dark clouds in the blue sky

Mental Health​ First Aid – ​Help with issues of wellbeing

The Mental Health First Aid Team of Jena University offer confidential and simple first help with emotional distress and in psychological crises.
dark clouds in the blue sky
Image: (c) istockphoto Konrad Steynberg

Mental Health First Aid – First Aid when you're experiencing a personal crisis

Stress? Depressed? Burn out? Emotionally vulnerable? – Our Mental Health First Aid team is here to support you!

Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) is an internationally recognised programme designed to spot the signs and symptoms of mental ill health, provide help on a first aid basis and guide someone to appropriate support. Our MHFA team have all completed the accredited training at the Central Institute for Mental Health in Mannheim, and are available to talk to about issues with your wellbeing. They are not therapists, but they can help identify the right support to address your needs. All consultations are strictly confidential.

The Mental Health First Aid Team at Friedrich Schiller University

Friedrich Schiller University Jena has been offering a variety of prevention measures in order to support all employees and associated researchers in their self care and psychological wellbeing. The Studierendenwerk of the Thuringian State also provides consultation and support offers around your psychological health.

As of 2021, Graduate Academy and the Jena Alliance Life in Focus have created an additional offer to help bridge the gap between prevention and treatment: Our MHFA first aiders are situated in different university institutions, and are open to assist all employees of the university independently of their working area, as well as all young researchers (doctoral candidates, postdocs).

MHFA First Aider
|
English, German, Dutch
Jena School for Microbial Communication
Hendrik Huthoff, Dr
Coordinator local MHFA first aid training
Hendrik Huthoff JSMC
Phone
+49 3641 9-49540
Hellfeldsches Haus
Neugasse 23
07743 Jena
MHFA First Aider
|
English, German, French
Graduate Academy
Anne Dünger
"Cultural Change Postdocs"
Anne Dünger
Phone
+49 3641 9-401318
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena
MHFA First Aider
|
German, English
University Hospital Jena, Jena School for Molecular Medicine
Anne Knierim
Coordinator
Anne Knierin
Phone
+49 3641 9-395692
Hans-Knöll-Straße 2
07745 Jena
MHFA First Aider
|
Currently on parental leave
Office of vice-president for young researchers and diversity management
Maria Langhammer, Dr
Graduate Academy - Welcome and Service Desk for Doctoral Candidates and Postdocs
Dr. Maria Langhammer
Phone
+49 3641 9-401360
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena

Our Partner: The MHFA Programme at Central Institute for Meantal Health (CIMH) Mannheim

What is the MHFA Programme? Show content

More than 40 percent of Germans will experience mental illnesses at least once in the course of their lives. Even though we encounter many people suffering from psychological illnesses in our direct environment, the issue of mental health still causes a lot of uncertainty, prejudices, and anxiety. This is why we are conviced that prevention and desigmatisation in the field of mental health are of great importance. 

This is where the MHFA First Aiders Programme enters the picture. MHFA First Aider Trainings for mental health have been developed in line with the successful guideline for First Aif with physical illness. The programme trains amateurs as Mental Health First Aiders within 12 hours.

Apart from providing theoretical background information, the training also teaches practical first aid measures for mental health issues, both while still developping, but also while already causing an acute mental crisis.

The MHFA First Aider Training improves the individual knowledge on mental health, reduces stigmatising behaviour, increaes the trust in one's individual competencies, and strengthens the aider's own psychological wellbeing.

Download the info flyer of the Institute for Menatal Health Mannheim here: Link (2 MB) [pdf, 2 mb] de

The Goal of MHFA Certification Classes? Show content

It enables adults to provide mental health first aid to their family, colleagues, and their friends, as it puts them in the position to succesfully read the signs and signals of mental illnesses, to understand them and react to them. The trainings are moreover offering a sensible additional benefit for educational institutions, companies, medical first aiders and many other insitutions.

For further information, please go to www.mhfa-ersthelfer.de.

Beyond the qualification of university members as MHFA first aiders via our partner programme in Mannheim, Friedrich Schiller University also plans to qualify instructors who will conduct MHFA classes on-site in Jena.

If you are interested in qualifying as a MHFA first-aider, please contact us!

Contact Partner: Dr Hendrik Huthoff (for contact details, please see above)

MHFA Partner Logo Graphic: MHFA Mannheim

University institutions to contact for matters of health and equality

Person hält einen Block mit der Aufschrift "We are equal - wir sind gleich
Equality and Diversity
This Website brings together all information on diversity and equality at Friedrich Schiller University Jena.
Please note: This website is (still) only in German.
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Dunkle Wolken am blauen Himmel

Erste Hilfe für Seelische Gesundheit

Das Mental-Health-First-Aid-Team der Universität Jena bietet vertrauliche und unkomplizierte erste Hilfe bei seelischer Not und in Krisen
Dunkle Wolken am blauen Himmel
Foto: (c) istockphoto Konrad Steynberg

Mental Health First Aid – Erste Hilfe bei psychischen Problemen

Wenn Sie sich seit einiger Zeit psychisch unwohl oder niedergeschlagen und emotional verletzlich fühlen, wenn Sie unter anhaltendem Stress leiden oder das Gefühl haben, ausgebrannt zu sein, ist das Mental Health First Aid-Team für Sie da.

Mental Health First Aid ist ein international anerkanntes Programm, das dabei hilft, die Zeichen und Symptome psychischer Erkrankungen zu erkennen, und auf Basis von Erste-Hilfe-Maßnahmen Hilfe für Betroffene anzubieten und unkompliziert weitere Hilfe zu vermitteln. Alle MHFA-Helfer*innen haben das zertifizierte MHFA-Training des Mannheimer Zentralinstituts für Seelische Gesundheit absolviert, und sind in der Lage, mit Ihnen über gesundheitliche Probleme und Störungen Ihres seelischen Wohlbefindens zu sprechen.

Wir stellen keine Diagnosen und sind keine Therapeut*innen. Aber wir können zuhören, Ihnen unkompliziert Hilfe anbieten, und sind in der Lage, Sie an die Menschen weiterzuvermitteln, die Ihnen helfen können. Alle unsere Beratungsangebote sind streng vertraulich.  

Das Mental-Health-First-Aid-Team an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena bietet seit längerem verschiedene Präventionsmaßnahmen an, um ihre Mitarbeitenden und Forschenden in der Selbstfürsorge und Beachtung ihrer seelischen Gesundheit zu unterstützen (Link). Auch das Studierendenwerk des Landes Thüringen bietet verschiedene Beratungs- und Unterstützungsangebote im Bereich der psychischen Gesundheit in Jena (Link).

Die Graduierten-Akademie hat mit Unterstützung der Jena Alliance of Graduate Schools "Life in Focus" nun ein zusätzliches Angebot an der Schnittstelle zwischen Prävention und Behandlung geschaffen. Die MHFA Ersthelfer*innen kommen aus den unterschiedlichsten Einrichtungen und sind generell ansprechbar für alle Beschäftigten der Universität und den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs (Promovierende und Postdocs).

MHFA-Ersthelfer*in
|
Englisch, Deutsch, Dutch
Jena School for Microbial Communication
Hendrik Huthoff, Dr.
Koordination MHFA Ersthilfeausbilung
Hendrik Huthoff JSMC
Telefon
+49 3641 9-49540
Hellfeldsches Haus
Neugasse 23
07743 Jena
MHFA-Ersthelfer*in
|
Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch
Graduierten-Akademie
Anne Dünger
Stelle Postdoc Kulturwandel
Anne Dünger
Telefon
+49 3641 9-401318
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena
MHFA-Ersthelfer*in
|
Deutsch, Englisch
Universitätsklinikum Jena, Jena School for Molecular Medicine
Anne Knierim
Koordinator*in
Anne Knierin
Telefon
+49 3641 9-395692
Hans-Knöll-Straße 2
07745 Jena
MHFA-Ersthelfer*in
|
In Elternzeit
Büro des Vizepräsidenten für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und Gleichstellung
Maria Langhammer, Dr.
Anlaufstelle der Graduierten-Akademie für Promovierende und Postdocs
Dr. Maria Langhammer
Telefon
+49 3641 9-401360
Haus für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs - Zur Rosen
Johannisstraße 13
07743 Jena

Unser Partner*in: Das MHFA-Ersthelferprogramm des Zentralistituts für Seelische Gesundheit Mannheim

Was ist das MHFA-Ersthelferprogramm? Inhalt einblenden

Mehr als 40 Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung erleben mindestens einmal in ihrem Leben eine behandlungsbedürftige psychische Störung. Obwohl sich viele Betroffene in unserem unmittelbaren Umfeld befinden, löst dieses Thema immer noch Verunsicherung, Vorurteile und Ängste aus, daher sind Prävention und Entstigmatisierung in diesem Bereich bedeutsam. 

Hier setzt das Programm MHFA Ersthelfer an. Der MHFA Ersthelfer-Kurs für psychische Gesundheit wurde nach dem erfolgreichen Leitbild für Erste-Hilfe bei körperlichen Erkrankungen entwickelt und bildet Laien in 12 Stunden zu Ersthelfenden für psychische Gesundheit aus.

Neben theoretischer Wissensvermittlung werden auch konkrete Erste-Hilfe-Maßnahmen bei sich entwickelnden psychischen Gesundheitsproblemen und bei akuten psychischen Krisen erlernt und durch praktische Übungen gefestigt. 

Der MHFA Ersthelfer-Kurs verbessert das Wissen über psychische Gesundheit, vermindert stigmatisierendes Verhalten, steigert das Vertrauen in die eigenen Helferkompetenzen und stärkt die eigene psychische Gesundheit.

Download des Infoflyers des Instituts für Seelische Gesundheit Mannheim: Link (2 MB) [pdf, 2 mb]

Das Ziel der MHFA-Ersthelferkurse? Inhalt einblenden

Erwachsene befähigen, ihren Angehörigen, Kolleg*innen oder Freund*innen Erste Hilfe für psychische Gesundheit zu leisten, indem sie in der Lage sind, Anzeichen von psychischen Störungen zu erkennen, zu verstehen und darauf zu reagieren. Die Kurse bieten darüber hinaus einen sinnvollen Mehrwert für Bildungseinrichtungen, Betriebe, medizinische Erstversorger*innen und viele andere Organisationen. 

Weitere Informationen unter www.mhfa-ersthelfer.de.

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena plant neben der Ausbildung weiterer Mitarbeiter*innen zu MHFA-Ersthelfe*innen über unsere Partnerschaft mit MHFA Mannheim auch die Ausbildung von Instruktor*innen, die vor Ort in Jena die MHFA-Ersthilfeausbildung vornehmen können.

Wenn Sie sich für eine MHFA-Ersthelfer*innen-Weiterbildung interessieren, kontaktieren Sie uns!

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Hendrik Huthoff (Kontakt s.o.)

MHFA Partnerschaftslogo MHFA Partnerschaftslogo Grafik: MHFA Mannheim

Einrichtungen der Universität rund um seelische Gesundheit und Gleichstellung

Person hält einen Block mit der Aufschrift "We are equal - wir sind gleich"
Gleichstellung und Diversität
Diese Seite bündelt alle Informationen rund um die Themen Gleichstellung und Diversität an der Universität Jena.
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang