem Gremium von mind. einem Jahr wird 1 Semester, bei einer Mitgliedschaft von mind. zwei Jahren werden 2 Semester gutgeschrieben. Der Nachweis ist in geeigneter Weise zu führen, z. B. durch eine Bescheinigung der Gremienleitung.

Gibt es Gründe, bei denen die Gebühr erlassen oder ermäßigt werden kann? Inhalt einblenden

Bei Vorliegen einer unbilligen Härte soll die Gebühr teilweise oder ganz erlassen werden. Eine unbillige Härte kann vorliegen bei...

  • studienzeitverlängernden Auswirkungen einer Behinderung oder chronischen oder schweren Erkrankung
  • studienzeitverlängernden Folgen als Opfer einer Straftat 
  • einer wirtschaftlichen Notlage in zeitlich unmittelbarer Nähe zum letzten Abschnitt der Abschlussprüfung

oder wenn die Gebührenerhebung aufgrund besonderer Umstände des Einzelfalles eine unzumutbare Härte darstellen würde.

Wie lässt sich zu einer Behinderung/Erkrankung/Folge einer Straftat eine 'Studienzeitverlängerung' nachweisen? Inhalt einblenden

Zunächst muss die Behinderung etc. allein  oder weit überwiegend ursächlich sein, d. h. andere Gründe (z. BA. Studiengangwechsel, Wiederholungsprüfungen etc. ) dürfen nicht zur Verlängerung des Studiums geführt haben. Die Verzögerung des Studiums  muss sich daher über einen erheblichen Zeitraum erstrecken. Ärztliche Gutachten müssen die genaue zeitliche Dauer der Behinderung etc. belegen und nachvollziehbar darstellen, weshalb und in welchem Umfang keine oder nur eine eingeschränkte Studierfähigkeit gegeben war. Wichtig ist dabei, dass ein Arzt, ggf. auch ein Therapeut eine konkrete Einschränkung der Studierfähigkeit bestimmt. Pauschale Aussagen lassen es dagegen nicht zu, eine persönliche Verlängerung des Studiums aus einer Behinderung etc. zu ermitteln.

Sind die Gebühren auch für ein Prüfungssemester zu zahlen? Inhalt einblenden

Da der gebührenfreie Zeitraum auf der Grundlage der Regelstudienzeit errechnet wird, in der Regelstudienzeit aber schon alle Prüfungszeiten enthalten sind, unterliegt ein Prüfungssemester, das nach Ausschöpfung des gebührenfreien Zeitraums ansteht, grundsätzlich der Gebührenpflicht. 

Was versteht man unter 'zeitlich unmittelbarer Nähe zum letzten Abschnitt der Abschlussprüfung'? Inhalt einblenden

Eine generelle Aussage ist wegen der vielfältigen und unterschiedlichen Ausgestaltung der Prüfungsverfahren in Diplom-, Magister- und Staatsexamensstudiengängen nicht möglich. Im Einzelfall ist das konkrete Prüfungsverfahren nach der maßgebenden Prüfungsordnung darauf zu untersuchen, welcher Prüfungsteil als 'letzter Abschnitt' angesehen werden kann. Liegt dieser Teil in einem Semester, für das der Erlass der Gebühr beantragt wird, kann man eine 'unmittelbare zeitliche Nähe' annehmen. Bei den Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen ist der zeitliche Aspekt aus der Härtefallregelung nur für das Semester erfüllt, in dem die Abschlussarbeit geschrieben und auch abgegeben werden muss.

Wann ist eine wirtschaftliche Notlage anzunehmen? Inhalt einblenden

Für alleinstehende Studierende, die einen eigenen (elternunabhängigen) Hausstand haben und beitragspflichtig in der gesetzlichen Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung sind, kann der Förderungshöchstsatz nach dem BAföG als Grenzwert angesehen werden. Stehen nur Mittel zur Verfügung, die diesen Wert nicht überschreiten, kann eine wirtschaftliche Notlage - sofern kein Vermögen vorhanden ist - angenommen werden. Für alleinstehende Studierende, die noch bei den Eltern wohnen und/oder nicht beitragspflichtig in der gesetzlichen Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung sind, finden die entsprechenden geminderten Sätze nach dem BAföG derzeit Anwendung. Für Bedarfsgemeinschaften (Studierende mit Kindern und/oder Ehegatten) gelten bislang keine festen Einkommensgrenzen. Hier ist die wirtschaftliche Notlage nach den konkreten Verhältnissen im Einzelfall zu bestimmen.

Studierenden-Service-Zentrum
Universitätshauptgebäude, Raum 0.65
Fürstengraben 1
07743 Jena
Telefon
+49 3641 9-31118
Fax
+49 3641 9-31112
Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag und Donnerstag 10:00 - 13:00 Uhr
am Info-Tresen im SSZ
Postanschrift:
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
07737 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
Zurück zum Seitenanfang