Bronzebüste der Göttin Minerva, Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), Senatssaal


of Friedrich Schiller University
Bronzebüste der Göttin Minerva, Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), Senatssaal
Picture: FSU

The Senate is involved in all important decision-making processes of Friedrich Schiller University Jena, such as the election of the President or election of the members of the University Supervisory Board. It confirms the Vice-Presidents in office, decides upon the University’s Constitution, and enacts further legal resolutions applying to all of the University. The Senate also elects the Equal Opportunities Officer and the Diversity Officer. Other than that, the Senate takes a stand on all relevant questions concerning the University.

It consists of 25 members (current term of office: 1 October 2022 – 31 September 2025) who are entitled to vote: 13 university lecturers, 4 students, 4 academic staff members, and 4 members from the administration and technical infrastructure. Further members include the President who is also the chairperson of the Senate and has advisory capacity, other members of the Executive Board, the Deans, the Equal Opportunities Officer, the Diversity Officer as well as representatives for Employees with Disabilities, members from the Staff Representative Council, the University Supervisory Board, and the Council of Doctoral Candidates.