Dove of peace against a yellow-blue background.

Support for Ukraine

University of Jena on the war in Ukraine and the support of students and staff affected by the war
Dove of peace against a yellow-blue background.
Graphic: Liana Franke/Universität Jena

The invasion of Ukraine breaks with the values that form the foundation of enlightenment and science.

Prof. Dr Walter Rosenthal

 

This was said by the President of Friedrich Schiller University Jena in his statement on the Russian attack of 24 February 2022, in which the university management had expressed its solidarity with the people in Ukraine and the staff and students who come from Ukraine, as well as their families.

Aid programmes for Ukrainian partners

The university will continue its cooperation with its Ukrainian partners wherever possible. This applies to student exchanges as well as research projects and the use of virtual exchange formats and services. The University of Jena participates in national and international aid programmes for students and researchers who have to leave their country as a result of the Russian aggression.

Are you looking for help? Expand entry

Study counselling for refugees

The International Office advises Ukrainians who have fled and are interested in studying at a university on study options, requirements and preparation for studies. For example, there is a guest student programme for refugees.

Counselling for students

If you have questions or problems in regard to your studies or stay at the University of Jena due to the war in Ukraine, please contact the International Office at international@uni-jena.de. They will advise you or put you in touch with the right contact person.

Emergency fund for students

The Society of Friends and Patrons of the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena e. V. supports students of the University of Jena who are in financial need due to the war with an emergency fund. Financial support can be applied for at the International Office.

Advice, support and funding programmes for researchers

Information for refugee and vulnerable researchers from Ukraine (PhD students, postdocs and experienced researchers) is summarised on this  website.

Accommodation

Psychological support

The Psychosocial Counselling Service (PSB) of the Studierendenwerk Thüringen is available free of charge to all students at universities in Thuringia who feel the need to talk to a neutral person about themselves, their situation and their problems.

The telephone counselling service is available around the clock, even on weekends. The calls are free of charge.

  • 0800 1110111
  • 0800 1110222

You can find more psychological services here (German only).

Relief efforts in Jena and Thuringia

The city of Jena has set up a central information page at www.jena.de/ukraine (German only), which collects important tips, contact points and information on the current situation in Ukraine. The page is continuously updated.

An overview article on relief efforts in Jena and Thuringia can be found here (German only).

The university sports department at the University of Jena also supports refugees by offering special sports programmes for both adults and children de.

You would like to help? Expand entry

Donations for the University Emergency Fund

The Society of Friends and Patrons of the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena e. V. uses its emergency fund to support students at the University of Jena who have experienced financial hardship as a result of the war.

Commerzbank Jena
IBAN: DE78 8204 0000 0253 9609 00
BIC:  COBADEFFXXX
Reference: Notfonds

You will of course receive a donation receipt for all donations.

Relief efforts in Jena and Thuringia

The city of Jena has set up a central information page at www.jena.de/ukraine (German only), which collects important tips, contact points and information on the current situation in Ukraine. The page is continuously updated.

An overview article on relief efforts in Jena and Thuringia can be found here (German only).

Offer accomodation

Here you can provide practical help by offering overnight accommodation.

If you have the opportunity and would like to offer accommodation to refugees, you can let the city Jena know by filling out a form. Among other things, the city asks how many people could be accommodated, whether separate living quarters are available for privacy and how long it would be possible to accommodate refugees. The information entered helps to filter which housing offers are really eligible.

If you would like to provide accommodation specifically for researchers, you can report this to the Welcome Centre at gawi@uni-jena.de.

Taking in Ukrainian war refugees in Jena

Do you live in the city of Jena and have taken in war refugees from Ukraine in the past few days or are you planning to take in war refugees? Please contact the city of Jena at neu@jena.de. Here you will be offered advice and further support will be coordinated.

Mentoring for refugee students and researchers

Are you a member of the university and would like to support Ukrainian refugee students or researchers?

Students

The mentoring programme of the International Office puts students in touch with each other who are looking for support at the beginning of the semester or during their studies.

Researchers

The Welcome Point (gawi@uni-jena.de) and the Graduate Academy (ga-international@uni-jena.de) provide contact to refugee researchers who need support.

The Imre Kertész Kolleg has compiled a list of information sources: "The War Against Ukraine. Information and Analyses from the Region"

Free language guide

The publishing house Reise Know-How makes its title "Kauderwelsch" Ukrainian Language Guide (German only) available free of charge to all refugees and helpers. The publisher would like to contribute to better understanding. It is available here as a PDF [pdf, 3 mb] de document.

Friedenstaube vor gelb-blauem Hintergrund.

Unterstützung für die Ukraine

Universität Jena zum Krieg in der Ukraine und der Unterstützung der vom Krieg betroffenen Universitätsangehörigen, -gäste, und -partner
Friedenstaube vor gelb-blauem Hintergrund.
Grafik: Liana Franke/Universität Jena

Die Invasion in die Ukraine bricht mit den Werten, die das Fundament der Aufklärung und der Wissenschaft bilden.

Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal

 

Dies sagte der Präsident der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena in seiner Stellungnahme zum russischen Angriff vom 24. Februar 2022. Die Universitätsleitung hatte darin den Menschen in der Ukraine und den aus der Ukraine stammenden Mitarbeitenden und Studierenden sowie ihren Familien ihre Solidarität ausgesprochen.

Hilfsprogramme für ukrainische Partner

Die Universität wird ihre Zusammenarbeit mit ihren ukrainischen Partnern, wo immer dies möglich ist, fortsetzen. Das gelte für den Studierendenaustausch ebenso wie für Forschungsprojekte sowie die Nutzung virtueller Austauschformate und Angebote. Deutschland plant umfassende Hilfsprogramme für Studierende sowie Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, die in Folge der russischen Aggression ihr Land verlassen müssen. Die Universität Jena informiert sich derzeit über Möglichkeiten der Beteiligung.

Sie suchen Hilfe? Eintrag erweitern

Studienberatung für Geflüchtete

Das Internationale Büro berät geflüchtete Ukrainerinnen und Ukrainer mit Interesse an einem Hochschulstudium zu Studienoptionen, Voraussetzungen und zur Studienvorbereitung. So gibt es beispielsweise im Sommersemester 2022 ein Gasthörerprogramm für Geflüchtete.

Beratung für Studierende

Wenn Sie durch den Ukraine-Krieg Fragen oder Probleme im Zusammenhang mit Ihrem Studium oder Aufenthalt an der Universität Jena haben, wenden Sie sich an das Internationale Büro unter international@uni-jena.de. Hier werden Sie beraten oder an die richtige Ansprechperson vermittelt.

Notfonds für Studierende

Die Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena e. V. unterstützt mit einem Notfonds Studierende der Universität Jena, die durch den Krieg in finanzielle Not geraten sind. Eine finanzielle Unterstützung kann beim Internationalen Büro beantragt werden.

Beratung, Unterstützung und Förderprogramme für Forschende

Informationen für geflüchtete und gefährdete Forschende aus der Ukraine (Promovierende, Postdocs und erfahrene Forschende) sind auf dieser Webseite zusammengefasst.

Wohnungssuche

  • Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität unterhält drei Gästehäuser für internationale Besucherinnen und Besucher der Universität Jena.
  • Auf der Seite der Stadt Jena finden Sie weiterführende Informationen zur Wohnungssuche.
  • Netzwerke für Unterkunftsangebote und Wohnungssuche: www.unterkunft-ukraine.de

Psychologische Unterstützung

Die Psychosoziale Beratung (PSB) des Studierendenwerks Thüringen können alle Studierenden der Hochschulen Thüringens kostenlos in Anspruch nehmen, die das Bedürfnis haben, mit einer neutralen Person über sich, ihre Situation und ihre Probleme zu sprechen.

Die Telefonseelsorge ist rund um die Uhr auch an den Wochenenden erreichbar. Die Anrufe sind kostenfrei.

  • 0800 1110111
  • 0800 1110222

Weitere psychologische Angebote finden Sie hier zusammengestellt.

Hilfsaktionen in Jena und Thüringen

Die Stadt Jena hat unter www.jena.de/ukraine eine zentrale Informationsseite geschaltet, auf der wichtige Hinweise, Anlaufstellen und Informationen zur aktuellen Lage in der Ukraine gesammelt werden. Die Seite wird kontinuierlich ergänzt.

Ein Überblicksartikel über Hilfsaktionen in Jena und Thüringen ist hier zu finden.

Auch der Hochschul-Sport der Universität Jena unterstützt die Geflüchteten unter anderem durch besondere Sportangebote sowohl für Erwachsene als auch für Kinder.

Sie möchten helfen? Eintrag erweitern

Spenden für den Notfonds der Universität

Die Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena e. V. unterstützt mit ihrem Notfonds Studierende der Universität Jena, die durch den Krieg in finanzielle Not geraten sind.

Commerzbank Jena
IBAN: DE78 8204 0000 0253 9609 00
BIC:  COBADEFFXXX
Stichwort: Notfonds

Für alle Spenden erhalten Sie selbstverständlich eine Spendenbescheinigung.

Hilfsaktionen in Jena und Thüringen

Die Stadt Jena hat eine zentrale Informationsseite geschaltet, auf der wichtige Hinweise, Anlaufstellen und Informationen zur aktuellen Lage in der Ukraine gesammelt werden. Die Seite wird kontinuierlich ergänzt.

Ein Überblicksartikel über Hilfsaktionen in Jena und Thüringen ist hier zu finden.

Wohnraum anbieten

Hier können Sie praktische Hilfe leisten, indem Sie Übernachtungsplätze anbieten.

Wenn Sie die Möglichkeit haben und Geflüchteten eine Unterkunft bieten möchten, so können Sie dies auch über ein  Formular der Stadt Jena bekannt geben. Abgefragt werden darin von der Stadt unter anderem, wie viele Menschen aufgenommen werden könnten, ob für die Privatsphäre separate Wohnräume zur Verfügung stehen und wie lange eine Aufnahme Geflüchteter möglich wäre. Die eingegebenen Informationen helfen zu filtern, welche Wohnungsangebote wirklich in Frage kommen.

Wenn Sie eine Unterkunft speziell für Forschende zur Verfügung stellen möchten, dann können Sie dies beim Welcome-Center melden an gawi@uni-jena.de.

Aufnahme ukrainischer Kriegsflüchtlinge in Jena

Sie leben in der Stadt Jena und haben in den vergangenen Tagen Kriegsflüchtlinge aus der Ukraine aufgenommen oder planen Kriegsflüchtlinge aufzunehmen? Bitte melden Sie sich bei der Stadt Jena unter neu@jena.de. Hier wird Ihnen Beratung angeboten und weitere Unterstützung koordiniert.

Mentoring für geflüchtete Studierende sowie Forschende

Sie sind Angehörige/r der Universität und möchten geflüchtete ukrainische Studierende oder Forschende unterstützen?

Studierende

Das Mentoringprogramm des Internationalen Büros vermittelt den Kontakt zu Studierenden, die Unterstützung zum Semesterbeginn oder während des Studiums suchen.

Forschende

Der Welcome Point (gawi@uni-jena.de) und die Graduierten-Akademie (ga-international@uni-jena.de) vermitteln Kontakt zu geflüchteten Forschenden, die Unterstützung benötigen.

Kostenloser Sprachführer

Der Verlag Reise Know-How stellt seinen Titel "Kauderwelsch" Sprachführer Ukrainisch als eBook allen Geflüchteten und Helfenden kostenfrei in den Formaten MOBI, EPUB und PDF zur Verfügung. Das Wörterbuch ist überall dort downloadbar, wo es eBooks gibt. Der Verlag möchte damit zur besseren Verständigung beitragen. Hier steht es als PDF [pdf, 3 mb] zur Verfügung.

Information

Das Imre Kertész Kolleg hat eine Reihe von Informationsquellen zusammengetragen: "The War Against Ukraine. Information and Analyses from the Region"