Inselplatz Campus

A campus for all

The Inselplatz Campus will be a place for research, teaching, meeting and communication
Inselplatz Campus
Image: CODE UNIQUE Architekten BDA

A modern, new university campus has been under construction on Inselplatz since March 2020. Four larger building structures will be erected in the heart of Jena. The Institute of Psychology will have its place here, as will the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, a branch library of the Thuringian University and State Library (ThULB) "Natural Sciences and Preclinical", as well as a cafeteria and the new University Computer Centre. This was preceded by a two-stage open architectural competition for the four buildings, the multi-storey car park and the outdoor facilities, jointly organised by the city and the Free State. Two Dresden-based firms, CODE UNIQUE Architekten BDA and QUERFELDEINS, prevailed among the 89 international applicants. Their award-winning design for the Inselplatz campus will now be realised.

The client is the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Office for Building and Transport, and the user is the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena. The total volume of the buildings is around €190 million, of which the buildings of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science and the Computer Centre are co-financed with around €84 million from European Union funds within the framework of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). This makes the Inselplatz the second largest university building project in Thuringia after the Jena University Hospital.

The ceremonial laying of the foundation stone took place on 7 September 2020, and the EU-funded buildings are scheduled for completion by 2023. The other buildings will follow by 2025. A time capsule was buried on the occasion of the foundation stone laying. It contains a face mask from the University, the English edition of LICHTGEDANKEN No. 7 de "Future without Growth", a music box with the "Ode to Joy" from the city as well as daily newspapers and coins from the country.

On 25 April, the topping-out ceremony took place as planned - another milestone of the major construction site has been reached. Among the numerous guests were the Minister of Science Wolfgang Tiefensee, the Minister of Infrastructure Susanna Karawanskij, the Lord Mayor Dr. Thomas Nitzsche and Hans-Karl Rippel, President of the State Office for Construction and Transport. All those present were able to see for themselves the progress of the new building and gain an impression of the future Campus Inselplatz.

Complete redesign of Jena's city centre

A special challenge is the high requirement on the energy efficiency of the buildings, because the energy conservation regulations are to be significantly undercut. For example, the heat and refrigeration supply will be supplied via 60-metre-deep geothermal probes under the building structures. In addition, the waste heat from the Computer Centre and the energy from the photovoltaic systems on the roofs are used for the energy supply of the buildings. The state and the University are thus committing themselves to sustainable and energy-saving use.

Protected courtyards, green open spaces and short distances are intended to facilitate encounters and turn the Inselplatz into an inner-city place of communication. "The new, urgently needed spaces in the city centre expand the university's possibilities for research and teaching. They also offer space for the necessary infrastructure as well as for communication and encounters. This is extremely important, because science thrives on exchange," says Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal, President of Friedrich Schiller University Jena.

The Inselplatz campus as a 3-D model

Until now, the University facilities have been partially scattered and decentralised in rented office buildings in the city, which no longer meet the usage requirements. The new building will significantly improve study and research operations. But not only the University, but also the citizens of Jena are to benefit from the new campus. For example, the city is building a multi-storey car park in the direct vicinity of the computer centre, which should at least compensate for the loss of the existing parking spaces. The new campus will completely redesign the public space of the city centre and further strengthen Jena's unique connection between University and city life.

Interior and exterior perspectives

Foyer
Information

You can get an insight into the current construction work on the "Campus Inselplatz" via our construction site webcam. Further information is available on the website of the Thuringian State Office for Building and Transport (TLBV). If you have any questions about the construction site, please contact cip@tlbv.thueringen.de.

Contact

Project team 'Inselplatz Campus' (user representatives)
Nollendorfer Straße 26
07743 Jena

Campus Inselplatz

Ein Campus für alle

Der Campus Inselplatz wird ein Ort für Forschung, Lehre, Begegnung und Kommunikation
Campus Inselplatz
Foto: CODE UNIQUE Architekten BDA

Auf dem Inselplatz entsteht seit März 2020 ein moderner, neuer Hochschulcampus. Im Herzen Jenas werden vier größere Gebäudestrukturen realisiert. Das Institut für Psychologie wird hier seinen Platz haben, genauso wie die Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik, eine Teilbibliothek der Thüringer Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek (ThULB) "Naturwissenschaften und Vorklinikum" sowie eine Cafeteria und das neue Universitätsrechenzentrum. Vorausgegangen war ein gemeinsam von Stadt und Freistaat ausgelobter zweistufiger offener Architekturwettbewerb für die vier Gebäude, das Parkhaus und die Freianlagen. Aus dem internationalen, 89 Büros umfassenden Bewerberkreis setzten sich mit CODE UNIQUE Architekten BDA mit QUERFELDEINS zwei aus Dresden stammende Büros durch. Ihr preisgekrönter Entwurf für den Campus Inselplatz wird nun realisiert.

Bauherr ist der Freistaat Thüringen, vertreten durch das Landesamt für Bau und Verkehr, und Nutzerin ist die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Das Gesamtvolumen der Gebäude beträgt rd. 190 Millionen Euro, wovon die Gebäude der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik sowie des Rechenzentrums mit rd. 84 Mio. € aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union im Rahmen des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) kofinanziert werden. Damit ist der Inselplatz nach dem Universitätsklinikum Jena das zweitgrößte Hochschulbauvorhaben in Thüringen. Die feierliche Grundsteinlegung erfolgte am 7. September 2020, die Fertigstellung der EU-geförderten Gebäude ist bis 2023 vorgesehen. Die weiteren Bauten werden bis 2025 folgen. Anlässlich der Grundsteinlegung wurde eine Zeitkapsel vergraben. Sie beinhaltet einen Mundschutz der Universität, die englische Ausgabe der LICHTGEDANKEN Nr. 7 „Zukunft ohne Wachstum“, eine Spieluhr mit der „Ode an die Freude“ von der Stadt sowie Tageszeitungen und Münzen vom Land.

Am 25. April fand planmäßig das Richtfest statt – ein weiterer Meilenstein der Großbaustelle ist erreicht. Zu den zahlreichen Gästen des Richtfestes gehörten auch Wissenschaftsminister Wolfgang Tiefensee, Infrastrukturministerin Susanna Karawanskij, Oberbürgermeister Dr. Thomas Nitzsche und Hans-Karl Rippel, Präsident des Landesamtes für Bau und Verkehr. Alle Anwesenden konnten sich vom Fortschritt des Neubaus überzeugen und einen Eindruck vom zukünftigen Campus Inselplatz gewinnen.

Völlige Neugestaltung der Jenaer Innenstadt

Eine besondere Herausforderung ist der hohe Anspruch an die Energieeffizienz der Gebäude, denn die Energiesparverordnung soll deutlich unterschritten werden. Die Wärme- und Kälteversorgung erfolgt beispielsweise über 60 m tiefe Geothermiesonden unter den Baukörpern. Außerdem wird die Abwärme des Rechenzentrums und die Energie der Photovoltaikanlagen auf den Dächern für die energetische Versorgung der Gebäude genutzt. Das Land und die Universität verpflichten sich damit zu einer nachhaltigen und energiesparenden Nutzung.

Geschützte Höfe, grüne Freiflächen und kurze Wege sollen Begegnungen ermöglichen und den Inselplatz zu einem innerstädtischen Ort der Kommunikation werden lassen. »Die neuen, dringend notwendigen Flächen im Zentrum der Stadt erweitern die Möglichkeiten der Universität für Forschung und Lehre. Sie bieten noch dazu Platz für die notwendige Infrastruktur sowie für Kommunikation und Begegnung. Dies ist extrem wichtig, denn Wissenschaft lebt vom Austausch«, so Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal, Präsident der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena.

Paradiesfilm Agentur GmbH

Der Campus Inselplatz als 3-D-Modell

Bisher sind die universitären Einrichtungen teilweise verstreut und dezentral in angemieteten Bürogebäuden der Stadt untergebracht, die den Nutzungsanforderungen nicht mehr genügen. Durch den Neubau wird es zu einer deutlichen Verbesserung des Studien- und Forschungsbetriebs kommen. Aber nicht nur die Universität, sondern auch die Bürgerinnen und Bürger von Jena sollen vom neuen Campus profitieren. So errichtet die Stadt in direkter Nachbarschaft zum Rechenzentrum ein Parkhaus, das den Wegfall der vorhandenen Stellplätze mindestens kompensieren soll. Der neue Campus wird den öffentlichen Raum der Innenstadt völlig neu gestalten und Jenas einzigartige Verbindung von Universität und Stadtleben zusätzlich verstärken.

CODE UNIQUE Architekten BDA

Innen- und Außenperspektiven

Foyer
Information

Einen Einblick in das aktuelle Baugeschehen am "Campus Inselplatz" erhalten Sie über unsere Baustellen-Webcam. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie über die Internetseite des Thüringer Landesamts für Bau und Verkehr (TLBV). Fragen zur Baustelle richten Sie bitte an cip@tlbv.thueringen.de.

Ansprechpartner an der Universität

Projektgruppe "Campus Inselplatz" (Nutzendenvertretung)